We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place with beautiful atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Canyon Lake Resort
Save Saved
You added Canyon Lake Resort to your Saves list
2720 Chapel Lane, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place with beautiful atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed during touring the Hills. the room were clean enough for us, being a cabin type room. microwave, free coffee, fridge(cold) for us, and stove/oven were fine for us. yfi was good. paddleboats for lake, and trout fishing was good. free wine tasting on wed at beautful main building. it was close to all tourism and stores. we are not picky people. staff were great with all our needs rate was not bad at all i feel. would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your review is very important to us. We strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. Glad to hear you enjoyed trout fishing and paddle boating. Hope to see you in the future.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    18
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a great place for a small family reunion! Our family of 20 loved the homey atmosphere and the ability to use the Cattail lodge as a central meeting place. We prepared and shared meals here and enjoyed evenings around the large table. Canyon Lake Resort has a beautiful and peaceful setting on Canyon Lake and the children enjoyed the paddle boats. There is trout fishing in Canyon Lake, big trout. There is also a great walking path that follows Rapid Creek that can be accessed from the resort. It was nice to have access to city amenities but feel like you were in the wilderness. The staff were outstanding. They promptly and pleasantly fullfilled any request. We had family visiting from Texas, California and Minnesota that thought this was the PERFECT facility for a reunion. We would definitly recommend it to others and would return for future gatherings. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask if you want a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I can't understand how anyone could give this place a good review. It does have the potential to be a very nice place, and maybe once upon a time it was, but the way it has been let go is a shame. Pros: The room was large, there was a sorta kitchenette (the oddest one-piece kitchen I have ever seen), it was in a lovely location on a lake with a picnic table and gas grill right outside our door, and there was a pool. There are also paddle boats, I guess, but I never did see them. Cons: Although the only bug I saw was a spider and the sheets did appear to be clean, the rest of the room just gave the appearance of a place that suffered from neglect. The bathtub was quite literally falling apart and there were big chunks of the reflective coating missing from the bathroom mirror - as well as globs of something on it, and there was no fan in the bathroom, although there was a window that opened right on to the parking lot. We never did decide what color the carpet was supposed to be. The "kitchen in a box" was filthy - it didn't look like the drip pans had ever been cleaned or replaced. There were also no supplies in the kitchen with which to cook or eat anything other than - believe it or not - a set of filled salt and pepper shakers! The up side was that the lighting was so poor that you couldn't really see the filth. Honestly, it was like trying to put makeup on by candlelight. The beds were so worn out we felt like our heads were pointing downhill all night And you couldn't use the grill or picnic table without stepping in piles of goose poop. The pool (which I didn't use) was the smallest I have ever seen and was surrounded by weeds - inside the fence! To be fair, the cabins did look cuter and not as rundown as the motel units, but if they don't clean them any better than the motel, I still wouldn't want to stay there. The place was pretty hard to find - it's a long way from I90, which I suspect may be why it is so rundown. They either need to put some money into this place of give up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Although we do not like to hear the negatives, we take them seriously and make every effort to satify every customer. We do rely on our guests to alert us to issues so they can be corrected during their stay, not after they leave.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, MO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

For our annual Sturgis trip our motorcycle group moved to this location from a nearby competitor where we had stayed the previous 5 years and our business with this competitor was completely unappreciated!! HOWEVER....what a difference it was at the Canyon Lake Resort...the cabins and rooms we had were clean and beds were great!! The location is great and the property is beautiful...but the best part of the property is the staff from the top to the bottom they were wonderful...so helpful and pleasant!! I had asked to buy a Sturgis banner they had on their office outside wall at the end of the week if they were to consider selling it and at the end of our stay the owner (Mike) came to our cabin and gave it to us for staying with them and booking for next year!!! The customer service provided at this property was outstanding and there are a lot of business' that could take some lessons from them...this kind of customer service is a thing of the past!!!! We will be back....!!!!!! Thanks a bunch everyone at Canyon Lake Resort!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. It was a pleasure having you all stay with us. Glad to hear everyone made it home safe. Look forward to seeing you next year.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our family rented the 3 bedroom cabin. It was roomie and clean. Their pool was clear. The kids had a ball with the paddle boats. Beds were great. Sheets were clean. This was our second trip there. The employees were friendly and prompt. I would go there a third time.

Room Tip: I like the cabins better than the motel because of the size of the rooms, the kitchen and living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We strive to make sure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. So glad to hear the kids enjoyed the pool and paddleboats. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you next year.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernal, Utah
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Cattail Lodge is absolutley outdated and dirty! The carpet upstairs is dirty and smelly. Seems it hasn't been cleaned or replaced in years. There were fingerprints all over the back glass door and on every cupboard which sort of ruins your appetite when trying to prepare a meal. The fridge does not stay cold, so we would wake up to warm milk in the morning. The shower downstairs is so extremely old and does not have any pressure. You have to keep adjusting the knobs to take a quick shower. Neither of the two toliets flush well, which poses a problem when you have 10 people that need to use the restroom. The wifi they advertise never worked the entire 5 days we were there. The lake is pretty, but its only a few feet deep in most places which made fishing for the kids a huge disappointment. The staff was nice enough, but never took the time to ask us how our stay was which I thought was strange. And last but not least, we were disappointed that canyon lake is basically part of a neighborhood. It is not nestled or secluded in the mountains like we were anticipating. We were okay with the fact that the place is old, but we could not stand that it was so dirty. We would not stay again, and would not recommend to anyone traveling that way....sorry :(

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we take them seriously and make every effort to satify every customer. We personally insepcted the carpet. Even though it is only one year old, and was shampooed in April, we did see the spots you referred to and immediately had it professionally cleaned.
We are not sure what to say about the refrigerator, it was cooling fine when we inspected it; in addition there are two more refrigerators in the lodge which were also in working order. As far as the toilets, we have contacted a plumber to see what is wrong. We also tested the Wi-Fi, and did not encounter any issues with getting on the internet, so there may have been a access issue on your computer that was not set properly.
We do wish that during your four-day stay, you had brought these inconveniences to our attention. We make every attempt to address anything mechanical immediately. We do rely on our guests to alert us to issues so they can be corrected during their stay, not after they leave.
We have been highly rated on Trip Advisor the past couple years and plan on keeping our ranking by paying attention to our customers. Thank you
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Star, Idaho
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The place is filthy!!! The sheets were paper thin and spotted. The air conditioning filter had not been changed in at least a year and when I requested a new filter they replaced it but left the white grill black with grease and soot. The toilet pluged up evey other day. We had to ask for towels and toilet paper. The cooking and eating wear was minimal and inadequate. The carpeting had not been cleaned in ages and the cabin had a bad odor to it. The bathroom exhaust fan was so dirty it only made a terrible noise and did not filter. The location is great but unfortunately it is not being properly managed. I would not recommend this resort to anyone. It certainly left a bad
tast in our mouths for what should have been a fun vacation.

Room Tip: They are all dirty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shootingstar46, Manager at Canyon Lake Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your critique. While we do not like to hear the negatives, we cannot make corrections without them.We have already addressed with our housekeeping staff the important of vacuuming under the beds and cleaning more than just counter tops. Our staff will certainly be more attentive to the exhaust fans and vents.
All of our carpets in each and every unit are shampooed in April prior to the start of our season. Throughout the season we spot clean any areas in need. In addition we change the filters on the heating/air-conditioning units every three months. We have had an extremely dry and dusty year, which may have been the cause of the filter being dirtier than normal. Each day when we spoke with you we made every attempt to address any issues that were brought to our attention.
Once agin we do appreciate all input and strive to make corrections immediately. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and visiting with you.
Lynn Derby
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Resort

Address: 2720 Chapel Lane, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Lake Resort is located on the west shore of Canyon Lake in Rapid City, South Dakota. Nestled in the foothills of the Black Hills, Canyon Lake Resort offers a restful and peaceful atmosphere. Join us at our locally owned, family-friendly lodge, motel and cabins. Accommodations range from motel rooms with 2 queen beds, single cabins, 2 bedroom cabins, 3 bedroom and our 5 bedroom lodge. Our lodging is available year round with all of the units equipped with some type of cooking capability, with microwaves and/or stoves and refrigerators. Our beautiful resort is the perfect location for any family milestone or gathering, including reunions, family vacations, weddings and more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Hotel Rapid City
Canyon Lake Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.