We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyon Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Canyon Lake Resort to your Saves list
Canyon Lake Resort
2720 Chapel Lane, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Wessington, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I have stayed in both the motel rooms and the cabins. Clean, and very comfortable. The management and staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    18
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
43
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carter Lake, IA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here several times over the last ten years. ALWAYS have a wonderful time. We have stayed in the motel section but mostly at the large cabin next to the laundry facility. It is like our little 'home away from home'--we just love it! They have always been VERY accommodating and kind to us. We look forward to taking a trip there soon.

Room Tip: Get the large cabin if you can--very homey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Having spent a number of years in the hotel business I am very, very picky about who gets a glowing review. A dedication to service goes a long way with me and the folks at Canyon Lakes have hit the nail on the head. I've stayed at four- and five-star hotels that didn't have the attention to detail that Canyon Lakes Resort does

Our party was greeted on a hot day with cold water and smiling faces. We were given our cabin assignments promptly which was much appreciated because a storm was clearly rolling in.

Our cabin wasn't fancy but it was clean and everything was in good working order. There were two bags of ice waiting in the freezer - another nice touch. We unpacked the motorcycles quickly to beat the storm which was producing decent sized hail at this point. We were contemplating whether or not the bikes would fit under the small awning when two young men showed up with armloads of old comforters to protect the bikes. We were pretty sure we were on another planet at this point.

Every night someone starts the bonfire in the fire pit and once the staff sees guests mingling nearby, they show up with a plastic box marked "Smore Survival Kit". Not kidding.

The grounds are beautiful and peaceful with a large colony of nearly tame geese and ducks. I just can't say enough good things about Canyon Lakes Resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Fairly nice accommodations. It was great, I'd go back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plankinton, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

When we got there, we were greeted with a smile. The lady at the desk was kind, helpful and courteous. She even brought over the stuff to make smores at our fire pit. Then when we were back in our room and needed some ice, she gave us free ice. Then there is the view of trees, a lake, paddle boats, ducks, geese, walk areas, trails, quietness and etc. We had the best time ever and truely loved it there.

Room Tip: Call back if your room is to big to see about getting a smaller one. Very accomodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The large cabin was great for our Family Reunion. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful anytime we asked, even late at night when we couldn't get the wireless internet to work. The scenery was relaxing. Overall, great place!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We booked the Cattail Lodge and several hotel rooms for 28 individuals including 8 grandchildren from 10 to 2 years of age for Labor Day weekend. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, and the rooms were clean. The lodge was our central gathering place which worked incredibly well because of the space for eating and visiting and the space between the lodge and the lake where kids could play ball and other activitites. With the view of the lake, the fee paddle boats, and privacy of the whole location, it felt like we were out of town but with it being in the city limits of Rapid City, it was easy to go get any supplies we didn't have. Everyone commented on how this location was better than any of the others we used previously so we plan to make arrangements to meet there again sometime next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyon Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Lake Resort

Address: 2720 Chapel Lane, Rapid City, SD 57702 (Formerly Lake Park Resort Motel)
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Canyon Lake Resort is located on the west shore of Canyon Lake in Rapid City, South Dakota. Nestled in the foothills of the Black Hills, Canyon Lake Resort offers a restful and peaceful atmosphere. Join us at our locally owned, family-friendly lodge, motel and cabins. Accommodations range from motel rooms with 2 queen beds, single cabins, 2 bedroom cabins, 3 bedroom and our 5 bedroom lodge. Our lodging is available year round with all of the units equipped with some type of cooking capability, with microwaves and/or stoves and refrigerators. Our beautiful resort is the perfect location for any family milestone or gathering, including reunions, family vacations, weddings and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Canyon Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Lake Hotel Rapid City
Canyon Lake Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyon Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.