We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge to your Saves list
Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge
23191 Highway 385, Rapid City, SD 57702-6032   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We finished our Colorado tour here after two weeks and we are trying to stretch that out some more after coming here.We just loved our stay and the mountain views. The place puts you in a different state of mind and refreshes you. We had a wonderful stay and only regret having to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    1
    1
    4
See reviews for
9
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here 2 nights, in two different rooms and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfy. The hot tubs were awesome, and the food was incredible. The Bistro restaurant was delicious, and the service was friendly and fun. Call in advance if you have dietary restrictions - the chef bought me special foods for breakfast. Best vegan french toast and sausage I've ever had! Wish I had some right now...Cindy is friendly and everyone is extremely helpful, but not overbearing. Just the right kind of balance for B&B. Could not recommend more highly!! - Nora and Mike

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our first trip to South Dakota and our friends found the Inn on the web. The owners, Cindy and Isaac are wonderful people and they will make you feel like family. We loved the location and our rooms were very comfortable.
The food is excellent. I am gluten and dairy free. And for breakfast, I would get a very tasty breakfast that was gluten and dairy free.
The Bistro is very convenient for dinner. The menu is amazing. We had a fabulous dinner.
The staff is friendly and helpful. The Inn is about 10 minutes from a gas station and a couple of restuarants. And 30 minutes to Mount Rushmore. I recommend the Black Forest Inn to everyone.

Room Tip: Lover's Loft is on the 2nd floor with a renovated bathroom, beautiful views and an indoor Jacuzz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at a B&B nearby, and we ate dinner at the Bistro on the Terrace twice during our 5 day tour of the Black Hills. The terrace had a European ambiance, the atmosphere was relaxed and the staff were very pleasant. We enjoyed our meals there very much. The wine was also good, and reasonably priced. Best restaurant we tried in the Black Hills!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Did not stay here but the bistro was recommended for dinner and it was amazing! The freshwater shrimp were huge and tasted great. The pork chops were also amazing. The service was excellent and our waitress also turned out to be an artist at one of the local Hill City shops. Great wine selection as well. Wish we had found this place sooner during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Black Forest Inn, enjoying its roominess and excellent location for seeing the marvelous geology and history of the Black Hills. Despite the Sturgis Motorcycle rally, our room was quiet, with all comforts provided. The owners were very helpful and accommodating, especially in meeting our particularly dietary requirements. The on-site Bistro restaurant was a pleasant surprise; the food was teriffic and it was great to be able to wind down with the view and then walk back to our room.

Room Tip: Suite #9 is at the back, not directly off the common room, thus quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Farmington, OH
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

From the first phone call we knew we were on to something good and we were right! We made last minute reservations with a late arrival with ease. The rooms were clean and cozy and were immediately made to feel like family. Our two night stay turned into an additional 3 nights (during the Sturgis Rally!) due to car troubles, but Cindy and her staff did everything they could to accomodate us. Their hospitality went above and beyond our expectations. Breakfast was hot and delicious every morning without fail. We dined at the Bistro every evening and enjoyed a variety of delectable dishes accompanied by good wine. But for the outstanding service and accommodations of this really special place, our trip out west would have been a complete disaster. Special thanks to Cindy for making us feel at home and for doing all she could to make our stay memorable. Oh, and BTW...there was no price gouging even with the Rally going on!! That speaks volumes in and of itself!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are better appointed, but downstairs rooms worked for us in a pinch and less expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge

Address: 23191 Highway 385, Rapid City, SD 57702-6032
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Forest Inn Bed and Breakfast Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.