We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise in Rapid City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Bistro

Kathmandu Bistro
727 Main St, Rapid City, SD 57701
+1 605-343-5070
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kathmandu Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 214 Restaurants in Rapid City
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Mt. Rushmore Road
Transit: In the summer a trolley car runs from the civic center to the historic downtown. Otherwise, there is parking along both sides of Main Street which is a one way heading west.
Description: Best Indian/Nepalese food in Rapid City.Try our rack of lamb!!! Is famous.
Santa Fe, NM
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise in Rapid City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Read about this place in Trip Advisor, and it was every bit as good as the reviews said. Located in an old rehabbed brick building downtown - raw brick walls, high ceilings, subtle lighting, large glass windows fronting on to one of the main streets downtown. The food was even more artfully done than the decor. With family from India, I can be picky. We decided to try some of the basic stuff: curried lamb, saag paneer, paratha and naan, It was all exceptionally well seasoned, each dish distinctive, and complex in flavor. We ordered mild to be on the safe side,and were very pleased with the full, but not overly spiced result. The tomato based lamb curry was truly lovely - mild, sweet almost fruity flavor, Portions were very generous, and we had enough left over for the next night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    39
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very nice surprise...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ate here with my boyfriend during a recent trip to SD and wow the food is really, really good.
I love Indian food and coming from NYC we have our fair share of good and not so good places but I didn't expect to find this gem in Rapid City. I had the chicken korma which was amazing. Garlic naan made just right, and the bismati rice very good as well. My boyfriends dish (don't remember what it was called) was a little too spicy for my liking...I think if it would have been milder it would have been awesome...he likes really spicy foods but even he found it was a bit much.
Folks were friendly, decor was nice...though we did encounter a weird draft when we were first seated and had to ask to be moved becuase our feet were freezing. We were moved with no issues and the new table was draft free : )
Overall very pleased.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A gem in Rapid City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful meal here! Nice atmosphere, delicious and reasonably priced food, generous servings plus good service, set in a lovely restored old building. An all around great experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crescent, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellend Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Based on the reviews we decided to call and see if they would take a reservation on a Friday night and they did. Atmosphere was great and the dinner was some of the best Indian food we've ever had. We like Indian food and there is only one place can think of in Minneapolis. When in Rapid City we will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Il
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had the lunch buffet which featured goat vindaloo, pheasant khorma (?) and tandoori chicken on the day we ate there. The buffet was clean with a nice variety; the food was hot and well cooked/seasoned.The service was great, especially for a buffet lunch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Kathmandu Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.