We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wall Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
315 E North St, Rapid City, SD 57701-1458
605-348-1060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #91 of 213 Restaurants in Rapid City
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Waverly, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

From the moment you walk in the door you know this is not your "typical" Asian restaurant. The staff is attentive, courteous and efficient. The decor is modern, clean and relaxing. The menu is not twenty pages long with two hundred choice, but a very good selection of old favorites and new twists on them. Our food came promptly and was excellent! They were substantial portions but thankfully not the portion sizes that usually could serve eight! They were delightfully presented with some very decorative garnishes, and table side demonstrations if needed. And again, throughout the dinner the staff was very attentive, and I mean the whole staff not just our server, anyone passing by attended to us and to all the other diners. Nothing negative here, like any busy restaurant I imagine things could get forgotten, however I'm also sure all I would have to do is ask and it would be provided. We were visiting from out of town and if we lived here this place would be a regular!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“World class service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We are from out of town, and had no idea where to dine in Rapid City. I was hoping to get a good rice soup, and we found that this restaurant has it on the menu so we decided to give it a try. It was a pleasant surprise. From the outside, it looks like a typical Chinese restaurant, but the food and the service is anything but typical! The food is excellent (free of msg), and reasonably priced. It is a five star service that I have never experienced anywhere else! We really wish that the restaurant was in our hometown so we could go more often!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I love getting delivery from here, and even going in is an amazing treat, fantastic atmosphere and top knotch food. I love it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cheap and best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

its like tasty and more than enough quantity ............

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just not the same”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We used to eat here quite often when we lived in the area in the late1990's----was one of our favorite places. So we we really looking forward to eating there again. We were tired from traveling all day so opted to have our food delivered. Was a huge disappointment. Not at all like what we remembered. My daughter and I both had the sesame chicken and most of it ended up in the trash--such a waste. A very disappointing experience.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Wall Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Great Wall Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wall Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.