We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Ramkota Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Ramkota Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2111 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #28 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Convenient Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I was here for a business meeting. I liked the room very much. It would be a nice place to stay for vacation. The meeting spaces were large enough, and the staff were very helpful. The place is laid out like a rat maze, so finding one's room and the meeting rooms took some brain power and time. All in all it was alright. It's convenient to downtown, the airport, and attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We work hard to make your experience with us as satisfactory as possible and appreciate the time you took to give us your feedback. Your feedback will be shared with our management team. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    119
    82
    38
    34
See reviews for
187
76
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Long Island,NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

Very large hotel, the only downside is that there is no elevator, and we had to drag our bags up and down the stairs. But very clean, good beds, Jane at the front desk very efficient arranging Airport shuttle.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We work hard to make your experience with us as satisfactory as possible and appreciate the time you took to give us your feedback. I am pleased to hear that our staff treated you with respect and were so accommodating to you and others. Your feedback will be shared with our management team. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Air Force Base, IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

It must have been the old building we stayed in because nothing was new here. The air conditioning unit was broken when we checked in, maintenance came in to replace the unit. We were not offered to change rooms or anything. The room looks very run down, wallpaper peeling, carpet worn down, back door didn't lock, if it wasn't for the bar holding the door closed, I wouldn't have felt safe at all. Some bathroom features didn't turn on, the water park was closed while we were here. The business center didn't have the basic programs like microsoft word so you couldn't open docs to print them. I honestly didn't feel it was a nice stay, or worth the money. There may be newer buildings that are worth it but we didn't get to stay there. Overall, if I had to do it again, I would have stayed down the street at the Country Inn and Suites, at least there we would have gotten a free breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your concerns are important to us and we take every effort to ensure they are addressed for future guests. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future and make your experience better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities, MN
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I recently attended a family wedding and the banquet rooms were quite spacious and featured wonderful mood lighting for the reception with speedy bar service and well appoitned buffet lines. The pre-function area was poorly lit and in desperate need of renovation.

This is a very large property for this city--about 270 rooms sorted into several 2-story buildings connected by winding hallways (some that dead-end). Maps are provided throughout the building and some directional signs but it was a challenge to navigate the hotel. Rooms have small patios/balconies with glass doors and are entered through interior corridors. Basic rooms lack microwaves and refrigerators but have semi-modern amenities and appear to be in good condition. The tub/shower was a problem--an insert had been installed and there was not enough clearnace for the faucet, so while running water much of it followed the tub's ledge and flowed onto the bathroom floor (we used a washcloth to "dam" the water). Rooms have CRT (tube-style) TV's with a large selection of channels. Beds were comfortable and well made with four large pillows on each and cotton blankets (instead of cheap polyester/foam).

There is a large indoor pool, 6-person whirlpool and kiddie pool that were well maintained and usually vacant--the waterpark accross the hallway was busy with children and often lacking towels. The waterpark is two (rather violent) tube slides that wind outside the building and re-enter into a pool; there is a children's activity area with four small slides (less than 6 feet), water jets, and parasol waterfall. It is one of the smallest hotel waterparks I have seen.

Minerva's was well decorated and the brunch had a reasonable price (12.95/person) but our waiter was rather new and not very good at his job. Brunch items were well presented but not the quality I would have expected to make it an incredible value.

With Rapid City having so many recently built hotels that you can be assured a more comfortable stay in more carefully designed rooms, I would find it hard to convince guests to choose this location aside from finding a good rate. The approach to the hotel is quite difficult--it is sandwiched between two intersections at the overpass on I-90.

Hotel staff seemed stretched rather thin too, there was only one "lifeguard" for their entire aquatics program--she was listening to an iPod and eating a sandwich at the top of the slides to simply tell people when to go (she wasn't even watching the children's activity area). I often saw one or two clerks in the lobby and aside from our housekeeper, the only other staff member I saw in the hallways was a maintenance man pushing a squeaky roll-a-way through the hallway at 10pm (he was not happy).

My advice to the management would be to: re-label corridors (think street names) so people could navigate them easier, phase out the CRT TV's, fix the tub/shower issue, renovate the lobby and pre-function area, look at staffing of the waterpark, and make better use of the gift shop--perhaps a coffee kiosk or something to bring people to the lobby to congregate and make it look full. Lastly--look at the exterior, even a different paint color could make it look less like a budget circa-1950's motel, contrasting facades could make this a much more interesting looking building and command a higher rate.

Room Tip: Second floor (if you can climb stairs), suites are toward the back but have microfridges and sofas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your concerns are important to us and we take every effort to ensure they are addressed for future guests. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future and make your experience better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with our 5 children. We were very impressed with the layout and quality of the room. I'm not sure if there is an old section and a new section but the part we stayed in looked new and was very well appointed. We had a two adjoining rooms, each one with a separate bedroom and large living room area. The room was very clean. The water park was awesome. Our children loved the stay at this hotel. My only complaint was the long line at check-in with limited staff and slow service. I'd estimate a line of 20 people waiting in line to check in with one lady working the desk. Well, for us it was worth the wait because we loved our stay here and we were treated great by the staff once we did get service.

If you have a family with lots of children and you want nice big rooms with a cool water park, I'd look at this place. We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollie C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments! We value your opinion and use your experience to continually improve. I sincerely apologize for your lengthy wait to check-in, we know your time is valuable and that you have come to enjoy yourself with your family. It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a great time in the waterpark! I hope to see you again in the future!

Hollie
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We had a bday party for my 3 year old. Later relaxing in the room a USED CONDOM was found in one of our beds! The hotel offered to move us to a different room at 10pm. We declined and left. After speaking to the manager she basically said we were lying and it couldnt have happened. It was horrible explaining this to our kids why we had to leave. The manager made us feel like liars. We will not be returning to this motel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollie C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
We always strive to create the best possible experience for our guests and I apologize your expectations were not met. We have several measures in place for all of our staff and personnel to routinely follow and take pride in a clean and well-run hotel in the community. Thank you for your feedback as this ensures our continued success for the future.

Hollie
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Price, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The room was nice, the water park was nice, but the walls are paper thin. Can hear every little noise in the hallway. The door of a room nearby squeaks loudly every time it opens and they are opening it every 5 minutes. It is in the middle of the night and people are going up and down the halls all the time. I don't recommend this place if you want to get any kind of sleep.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollie C, Front Office Manager at Best Western Ramkota Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment. Your concerns are important to us and we take every effort to ensure they are addressed for future guests. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to have you as our guest in the future and make your experience better.

Respectfully,
Hollie
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Ramkota Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ramkota Hotel

Address: 2111 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ramkota Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Western and Native American decor rooms PLUS Western hospitality! Free waterpark passes included with rates; full service Minerva's Restaurant and Bar; free computers/printers and internet access. Fitness Room, huge indoor pool, gift shop and complimentary shuttle. Across the street from the Rushmore Mall (110 stores) and movie theaters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Ramkota Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rapid City
Rapid City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Ramkota Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.