We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belated thank you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Bassett, Nebraska
1 review
“Belated thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have stayed here many times on business and can say the staff has always been first rate. In February I had a tremendous screw up on my part and Shaneyl and Cheri were wonderful in helping me correct my error.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Buffaloljk,

Thank you for sharing your hotel experience with us. I will pass on your appreciation to Shaneyl and Cheri. I'm glad they were able to solve any issues that occurred during your stay. On behalf of the hotel, we hope to see return for another visit again soon.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    114
    75
    33
    31
See reviews for
171
71
15
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wessington Springs, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Rude service, no phone, no internet, patio doors didn't lock, bathroom fan didn't work, toilet loose. The front desk help did not seem to care that things were wrong and told us to call the number for the internet. It is hard to call the number when the phone does not work. I will not stay at this hotel again. The patio doors on the ground floor had locks that did not work.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Twila,

Thank you for taking the time to notify us. On behalf of the hotel, I would like to apologize for the stay you experienced. I have researched the room and will be immediately getting maintenance to make repairs. I would hope to have you reconsider and return for another chance to provide you with a warm welcome and exceed your expectations.

Safe Travels,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel and Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I really dislike how you can sometimes be treated like a second-class citizen when you book through a service like Priceline. When we checked in, we simply asked if our two rooms could be near each other and if one could have two beds. The front desk person was like a robot and could really care less about our request. We ended up at least with rooms in the same hallway but they could only offer the handicapped rooms with king beds for Priceline guests.

The rooms were dirty. There was bandage stuck on one door. An ottoman had dried
juice on it, the lamp had duct tape on the old switch, the carpet wasn't vacuumed well, and the washcloths looked like they hadn't been replaced.

The walls were very thin. We could hear people around us, and worse than that, we could smell smoke from other rooms even though our room was non-smoking.

The fitness center was nice although the layout of the hotel makes it a long walk from where our room was located.

Simply put, this is one of those places where you just want to checkout as soon as you can the next day and be on your way. It could potentially be a nice place if they paid more attention to the cleanliness and trained staff better on customer service. Our guess is the water park is enough of an attraction and keeps them busy that they appeared to us to have a take it or leave it attitude.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Coloradonative28,

I would like to apologize for your stay not going smoothly. I appreciate your feedback and we will be addressing issues mentioned with Managers to correct room cleanliness and staff services.
I hope you come back to stay again, if so, please do not hesitate to contact us in regards to noise or smoking. We have Security on site to quickly curb these kind of issues and help guests enjoy their stay.
We do try our best to accommodate guest requests and we hope to have the chance to prove this during another stay.

Safe travels,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Excellent hotel, would stay again if I were in the area and would def recommend if you have kids as they have a wonderful indoor water park. As for the adults, the hot tub is wonderful~!! The location is prime, tons of things to do, IF you are there at the peak season, usually April 1st and many great restaurants available for your dining pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Maria P,

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the stay. Our waterpark and features tend to be a favorite for quite a few kids. I hope you're able to come back in the summer, enjoy more of what the Black Hills has to offer, and just relax with another good stay.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel with a friendly and caring staff. The rooms are bright, clean and look brand new. The Pool is the best I have ever seen at a hotel. As large as the YMCA Lap Pool in Chicago. It is Clean and the temperature perfect. They also have a Water Park for the kids. This is an Outstanding Property and I would never stay anywhere else when in Rapid City.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan F, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dave D,

Thank you. We appreciate hearing how our guests enjoyed their stay and we are glad to be able to be part of making that happen. It sounds like you had a chance to relax and enjoy our pool. You'll also be glad to know that we will be updating carpets and doing room remodeling in the upcoming month. We hope to have you come back again and see the improvements.

Sincerely,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierre
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Used to stay here all the time when traveling. The place in the last year seems to be falling apart and the staff is just not what it used to be. Was always clean too but my last visit I found hair from the previous guests on my pillows, good thing I bring my own. Overall it is very dated and in need of a remodel for most rooms. The price is not good either as I can stay at other new hotels in town that offer a fridge and microwave in every room, are suites, and have a breakfast in the morning for at least the same price or even cheaper. Minervas is located in the hotel for dining but the speed and service of that place is subpar at best and pricy. Go over the TX Roadhouse and get a better meal, better price, better service, and way quicker. Overall very disappointed in the place from what it once was. Hope they can make some investment in the place and bring it back to what it was.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
theshootist93,

Thank you for taking the time to comment. I do feel sad that your stay was not valued and would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel. However, the good news is these issues are already being addressed. We have remodel scheduled for April and we are very excited to be able to offer a more modern hotel experience for our guests.

We hope to have you return for a future stay and enjoy the upgrades we will be making.

Safe travels,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

they really treated us well, we could not believe when they found out it was our anniversary and up graded our room, then gave us a complimentary bottle of wine w/ chocolates. wow, who does that. they do!!! very happy with our room and stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas P, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
2006ta,

Thank you for taking the time to write. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your anniversary and that our hospitality was able to play a part in that. I will pass on your appreciation to our staff. We look forward to having you return for another visit.

Safe travels,

Front Office Manager
Best Western Ramkota Hotel & Conference Center
tkraft@ramkotarc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 2111 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.