We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Great Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Save Saved
You added Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge to your Saves list
Hc 33 Box 3123, Rapid City, SD 57702-9559   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Place, Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We and another couple stayed here in September 2012 for 3 days in rooms 1 and 8. We would rate it 3.5 stars.

Pros
- Breakfast: Cooking quality was excellent, perhaps the best we have ever had.
- Dietary Restrictions: The hosts are very interested and capable in terms of meeting dietary restrictions.
- Common Area: This is large and comfortable
- Rooms: Large and beds are comfortable. Reasonably nicely furnished.
- Facility: The facility is well kept and the front section is attractive.

Medium
- Location: It’s further from Rapid City than I thought; probably to far for a quick drive in for dinner and back. On the other hand it’s about 12 minutes from Hill City which has some good places to eat and the usual tourist stuff. It’s also a lot closer to the Black Hills tourist stuff than Rapid City.
- Location: The location is just far enough off the highway that it cannot be seen from the highway. They have a sign on the highway, but I don’t recall if it is lit at night. The turn is a local road and does not have a street light, so it’s tricky and easy to miss at night.

Cons
- PLUMBING: The temperature of the shower water for both rooms fluctuated significantly when a water source somewhere else (e.g. toilet) was used.
- Plumbing: In room 1 the shower faucets both turned in the same direction (rather than opposite), so adjusting the temperature was non-intuitive.
- Plumbing: In room 8 the shower faucets are very difficult to adjust from outside the shower because the toilet is in the way.
- Grounds and local area: Room 1 has an outside entrance which opens onto a patio where the Inn serves dinners during the summer. They had just suspended service there for the season when we arrived and the tables and chairs were stacked up – it was a bit tacky. Also the far side of the Inn and back were not well kept and visually a bit tacky.

Room Tip: Call for reservations and be prepared to discuss dietary restrictions, if any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

For $157.00 a room per night, this place was a rip off. We have stayed at other bed and breakfasts in the Black Hills and this was a disappointment. First off, the owners had an employee that had a pit bull running around loose that growled at all the guests checking in. Second, in chasing said pit bull around to chain him/her up, she cursed a blue streak in front of guests. Third,we were told that since we had to leave earlier (8AM) in the morning, breakfast was unavailable to us. We would be provided with frozen breakfast sandwiches instead. The room was fair, but was not worth the price charged, very dusty and sort of shabby. I've stayed in Comfort Inns with nicer rooms for half the price. No soap in the showers. Good thing we packed our own.

Maybe its my own fault I didn't research my B and B's better. Silly me to think I would have a good experience here.

Bottom line-am I expecting too much in this day in age? What happened to "the customer is always right?" Don't people stay at B and B's to have more customized service? Do we pay large sums of money for substandard services? HIGHLY advise people to not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money at Black Forest Inn-look somewhere else (see above review).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We finished our Colorado tour here after two weeks and we are trying to stretch that out some more after coming here.We just loved our stay and the mountain views. The place puts you in a different state of mind and refreshes you. We had a wonderful stay and only regret having to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here 2 nights, in two different rooms and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy. The hot tubs were awesome, and the food was incredible. The Bistro restaurant was delicious, and the service was friendly and fun. Call in advance if you have dietary restrictions - the chef bought me special foods for breakfast. Best vegan french toast and sausage I've ever had! Wish I had some right now...Cindy is friendly and everyone is extremely helpful, but not overbearing. Just the right kind of balance for B&B. Could not recommend more highly!! - Nora and Mike

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first trip to South Dakota and our friends found the Inn on the web. The owners, Cindy and Isaac are wonderful people and they will make you feel like family. We loved the location and our rooms were very comfortable.
The food is excellent. I am gluten and dairy free. And for breakfast, I would get a very tasty breakfast that was gluten and dairy free.
The Bistro is very convenient for dinner. The menu is amazing. We had a fabulous dinner.
The staff is friendly and helpful. The Inn is about 10 minutes from a gas station and a couple of restuarants. And 30 minutes to Mount Rushmore. I recommend the Black Forest Inn to everyone.

Room Tip: Lover's Loft is on the 2nd floor with a renovated bathroom, beautiful views and an indoor Jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at a B&B nearby, and we ate dinner at the Bistro on the Terrace twice during our 5 day tour of the Black Hills. The terrace had a European ambiance, the atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were very pleasant. We enjoyed our meals there very much. The wine was also good, and reasonably priced. Best restaurant we tried in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Did not stay here but the bistro was recommended for dinner and it was amazing! The freshwater shrimp were huge and tasted great. The pork chops were also amazing. The service was excellent and our waitress also turned out to be an artist at one of the local Hill City shops. Great wine selection as well. Wish we had found this place sooner during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: Hc 33 Box 3123, Rapid City, SD 57702-9559
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.