We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Sweetgrass B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9356 Neck Yoke Road, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Hayloft Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic stay at Sweetgrass B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We went to see Mount Rushmore and experienced so much more. Sweetgrass was the perfect place to stay. The breakfast was delicious and a great way to start a busy day of exploring. Shari takes care of breakfast and Lee handles dinner at Shipwreck Lee's next door. Every morning both were at breakfast to chat and offer travel advice. They won't steer you wrong. Our room was very spacious and clean. It had everything we needed and more. Location is very close to all the great sites (and yes, there is much more than just Rushmore!). It is out in the country so every morning you wake up to a beautiful view. Highley recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
57
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Shari and Lee are welcoming innkeepers with good breakfast (pancakes are my favorite) and interesting conversations. Our room was light and airy and very comfortable. And well maintained. Loved the stay at Sweetgrass Inn and loved exploring. We could have stayed for a couple of weeks instead of 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I picked this place based off reviews from Trip Advisor, and I was very pleased. We stayed in the Meadowsage room, which was trendy and nicely decorated. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the room very comfortable. You feel like you're staying in someone's really nice guest room, while still feeling like you're on vacation.

Shari cooked a nice meal and was willing to give us pointers about where to go. We stayed 2 nights and had a nice morning meal, chatting with another couple who was also staying there. I always like meeting others on vacation- you always come away learning something new.

There's a convenient common area where you can get brochures, store your food (like our leftover Little Caesar's pizza) and some tables on a patio where you can eat outside.

It's pretty remote looking when you pull up, but the rooms are very nice. Great place to stay. It is a little out there distance wise, but we go on vacation for peace and quiet, right? Glad I chose to stay there!

Room Tip: Meadowsage was great. Jacuzzi tub, on the first floor, and nicely decorated in aqua and brown color...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

Shari and Lee at the Sweetgrass Inn were so sweet. Shari cooked us a delicious breakfast that we ordered off of a mini-menu. We stayed in the Meadow sage room, which was very pretty and comfy. But the biggest plus was the jacuzzi in the bathroom that was big enough for two. The only downside we experienced was that it was a little too far out of town to get delivery to the room, and the TV only got four channels, so we couldn't watch our basketball team playing in the playoffs! But it is a wonderful place to relax on a road trip, and it was a great value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Sweetgrass inn B & B. It's very convenient for the sights around Rapid City, SD. Shari and Lee are wonderful hosts, and our room was private and very nice. Lots of choices for breakfast, and nice that one doesn't have to be at breakfast at a specific time - we had a 2 hour span in which we could show up when we wanted. We were very comfortable there, and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary, September 26-28. The Inn is spectacular. It's clean, inviting and very tastefully decorated. Sheri is the one of the most warmest, friendliest and accommodative people you could ever meet. She has a small but adequate breakfast menu and she lets you decide what you want to eat and it is cooked to order. My husband has a few food allergies and she was very accommodating with that as well. It wasn't any sort of big deal to her at all. Even when my husband asked for Potato Bread and she didn't have any, she had some for him the next day. And she's pretty flexible with the times, as well. She had no problem with making breakfast for my husband and me around 7am, while the other guests staying there, didn't eat usually until 8am-8:30am. And the location. We couldn't ask for a better one. It's so close to anywhere you want to go whether it be be a drive through the Black Hills, a tour of Mt. Rushmore, the Jewel Caves or the Wind Caves, it's in a good centralized location. It is just off of the highway but you really don't notice the traffic much. As I said, rooms are clean and tastefully decorated. Beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms were spacious. We stayed in the Rose of Sharon Room the first night and the Queen Anne's Lace room, the last 2 nights. The latter of which had the wonderful jacuzzi tub, perfect for those like my husband and I, who love to do a lot of hiking and exploring. We definitely want to return, as we ran out of time to tour the Bad lands. When we do return, we will be sure and make a reservation @ the Sweetgrass Inn. Thank You so much, Shari, for your generous hospitality!!! P.S. Shari is good with recommending places to eat or "play". She either has personal knowledge or can provide feedback from previous guests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We enjoyed this place. The room was nice, including spa tub. Hostess, Shari, was very sweet. Mostly there is a two night minimum, but we got in for one night. The room was extremely quiet and comfortable. The location is convenient to a number of local attractions. Most are within 30 minutes or so.

Room Tip: If you don't like hauing luggage upstairs, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rapid City
9.7 mi away
Cambria Suites Rapid City
Cambria Suites Rapid City
#2 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 798 reviews
9.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
11.3 mi away
Coyote Blues Village B&B
Coyote Blues Village B&B
#1 of 11 in Hill City
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Hotel Alex Johnson, an Ascend Collection hotel
9.9 mi away
The Lodge at Mount Rushmore
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn I-90
Comfort Inn I-90
#10 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 9356 Neck Yoke Road, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Hayloft Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to do and see and Sweetgrass' location is very convenient - within 1-49 miles of all the Black Hills attractions. Sweetgrass offers you beautifully appointed rooms, many amenities, several breakfast choices every day (served over the course of several hours) and much more. We're 6 miles south of Rapid City in a little valley as you head into the Black Hills towards Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Each room has a private bath (some have a jetted spa tub), flat screen TV/DVD combo, coffee/tea tray, loveseat and a table with chairs and/or a desk. Your memories start when you check in to the Sweetgrass. When you leave, take with you pleasant memories of your visit to Sweetgrass and the remarkable Black Hills of South Dakota. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetgrass Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.