We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, Great staff, Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 N. Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Conneticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great staff, Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This wonderful hotel with large rooms and very comfortable beds was in a great location for our visit to Mt. Rushmore. Daniel (the mgr) and Ashley who checked us in were extremely pleasant and helpful. Sliders, a restaurant next door to the Fairfield Inn has delicious food and reasonable
prices. Internet is included as well as a very good complimentary breakfast. It is attached to an indoor water park which was not crowded since most children are back in school .

Room Tip: We loved room 302, a very spacious one bedroom in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    130
    81
    33
    36
See reviews for
219
105
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penn Laird, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for a family vacation, which included visiting Mt Rushmore, not too far away. Very nice hotel, great breakfast spread, included in the hotel cost, and a great staff. There is an attached water park, which we did not have the opportunity to visit. The water park entrance fee is not included with the cost of the hotel. The room suite was beautiful, offering ample space for all of us to sleep. Great to see PBS, which has appropriate morning programming for the kids. We found the TV/game combined console annoying. When you just want to watch television, you don't want to have to figure our how to get off the game console menu. We visited in the first few days of August 2013, just prior to the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally. We had not realized that was taking place when it was. The roar of motorcycles was everywhere; the bikers, friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Ok I had previously tried to review this hotel and due to 'insufficient' information it was not published. We flew in here from DFW so spent the first and last night at this hotel on our road trip. The lobby was clean. At the beginning of the road trip we got a room on the second floor which was ok. The last night of our trip was a whole different story. We were allocated a room right outside the lobby which looked to the elevators. The room was disgusting and dirty. We were in the room 5 minutes and my 7 year old son said there were flies in the bathroom, dismissing it as just one. We put the tv on and sure enough 3 more flies started flying around. Going to investigate we were disgusted at the grim/rust and dirt in the bathroom. My husband hot-footed it to the front desk and explained to the lady what was in the bathroom. She did not even engage in conversation with him but told him she had no rooms left. After explaining the big flies and dirt she moved us without even inspecting the room. Fairfield this hotel my have a clean and upgraded lobby but this in not the case with the rooms. Very disappointed in you Marriott!!!

Room Tip: If you get allocated the first floor room right by the lobby and lifts say NO!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I has nothing but great experiences at thw Fairfield. The manager (Daniel) and receptionist (Ashley) were absolutely fantastic. They made sure we always had what we needed and assisted whenever asked. Front desk, in general was beyond amazing! Huge continental breakfast and our room was awesome. The hotel itself was clean and inviting. The Watiki water park (attached) was the best price I've seen and the most accommodating for all ages. I can't wait to see what the future expansion holds. My son could crawl where ever and not get scraped up from the ground! Our room seemed soundproof, as I heard no one outside ever. This made it perfect for when my kids had to sleep at their scheduled bed times. Sliders grill has a menu that seems to suit many food varieties and decently priced. I have to say this was my best stay yet in Rapid City! I plan to stay here next time we come to visit as it was one of my best experiences.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed with my family with two small kids this past week and had a WONDERFUL time with the hotel, the attached Watiki waterpark, and the absolutely awesome Sliders sports bar and lounge. The food was great, the room was unbelievable, and the staff was great. I'm already planning my return to the area in the near future!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: Staying in one of the suites that overlooks the waterpark is a great plus for the kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived late at night to the Fairfield. Staff were pleasant. Our room was up to date in furnishings and decorating. Very clean. We stayed one night here to begin our vacation and will stay again at the end. We did not realize it was attached to a water park when we arrived. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Responding to the call for a Double (Buffalo) Nickels road trip, my travel mates and I staked our claim to a room at the Fairfield Inn and Suites by Marriott in Rapid City, South Dakota. What better way to celebrate the passage of my time than to visit the timeless grandeur of the Badlands and Black Hills.

How could I ever have anticipated the bonus that our stay at this hotel would bring? It started with a slew of people, whose entrance almost seemed synchronized, converging on single young woman behind the front desk. She remained calm and personable, with just the right touch of “stepping it up,” to satisfy the most easily frustrated of patrons. “My name is Ashley,” she said, “if there is anything else that you need let me know.”

Our room was clean, there was a great rapid (no pun intended) cooling refrigerator and the beds were firm. Breakfast, included with the stay, offered a wide offering: cereals, doughnuts, eggs, waffles, breads and, of a variety of juice, tea and coffee. Newspapers and T.V. were also available if one just had to have a reality update.

We discovered that this hotels quick access to Interstate 90 (east/west) and route 79 (north/south) really improved day trip travel times. Whether checking out Sturgis, Devils Tower, The Mammoth Site, The Badlands, Mount Rushmore or Custer State Park - you are on your way in no time.

During our stay, we had the good fortune to twice attain our limit fishing for rainbow trout. We had the fish cleaned in Custer, but needed to freeze them in order to eat them back in Chicago – what to do. We entered the hotel with fish in plastic bag - in memorable irony – Ashley and Stephanie were behind the front desk keeping busy with no one else in sight. I sheepishly questioned whether there was a way I could possibly wrap the fish and put them in a small freezer up front that held some frozen treats. “We have a freezer in back that we can put them – no problem.”

Staying at this hotel was a pleasure through and through; during the drive back, I could not stop thinking about my desire to return – two Indian Head pennies came to mind – I always wanted to see this place in the winter – I know just the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City

Address: 1314 N. Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites can be found right off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The property is home to WaTiki: the state's largest indoor park. With 30,000 square feet of slides, winding rivers and other water fun, it's no wonder why WaTiki continues to be a family favorite. The property's location is a comfortable distance from the area's major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Marriott so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Fairfield Inn And Suites - Rapid City
Fairfield Inn Hotel
Fairfield Inn Rapid City
Fairfield Rapid City
Rapid City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.