We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip to Beat All” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
6539 North Haines Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-9452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Family Trip to Beat All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We don't have enough good things to say about our stay on the Flying B Ranch. Staying there and visiting the Black Hills and surrounding attractions was the best family trip we have ever taken.
The location is just north of Rapid City. It is about a 30 minute drive to every local attraction. There would be places near Custer or Keystone that would be more 'central' but you would be immersed in the tourist trap areas, and not have as easy access to the restaurants and amenities of Rapid City.
The accomodations are spacious, clean and feel like home away from home. We had tons of space, multiple bedrooms, private bathroom and deck with our own hot tub, which we used every night. Our two year old would declare each night, 'we're home!'
There are three suites and they are moving through and renovating the rooms one at a time. There is also a large common room in the basement with a pool table and game table. There is also an adults only room with couches, games and books.
Basically, there is a lot of space to spread out. We would sit out on our own private deck at night watching the moon and stars in complete quiet, it was amazing.
The breakfasts are filling and excellent, homemade from scratch every morning by Bonnie and Larry. The menu changes every day, but always had a variety of fruit, eggs, meat, delicious muffins or biscuits or breads, drinks galore, you name it. French toast, breakfast burritos, biscuits and gravy to name a few of the main daily items. Bonnie would always explain the menu in detail and we would all eat together. Then every morning 'old timer' would show up during breakfast and tell tall tales to the kids, it was great.
After breakfast we'd always go and bottle feed the calves, feed the horses or cows, or go on an adventure in Larry's truck around the ranch and stop for more tall tales.
Then by 10 or 11am we'd head out for the day, see the sights, hike, you name it and then get back to the ranch. You can make it an active adventure vacation of hiking or relaxing and seeing the sights.
We'd ususally enjoy the afternoon at the ranch with the heated in ground pool to ourselves. It is a big nice pool with a shaded cabana area to one end and a hay covered hill rising above it. It is really that beautiful, just awesome.
The weather on the ranch was dry with low humidity, which is typical for the area. It was always about 10 degrees warmer in Rapid City and on the ranch than up in the hills. Hot for locals is 80's and above, which felt great to us being used to high midwestern humidity. It cools down nicely to a comfortable level and there is usually a nice calm breeze. If you are from the midwest or a humid area, you will love the weather here in the summer.
Then we'd head into town for dinner around downtown, and there are several great restaurants we ate at during out 5 nights. Bonnie will recommend her favorites to you if you ask.
I know this is long, but it was such an awesome trip. It was relaxing, beautiful and amazing beyond belief.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

What a super place for our family with young boys to have as a home base for easy day trips to the area attractions!
The suite (Doc Allen) was suburb - newly remodeled with a HUGE shower, spiral staircase to loft beds for the kids, hot tub on our deck. We all enjoyed the relaxing pool before and after our days of sightseeing - nice and clean.
The food was excellent and our boys loved bottle feeding calves, feeding horses and doing a mini 4-wheel drive excursion - and the wild west stories - all right on the property.
We'd highly recommend the Flying B to anyone looking for a relaxing place, good breakfast, pool and hot tub & for day trips to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Rapid City, Reptile Gardens, Deadwood, etcetc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed at the Flying B for 4 way too short days and nights! It is the perfect place to stay to get to all of the major South Dakota attractions. Bonnie is right when she says that there is plenty to do and that we would be anxious to get back to the ranch each day after sight seeing. We stayed in the Kid Hall's Suite. There is a private hot tub on each deck. We loved starting our day with breakfast with Bonnie, Larry and the Old Timer. Then, we all joined Larry in his pickup for a tour of the ranch and a variety of activities that Larry dreams up for us all. Then, after a day of touring Rapid City, or Mount Rushmore, or one of the many other beautiful or interesting attractions, we would relax in the pool, or have pizza on our private deck and use the hot tub, or play games and shoot pool in the communal rec room. It was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

We just spent three days at the Flying B Ranch in Rapid Cirty, SD. It was an incredible and meorable experience. Larry and Bonnie are wonderful hosts. The BB is totally remodeled with three rooms to choose from. We stayed in Doc Allen suite which easily fit the six of us (Two adults and four kids). The room had a hot tub and deck.

The location is about 4 miles from downtown (but yet seems to be in the middle of no where). They serve an incredible breakfast everyday with each day being better than the the next. If you appreciate great made from scratch food using the freshing local ingredients, this is the place for you. Larry's stories and tours of the ranch were equally memorable for the kids. All in all an incredible experience

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, PA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This was one of the best vacations we ever had. Bonnie and Larry are fantastic hosts. Their hospitality exceeded anything we have previously experienced and we can't imagine finding better in the future. While there is much to see in the Rapid City area, including Mt. Rushmore, it was hard to drag our son off the ranch. He spent every morning with Larry feeding animals and driving the tractor. By the time we left, he thought he was an experienced rancher. The breakfasts at the Flying B are superb and entertaining. Guests are treated to tales from the "old timer" which are not to be missed. The only thing wrong with the vacation was that it was TOO SHORT. If you go to South Dakota you have to stop by!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

It’s almost impossible to explain just how great a place the Flying B is to stay. It’s close to some of the most beautiful scenery in God’s creation, the hosts are tremendous, the food is great, and the accommodations are spectacular.
We chose the Flying B as the place to stay for our 30th anniversary because it was so close to the Black Hills and we always wanted to ride a motorcycle through that area. The fact that it was on a 3,500 acre ranch helped in our decision because we love the country life. Little did we know that we were in for the treat of our lives. Bonnie and Larry have put together a mixture of comfort, interest, and history that has no equal, and they are perfect hosts.
Bonnie makes an incredible feast for breakfast. Some of the best times of our stay were when we were sitting in the kitchen, while she made the meal, talking with the hosts and other guests. Larry helps with the preparation, but it doesn’t take long to notice that Bonnie needs to redirect him to task quite often. Once you have had enough to eat and the table is cleared, Bonnie will be glad to sit down with you and help you plan your day. Her knowledge of the area’s scenic roads, attractions, and places to eat were a vital component in what may have been the best vacation of our lives.
Larry by himself would be worth the trip. He has a rare combination of charisma and ADHD that makes him a whole lot of fun. He has a story at hand that explains anything you might ask him, and some of those explanations are actually true. If you’re not in a hurry to get somewhere else, he’ll take you for a tour around the ranch and even let you help with the chores. That may not sound like a lot of fun but ask the kids who get to bottle-feed the calves or the guys that get to drive the real ranch equipment and you’ll find it can be a great time.
I don’t want to repeat what has been said in other reviews about the rooms, spas, pool, game room, and kitchenette. I just want to say that everything reviewers are telling you about the Flying B is true. Maybe you shouldn’t take our word for it though; maybe you should try it out yourself!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

This was my first bed and breakfast experience...and it couldn't have been better! My wife and I stayed at the Flying B for ONLY 2 nights...and wish we could've stayed more. We're already planning on returning w/our 5 children next summer. It is a great place for a couple or an entire family. The ranch is set in a beautiful valley...you'd think you were in the middle of the range in Wyoming...when, in fact, you're 5 minutes from the Rapid City mall. Bonnie & Larry are outstanding hosts. Our room, The McClintock, couldn't have been better...especially when we opened the skylights at night for that fresh, cool air. You'll especially appreciate the cowboy theme of the room...quite tastefully done.

Bonnie made a unique, outstanding, and delicious breakfast each morning....It was quite the way to start out our day. It turns out that the Flying B has an 'Old-Timer' that always makes an apperance at breakfast as well....I did notice that Larry stepped out alot...just about the time the 'Old-Timer' came by. Thanks to the 'Old-Timer', I've learned so much more 'authentica' history about The West, Sitting Bull, South Dakota. It was GREAT fun.

Also, don't miss out on the tour of the ranch w/Larry. He'll take you in his pickup to many interesting places on this beautiful 3,500 acre ranch. He may even let you feed Blackie The Calf.

You're simply missing out if you don't stay here when you're in the area!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6539 North Haines Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-9452
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 14

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.