We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flying B Ranch is Heaven for Kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
6539 North Haines Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-9452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Flying B Ranch is Heaven for Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed in the Kid Hall suite with our 11-year-old son, for four nights. We agree with the other reviews--it was the highlight of our trip to the Black Hills, especially for our son. The setting is idyllic, with lots of outdoor patios and decks that give uninterrupted views of the rolling hills, the big sky, and the horses and cattle in the fields below. The guest house is modern and well appointed, with Western themed décor and lots of room. There is even a very nice swimming pool to cool off after a long dusty day.

But what makes the Flying B a truly unique and magical place to stay is what they do for children. Bonnie and Larry may be the most “kid-friendly” hosts I have ever met. They designed the house so that there are secret passages between some of the rooms that only kids can find (or fit through), and they make kids feel at home from the minute they walk in the door. All the guests eat breakfast together, with adults and kids at separate tables. If you are lucky, there will be a visit from the "Old Timer" after breakfast, who tells tall tales about the Old West (with a lot of real history in them.) After breakfast Larry gives tours of the ranch, lets the kids feed and groom the horses, and takes the more adventurous through the fields to engage in a cow-chip throwing contest, all of which delighted our son and ourselves.

Bonnie was extremely knowledgeable and practical about suggestions and recommendations for touring. The two of them together make outstanding breakfasts--they are closet (or not-so-closet) gourmet cooks. They are also both interesting people, who have traveled quite a bit and have led interesting lives.

We're not sure if we'll make it back to the Black Hills, but we might have to make a special trip so our son can visit the Flying B again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Putnam Valley, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We just returned from a great stay at the Flying B. What a wonderful place! We stayed in the Kid Hall suite, which had a king bed in the main room, a queen in the 2nd room, and a small loft area with sleeping bags that is great for 1 or 2 kids. Our children loved the "secret passageway" that connected from the loft to the main part of the house!

Bonnie and Larry also cook some of the best breakfasts we have ever had! If you are there with kids, be prepared for a visit from the "Old-timer", who will regale them over breakfast with some of the "tales" that happened in the area.

Larry is also happy to take you on tours around the ranch to see the cattle, feed the horses, visit the prairie dog town, and other fun activities. The pool is lovely, and is nicely heated for swimming on cool evenings when we returned from touring the area. Bonnie and Larry are very willing to heip out with touring suggestions and directions.

Our stay here was the highlight of our trip, and the kids are already asking to come back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

When a place receives only excellent reviews, I become skeptical and wonder whether things are too good to be true. After staying there with my wife and four-year-old son in September, I know for certain that the Flying B is indeed as wonderful as other reviewers have described.

The Flying B is a gem because of Bonnie and Larry. The rooms at the Flying B are comfortable, the facilities are fine, but it is Bonnie and Larry that make the Flying B a truly special place. Bonnie is a fantastic cook; Larry is an excellent storyteller; and together they are a lovely couple, delightful people and the best of hosts. More than any other place we have stayed, we felt as if we were staying with old friends. And, if you have young children, they will love everything from climbing the secret passageway to ringing the breakfast bell to feeding the horse to storytime with the Ol' Timer. When you ask my son where he wants to go, he will still waive his imaginary cowboy hat and answer with a resounding "Flyin' B" -- just like how Larry taught him.

I can write many more paragraphs about the Flying B Ranch, but I would only be repeating the many good things that many others have already said. We can't wait to go back to they Flying B. You should look forward to going.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Our family of 3 stayed at this fine bed and breakfast midway through our 2 week vacation for 3 nights. We wanted to visit the nearby attractions and decided to book this Bed & Breakfast based on the previous guests recommendations. I will say that the Flying B Ranch Bed & Breakfast surpassed all of our expectations and the 5 star rating is truly deserved. We stayed in the Kidd Hall suite on the first floor. The room was clean and done in a western decor. There was a secret passage that we all took every morning to breakfast instead of using the stairs because it was so much fun!
A gourmet breakfast was served after the kids rung the bell and shouted "Come and Get It" and after Bonnie explained in great detail about the course we were about to eat. We were visited by a local "The Old Timer" who entertained us all with exciting tall tales about the early days of the area. There were many things to see and do on the ranch and we even participated in a CPCC (you have to stay there to find out what it is.)
Everyone enjoyed saying hi to "Al" on the way to the barn to feed the animals.
The hosts Larry & Bonnie were great, the atmosphere was great and the time flew by so fast we were disappointed to have to go.
I've traveled all over the world and stayed in many places and can say that the Flying B is a hidden gem in Rapid City and one of the best places I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We don't have enough good things to say about our stay on the Flying B Ranch. Staying there and visiting the Black Hills and surrounding attractions was the best family trip we have ever taken.
The location is just north of Rapid City. It is about a 30 minute drive to every local attraction. There would be places near Custer or Keystone that would be more 'central' but you would be immersed in the tourist trap areas, and not have as easy access to the restaurants and amenities of Rapid City.
The accomodations are spacious, clean and feel like home away from home. We had tons of space, multiple bedrooms, private bathroom and deck with our own hot tub, which we used every night. Our two year old would declare each night, 'we're home!'
There are three suites and they are moving through and renovating the rooms one at a time. There is also a large common room in the basement with a pool table and game table. There is also an adults only room with couches, games and books.
Basically, there is a lot of space to spread out. We would sit out on our own private deck at night watching the moon and stars in complete quiet, it was amazing.
The breakfasts are filling and excellent, homemade from scratch every morning by Bonnie and Larry. The menu changes every day, but always had a variety of fruit, eggs, meat, delicious muffins or biscuits or breads, drinks galore, you name it. French toast, breakfast burritos, biscuits and gravy to name a few of the main daily items. Bonnie would always explain the menu in detail and we would all eat together. Then every morning 'old timer' would show up during breakfast and tell tall tales to the kids, it was great.
After breakfast we'd always go and bottle feed the calves, feed the horses or cows, or go on an adventure in Larry's truck around the ranch and stop for more tall tales.
Then by 10 or 11am we'd head out for the day, see the sights, hike, you name it and then get back to the ranch. You can make it an active adventure vacation of hiking or relaxing and seeing the sights.
We'd ususally enjoy the afternoon at the ranch with the heated in ground pool to ourselves. It is a big nice pool with a shaded cabana area to one end and a hay covered hill rising above it. It is really that beautiful, just awesome.
The weather on the ranch was dry with low humidity, which is typical for the area. It was always about 10 degrees warmer in Rapid City and on the ranch than up in the hills. Hot for locals is 80's and above, which felt great to us being used to high midwestern humidity. It cools down nicely to a comfortable level and there is usually a nice calm breeze. If you are from the midwest or a humid area, you will love the weather here in the summer.
Then we'd head into town for dinner around downtown, and there are several great restaurants we ate at during out 5 nights. Bonnie will recommend her favorites to you if you ask.
I know this is long, but it was such an awesome trip. It was relaxing, beautiful and amazing beyond belief.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

What a super place for our family with young boys to have as a home base for easy day trips to the area attractions!
The suite (Doc Allen) was suburb - newly remodeled with a HUGE shower, spiral staircase to loft beds for the kids, hot tub on our deck. We all enjoyed the relaxing pool before and after our days of sightseeing - nice and clean.
The food was excellent and our boys loved bottle feeding calves, feeding horses and doing a mini 4-wheel drive excursion - and the wild west stories - all right on the property.
We'd highly recommend the Flying B to anyone looking for a relaxing place, good breakfast, pool and hot tub & for day trips to Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Rapid City, Reptile Gardens, Deadwood, etcetc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

We stayed at the Flying B for 4 way too short days and nights! It is the perfect place to stay to get to all of the major South Dakota attractions. Bonnie is right when she says that there is plenty to do and that we would be anxious to get back to the ranch each day after sight seeing. We stayed in the Kid Hall's Suite. There is a private hot tub on each deck. We loved starting our day with breakfast with Bonnie, Larry and the Old Timer. Then, we all joined Larry in his pickup for a tour of the ranch and a variety of activities that Larry dreams up for us all. Then, after a day of touring Rapid City, or Mount Rushmore, or one of the many other beautiful or interesting attractions, we would relax in the pool, or have pizza on our private deck and use the hot tub, or play games and shoot pool in the communal rec room. It was a perfect stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6539 North Haines Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-9452
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying B Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.