We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast
23451 Peregrine Pointe Place, Rapid City, SD 57702   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Rapid City B&B and Inns
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Why stay anywhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Sitting outside our room, watching the wild turkeys feeding 10 feet away, not a sound but the morning breeze and the morning birds, I thought, "I'll just stay here all day". But then, Eileen's breakfast was ready. Another treat for the senses. A beautifully set table in the great room, eggs, fruit, scones, juice and much more put "Breakfast" in the B&B.
Peregrine Pointe was such a beautiful place, I really would not consider staying elsewhere in the Rapid City area. Very convenient to town and the sights. And an extremely good bargain when compared to the hotels in town.
Eileen and Warren were excellent hosts. Chatting with the guests as much as you would like, but giving them as much privacy as you desired. They knew all the right spots to see and places to eat.
Truly a great find.

Room Tip: Don't worry about it. They look exactly like the web page...awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our family of 3 were on a 12 day road trip from Denver to Medora, North Dakota. We had booked 3 nights in a Hill City B & B, and we were to stay in the Colorado Springs area for the last 5 nights of our trip. Unfortunately several days prior to leaving for vacation, the fires resulted in a change of plans. The first B & B we were to stay in did not have 3 additional consecutive nights. We were advised the local B & B calendar indicated Peregrine Point had 2 beds in a room and availability. I decided the location outside Rapid City would provide access to the Northern areas of the Black Hills. Once there we found it an easy drive to the Southern areas of the Black Hills as well.

I contacted Eileen and learned though the lodging would cost more than our Colorado Springs lodging, they do offer a 10% Auto Club discount, and there was no additional charge for our daughter. We booked the room with the 2 queens; I believe it is the Eagle Room. It is located at one end of the block of 5 rooms, which are all downstairs. It has a jacuzzi tub in the sleeping area of the room, which my daughter thought interesting. The neighboring room's tub is in the closet and unfortunately can be heard through the walls, which probably isn't typically a problem, but the neighbors decided to enjoy the tub at 11:30 p.m.

The location was more remote than our Hill City B & B, and though it took a little longer to get places, it was so worth it to return to a peaceful setting at the end of the day. There are chairs outside of each of the rooms to enjoy the beautiful wooded setting. I enjoyed watching the wild turkeys fly into the trees at the end of the day to roost.

Linda served delicious and creative breakfasts--crepes cooked in a Ramekin filled with eggs and cheese, Eggs Peregrine, and Breakfast Enchiladas during our 3 night stay. Her coconut scones were the best I'd ever had and all the women at the table asked for the recipe. There is a long dining room table, and all the guests enjoy breakfast at 8:00 a.m. Eileen sat at the dining room table once everyone had finised eating, and visited with the guests. If you are lucky, there will be left over muffins/scones and you can enjoy them later in the day as Linda leaves them out along with the rest of the snack goodies. We appreciated the goodies as one evening we chose to forego dinner after eating her hearty breakfast and a late lunch. We snacked on cookies, crackers, and left over muffins.

The downstairs living room has a full size refrigerator stocked with bottled water, a sectional sofa, a table and chairs, a guest computer, a large screen TV, books, books, and books. It is conducive for relaxing and visiting. The other guests were so down to earth and friendly. Our 14 year old daughter commented on the friendliness of everyone. We learned about the farming industry in Minnesota and North Dakota, the hardware business in Canada, and the teaching field in Ohio.

After 14 years in the business, Eileen clearly still loves what she does, and has created an incredible experience for her guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Warren and Eileen keep a wonderful inn that is nestled in this beautiful place called the Black Hills. It is located right in the middle of the forest with trees so dense that there is seemingly no end. Our room was called the Hawk room and though we did not see any hawks we did see a flock of wild turkeys on our private patio. Deer, Elk and Buffalo were plentiful in Custer State park right down the road. In fact, everything is right down or up or to the left or right of this inn. It is the perfect place to make your base camp. We were very happy guests with very happy tummys for four days. Even with Warren flying solo for a few days, the food was great and plentiful. Warren gave us all the tour information anyone could have hoped for. He guided our daily journey with great road tips.

I am not much at writing volumes on trip advisor, so let me say this.... If you go to the Black Hills, stay at the Peregrine Point B & B. Perfect setting, wonderful rooms, delicious food and the hosts were warm and such fun to talk with.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Choosing this wonderful B&B was the best decision of our trip. Eileen and Warren made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Dogs, Cats, Wild Turkeys and Birds, all in a perfectly beautiful setting, what more can you ask for. Each morning over breakfast we were given invaluable advise on where to visit which we followed.

The room was gorgeous with a four poster Queen Bed and a superb bathroom with both walk in shower and jacuzzi bath which I idled in one night! The shared lounge area filled with so many books you could be in a library along with a computer and massive flat screen TV was a great place to hang out when you got back from your travels. Also the kitchen area with utensils and crockery was useful if you wanted to make a hot drink at night and the huge fridge to keep your drinks in was a massive help. Eileen's beautiful momento's from all the travels they do are featured around the house and are stunning (especially her quilts).

Breakfast is AMAZING! Eileen prepares something different every morning and sets you up beautifully for the day, even sending you off with delicious muffins to keep you going (and they were still keeping me going 2 days later during our travelling!). We only wish we had spent more time there as it was so restful, we really felt at home and will definitely visit again when we return one day to the Black Hills. Thank you for making our stay so wonderful and for sharing your pets (I felt less homesick).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, IA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed 4 nights, Northern Harrier room. I found this place on TA, weighing the reviews and prices of other B&Bs in the area picked this one and was happy with my choice. I figured having a place south of Rapid City would be good for touring Custer and the surrounding area. Found it easy enough using the map provided. Check in took less than 5 minutes, got our key and walked our luggage to the room, which is at ground level with the parking area.
The room had a connected bathroom with a jacuzi tub, everything was very clean. A fridge, computer, and TV lounge are all in the ground level common area, along with a hutch with glassware. The fridge has bottled water to take. A good sized porch wraps around the whole ground level area which each room has access to, and chairs are outside each room.
Breakfast is served in the dining area upstairs. The room is spacious and has an additional deck for viewing the area. Snacks are available here at night. The breakfasts were just delightful, very well presented and always tasted great. Quiche, crepes, and eggs peregrine (benedict) served on different days. Each breakfast came with fruit, pastries, and a variety of juices and cereals to choose from. We never left the table hungry.
There's lots of animals in the area. There's a flock of wild turkeys that roam the area, and with the multiple feeders it's a great birding spot. The owners have several cats and two dogs, all who stay out of the lower level where the guest rooms are. The cats are friendly, the dogs are a bit protective of the home but won't ever hurt anybody.
The location is good for touring the hills area. Mt Rushmore is 35 minutes away, so you have time to go there in the morning and get back before breakfast at 8. There's not a large amount of choices for dinner in the immediate area, but a few solid choices that I'll post reviews on later.
PS, this place is out in the woods and very quiet, so if are use to sleeping with a fan or something for white noise bring it with you. Also, mid/late June during the longest days of the year the sun starts to come up around 5 AM, so if you want to sleep in bring a sleep mask.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. Since your stay we have added dark out shades to the windows in the guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Peregrine Point sits on about 200 acres. It is a modern home on a rise overlooking woods in the Black Hills. There are two resident dogs, three cats and (exclusively outdoors) a number of wild turkeys scavenging at the bird feeders. Warren, the host, gave us a tour of the property which includes a large living/dining/kitchen area upstairs and second sitting area with adjoining bedrooms downstairs. There is a massive library (larger than most I have seen on cruise ships) with well selected volumes. All the beds are queens and our was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and immaculate. Breakfast was delicious, but be aware there is one seating and it is at 8 AM. We only stayed one night, but if we return to the Black Hills, this is where I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badminton
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

A perfect B&B located just outside Rapid City SD with stunning views of the Black Hills. A short gravel road (very smooth) leads to the property. Very well appointed bed foods and plenty of spacious public areas. PC and printer available along with wi-fi. Excellent breakfasts and very friendly and helpful hosts.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast

Address: 23451 Peregrine Pointe Place, Rapid City, SD 57702
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Rapid City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our contemporary lodge is set up in the forests of the Black Hills, yet convenient to all attractions, restaurants, shopping and visitor venues. Enjoy the quiet and the great views as well as an abundance of wildlife. A great place to relax. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Peregrine Pointe Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list