We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the "average" ones” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
665 E Disk Dr, Rapid City, SD 57701-7812
605-341-1192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 191 Restaurants in Rapid City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Barbecue, Hamburgers
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“One of the "average" ones”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

You can never be sure at Outback if you're at one of the really good ones or one of the "average" ones. This one is average.
The blooming onion was a little greasy, the filet wasn't very tender and the prime rib was just okay. Our waiter Caleb did a good job but we weren't too impressed with the food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Rapid City Outback is the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I eat at this restaurant weekly. We LOVE the food -- it is always consistently excellent, no matter what we order. The steaks are mouth-wateringly delicious. The service is also fantastic. My husband is lactose intolerant and gluten intolerant, and he always has a million restrictions to mention to the servers, which they NEVER mess up. We've never had a bad meal here, plus the service has never been anything but competent and friendly. We also love the happy hour drink specials -- $4 for a 9oz glass of wine is unheard of. Tip: Sit in the bar to avoid noisy children and to have a more relaxing experience altogether. There are nice quiet booths in the bar that are also very spacious. Love this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“worth every penny”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I loved the experience in this local spot. The staff was great especially our server. My friend and I were first-timers so he took time out of his hectic shift to explain the dishes to us. We love everything we ordered though I didn't finish the sweet-potato-and-brown-sugar dessert I ordered. It was a little too rich for me. Furthermore, I find the location of this reastaurant a tad bit confusing. Not an issue though. I still love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“close to hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Food was good as well as service. Appetizer was a little overcooked . But it was just a little ways from our hotel , which was nice after a long day of sightseeing

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outback”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Outback is always good. Rapid City seems to be very busy and very tight for space. The staff made up for the facility down falls. The waitress was very busy but never made us feel rushed. Quite enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.