We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Firehouse Brewing Co.

Firehouse Brewing Co.
610 Main St, Rapid City, SD 57701-2736
+1 605-348-1915
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 214 Restaurants in Rapid City
Cuisines: Continental, Winery, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: "The Firehouse," as it is called by locals, is one of the city's most unique and interesting landmarks. --Housed within the original Rapid City firehouse, a structure built of four layer brick in 1915, the building is listed on the National Historic Register. We offer a full service restaurant and bar with indoor and outdoor dining. Experience a vibrant atmosphere with live entertainment every evening during the summer. Enjoy the musical talents of local artists every night in our beer garden in addition to live theatre most Friday and Saturday evenings. Of course, the Main attraction at the Firehouse is our uniquely flavored, hand crafted beers along with a menu of the Midwest's favorite dishes. With culinary selections ranging from salads and pasta to buffalo and gumbo, there is something for everyone at the Firehouse Brewing Company.
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went with 2 of our girls for a late lunch and the food was great. The nachos appetizer is a must try and believe you me it is a lot of food for an appetizer. The rest of our order was great as well and so was the service. We did not try any of the alcoholic beverages but we are sure they are as good as the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    377
    188
    84
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Cool Building; OK Food; Lousy Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The only real draw to this place was the building and the firefighting equipment used to decorate the restaurant. If you like beer stop, grab a beer, and have a look around. I wouldn't recomend the food & the service alone is a reason not to return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rincon, Georgia, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Loved the decor, period firestation, wasn't thrilled to be led to a table upstairs but was pleased when we realized it gave us a great view of the place. The food was outstanding, Hot soup hit the spot on a cold snowy day. Warmed us up for a wonderful beer sampling and although this was our waitress first day on the job, she was very knowledgeable about the menu choices. Portions of entrees were sizeable and even though we were stuffed, we opted to split desserts....we didn't regret one bite! Nice job guys. Very welcome break for some weary travelers......

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I really enjoyed this place. Good customer service and the food was awesome. I recommend the new york strip with the whiskey sauce. Steaks were nice and tender. I also like the scenery it had to offer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Where I take my family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

The Firehouse is where my parents and grandparents always ask to go when they come to visit me in Rapid City. The food is very good and the beer is amazing. My favorite foods are the Bangers and Mash, Spontaneous Heating (perfect spice point but if you don't do spice stay away from it) and their beer cheese soup. I also love a dark beer and their Smoke Jumper Stout.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Firehouse Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firehouse Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.