We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1314 N. Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #23 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Water Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a typical Marriott property. The rooms were very nice. We stayed in a suite for five nights on a spring break vacation. Everything was very clean. The staff was very helpful. It was great having the water park at the hotel. We would go do stuff during the day and then hang out at the pool at night. The boys, ages 10 and 5, loved the water park. The restaurant attached to the hotel / water park was very good and had nightly specials which made dining very affordable. It is an easy and scenic drive to Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park.

The only thing preventing this from being a five out of five was the breakfast. First, it was too crowded. Because it was spring break, the hotel was most likely at capacity. The kitchen was simply not prepared. They consistently ran out of food and were slow to replace it. It was also nearly impossible to find a table. One of the mornings we did find a table, the hotel has a very odd placement for an outside door in the eating area. Workers and guests were using the door regularly and it shot a blast of frigid air in small eating area every time making the experience quite unpleasant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    109
    67
    30
    31
See reviews for
180
85
25
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The staff very willingly met our request for a quiet room, locating us farthest away from the waterpark. Can't comment on the waterpark, due to busy sightseeing and visiting relatives. The location was excellent: near the airport, downtown, crosstown ring road, etc. and across the street from Dakotah Steakhouse...a wonderful restaurant. Breakfast was standard expanded continental breakfast. Rob cleaned our room well and the beds were very comfy. We got an excellent rate with AAA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We liked this hotel. The waterpark next to the hotel was very exciting for my extroverted girls. The breakfast in the morning was basic, but was a good start for the day. We did not spend much time at the hotel due to wanting to see Mt. Rushmore and the area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who has kids between the ages 5-10. They were helpful with directions on how to get places. They had printed cards/driving directions to hand to you. If you are Marriott Rewards Member I would go ahead and pay. Do not use your points to stay here. Use them on another Marriott hotel or resort.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobridge, South Dakota
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had a fabulous experience here, the front desk staff was kind and courteous and gave me all sorts of fun ideas and places to go with the family for outings in the black hills. They helped me find the hotel even though my gps didnt want to find them too! The room was clean and neat and the housekeeping staff were friendly. The breakfast had a pretty good selection, my child loved the waffles the most! The breakfast lady was top notch and really made us feel at home. I'd definitely stay again, the waterpark is only the beginning of the fun here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We arrived late and so we were glad of its proximity to the airport (say 10 min drive). I'd imagine this hotel's chief attraction is its water park. Certainly not its nightlife. After 8pm your dining options are Arby's and McDonalds, or another option which may be preferable, roadkill from the nearby freeway. Decor is the usual almost communist uniformity of drab wallpaper and inoffensive bedroom furniture, etc. Very clean, very handy, very dull. If you get it on points it's a deal.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I just stayed there for three nights and my stay was hit or miss. One room was cleaned the other was not. Some staff friendly others not. No benefits for Gold Elite Marriott members and had problematic with my bill on checkout as I was charged two different rates. Breakfast was good as was location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had my daughters birthday party at the water park, which the kids loved, but I got a room as an added bonus for fun. I had checked this site to see the reviews and honestly couldn't believe anything could seriously be as bad as I read, I took a chance and was pleasantly surprised. The staff from check in to check out was curteous, friendly and helpful. The room was very clean, the extra blankets and pillows we needed were clean and even smelled fresh, not the stale smell that usually comes with them. I only rated the spa as an average because nobody in our group used it. My daughter wants to have her party there again and after our experience that's exactly what we're going to do!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City

Address: 1314 N. Elk Vale Road, Rapid City, SD 57703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott Fairfield Inn & Suites can be found right off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. The property is home to WaTiki: the state's largest indoor park. With 30,000 square feet of slides, winding rivers and other water fun, it's no wonder why WaTiki continues to be a family favorite. The property's location is a comfortable distance from the area's major destinations, including Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites - Rapid City
Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Fairfield Inn Hotel
Fairfield Inn Rapid City
Fairfield Rapid City
Rapid City Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites - Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.