We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Foothills Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Foothills Inn to your Saves list
Foothills Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1625 N LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Washingtonville, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I found the room very spacious. We had a very comfortable king side bed. The room was clean and housekeeping always had the room well maintained with clean towels etc. Continental breakfast is ok.
Coffee, Juice, cereal, need to ask for a sausage biscuit. The staff were friendly & helpful. The location worked for us as we were going to Custer State Park, Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Badlands and the hotel was central to these places. There are plenty of restaurants locally & a Mall nearby. Airport aprox. 15 min. So overall for the rates we had a good experience !

Room Tip: No Elevator Quiet on the backside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    30
    13
    12
See reviews for
54
44
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our family, 2 adults & 2 boys, stayed here in late July 2012. We were passing through and it was getting late, so we booked this hotel online without doing enough research. It was interesting....My husband checked us in while the kids and I waited in the car. We were directed to go through a side door in order to be closer to our room. As we approached the door and went to swipe our card, another guest who was sitting outside his ground floor room told us not to bother with the card as the door hardly ever locks anyways.....so the security is a little lax. The other guest was an old, weathered rodeo cowboy and I actually think he added character to the place. He told me he travels quite a bit and stays here when passing through. Our room was straight out of 1986 and had a shaggy-ish carpet and a bright blue sink and toilet. The beds were sort of chinzy but they were okay enough. An outdoor pool open till 10 was great for the hot night. The other poolside guests were a couple drinking king cans of beer while their kid splashed in the pool. It looked like a group of 30-something ladies in tight, sparkly clothes were having some kind of party there. There also seemed to be alot of smokers, though our non-smoking room was fine. In the morning, they had a breakfast with some kind of sandwiches that you could heat up in the microvave, some juice, cereal and milk. My husband ate the sandwiches, but he will eat anything. Honestly, when I saw the lobby in the morning, I thought it had a rustic charm, as if it had been renovated ahead of the rooms. On the plus side, it had some character, was in a convenient location, the staff was nice enough and a the pop machines were cheap. I nick-named it the "hillbilly hotel" and it was one of the places that made our road trip interesting. That said, I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scribner, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Old motel needing update. Small entry/breakfast area. Breakfast sandwich, muffins and cold cereal for continental breakfast. While eating breakfast employees gathered at the front desk which is right next to the eating area; not at all inviting as they were not the best kempt individuals. Clerk when we checked in was great. Carpets down corridors in good condition but odd style. Nothing about this motel speaks trendy. First room assigned had an ‘odor’; mildew like. They graciously moved us. Wall coverings old, furniture old and scuffed, small/old TV, frig and not enough electrical outlets for today’s electronics. Carpet well used with staining. Linens nothing great; the bed skirt on 1 of the beds was half ripped off exposing the mattress and bed frame. Good lighting and air conditioner. Patio door with dirty door jams opening to outdoor pool area on ground level with 2 molded plastic chairs. Carpet mat at door had not been cleaned. Bath area has turquoise tub/shower enclosure with stool in a tight fit—room wise and height. Sink/mirror area located outside shower room with small laminate countertop and sink. Faucets and shower curtain looked nice. Silverfish and bug present around bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Actual rating = 2.5

There is not an overwhelming selection of lodging in Rapid City, it would be difficult to do much better than the Foothills Inn. The staff on the phone and in person were nice and professional. The room we had on the second floor was large, clean and quiet (we were on the backside of the building). There is no elevator. The first floor rooms are more expensive, apparently because they've been renovated. The hotel hotel is near the freeway, very easy to find. The Foothills has no guest laundry which is quite inconvenient because there is no where close by to do it. Having an outdoor pool is an awesome addition during the warm summer months, a place to relax and stay cool. We assume staying cool in Rapid City in January is never a problem, an outdoor pool may not be as relaxing then. There is an excellent mini golf course (Pirates Cove) across the street and lots of food choices within a short drive's distance. The Foothills Inn has all you need in motel but not too much more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We didn't book any rooms ahead of our trip, and when every other hotel in the area was booked, they had 2 rooms available, but none of the other hotels bothered to point us in this direction, only other big chains. To our surprise, it was the lowest priced, cleanest, and largest hotel room we had our entire 4 days in the Black Hills area. Beds were comfortable, and 4 pillows on each queen size bed was nice. The breakfast was fairly limited: cold cereal, toast, juice and coffee, and the like. But if you ask the front desk, they will grab a frozen sausage sadwich for you to heat up in the microwave. We were not able to use the pool (which is outdoors), as it was downpouring that evening, but it looked clean and others seemed to be enjoying it as we checked out in the morning. If you are going to be staying in Rapid City, this would be an excellent choice, i think the big chain hotels were jealous!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant City, Mssouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I appreciate finding a convenient "Pet Friendly" hotel but...we got a "pet room" which reeked of urine when we opened the door. There was a huge stain, I would say from a very large dog, in the middle of the floor. I have seen other reviews about this place being pricey, but from our experience with vacationing in the area, especially with a pet, that $110 is really a good price. The continental breakfast was pretty minimal, toast and cold cereal was all I saw so we went to the Perkins which was right next door. The rooms and hotel appearance are very nice and I like having coffee pots in the room. If we had had kiddos I know they would have enjoyed the pool. As for all the "fluffy" pillows...4 to each bed...very inviting but they were hard as rocks!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We enjoyed our short stay; it was affordable and close to Mt. Rushmore. Breakfast is okay; be sure to ask for a sausage biscuit from the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Foothills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foothills Inn

Address: 1625 N LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Foothills Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Foothills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foothills Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foothills Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.