We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Choice in Rapid City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avanti Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avanti Motel
Save
You added Avanti Motel to your Saves list
102 N Maple Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-1535   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Franklin, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Choice in Rapid City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had three basic needs for a hotel while visiting the sights of western South Dakota; inexpensive was tops, clean, and centrally located. The Avanti was perfect. It's an older family run hotel. I have no reservations in recommending your stay. We stayed four days. The staff was so nice, David and Markie were friendly and helpful in every way possible. If you don't need a ritzy place, this quaint little gem is a diamond in the rough. Walk down to Jerry's Donuts in the morning and have some coffee with the local folks too. We were only going to stay one or two nights but stayed four. Nice.

Room Tip: Just ask, the staff on duty will let you look at the rooms before deciding. We stayed right next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pomona
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed at this motel twice. The price is excellent. The front desk is always helpful and friendly! The location is excellent. Dont hesitate to stay here!! This is my favorite motel in the rapid City area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Recently my boyfriend and I were stranded in Rapid City, SD, due to inclement weather for 2 days. Not only did they give us a discount, but the people at Avanti were super nice and accommodating. They allowed us to check out later due to our late departure time, and helped us find good places to eat/order from. Sure there isn't the amenities like a hair dryer or continental breakfast, but when you are traveling and can't afford a pricey hotel room, the Avanti serves its purpose. They are comparable to Holiday Inn, Super 8, and others. They had wifi, which is really the only amenity I care about. For $40/night(normal rate is around $45 for 2 people) they provided a surprisingly clean hotel room. The beds were cleaner than any other hotel I've stayed in, and the smoking room we were in didn't have any scent of previous smoking. It was a great stay.

Room Tip: get one right next to the main office for best Wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable, and affordable,professional staff was almost like family to my wife and I. Convient and not expensive supply of hygene products in the office. I have alot of family in Rapid City and I visit often from El Paso Tx. Were looking forward to our next visit in Rapid City and the Avanti.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Motel is clean, rooms are larger than you would expect, and this is an excellent value. Although they do not serve breakfast, there is a really good doughnut shop within two blocks that I walked to every morning and it opens at 5 a.m. My family and I took two rooms, none of us saw (or felt) any bedbugs. They do not have a swimming pool but will allow you to use one at another motel a few blocks away. The staff is very helpful, when we wanted restaurant recommendations, the gentleman at the desk would have the information right at hand, even called the restaurant for me and checked on the hours. So you get real concierge service at no extra cost. If the motel is full, the staff is nice about calling around to other motels for vacancies. I was traveling with my elderly parents and the motel was good about holding a first floor room for them so they did not have to climb the stairs.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: They have two smoking rooms but non-smokers probably would not care to stay in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Beware this motel has a history of bed bugs! I did not know it, and I ended up with over 187 bed bug bites while staying in room 13 on August 24 and 25, 2010.... The motel knows of the problem because it has plastic covers for the mattresses, but they have not corrected the bed bug problem! My trip was ruined. I doubt it if they even care.... What a bunch of blood suckers the motel is!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

I went back to this hotel because the staff is very nice and helpfull, the rooms are clean and spacious. however, the breakfast is not included, it's a pity. the hotel is not so far from the city center. Very affordable (except during Sturgis Rallye). I am very glad of my stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avanti Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Motel

Address: 102 N Maple Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701-1535
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 47

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avanti Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.