We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sky Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Big Sky Lodge to your Saves list
Big Sky Lodge
4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Location is ok and price is friendly but the best of all is an amazing panoramic view at night and in the early morning especially when the sun is rising!! It was spectacular! And this lodge is on the way to mount Rushmoor and other great activities, I just loved it!
And the staff person or the owner were very nice too! We didnt have any reservations and we came in after hours but we called them and we were cheched in!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    101
    32
    11
    2
See reviews for
134
156
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I believe this motel has the #3 rating in Rapid City because of its location out of the city and away from the chain motels on the interstate. The price is also right for the budget-minded traveler and the view is very good, especially if you like a panoramic sunrise.

On the downside, the wall-mounted heater sounds like an airplane and never shuts off - you are either roasting or freezing. If you don't need it or don't care, it's an OK place. Also the hot water ran out halfway through filling the tub, but it was OK for a quick shower the next morning.

While I prefer to stay downtown for $20 more, I would stay here over any of the chain motels located on the north side of town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side if you want the sunrise. Ask for the west side if you want to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very affordable rate during low season. Very clean. Bed/pillows comfortable. Refrigerator/microwave available in room. Nice view on east side. Convenient location to Rapid City and restaurants. Jay, Alicia, and Elaine were very helpful. Great tips on where to eat/hike, etc. Would definitely stay here again. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Choose east side of lodge for great view of city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We chose this motel based on the excellent reviews here on Trip Advisor and because the words "clean" and "very clean" appear in nearly all reviews. I have to admit I was skeptical because of the low rate (we traveled in early November, 2012, and the rate seemed low, even for off season), but Big Sky Lodge exceeded my expectations. Granted, it looks like a 1950's motel and the rooms are dated, but I knew this place was not your ordinary budget motel when I walked into the room and saw the homey, colorful, hand-stitched quilt on the bed.

Liked the location on the hilltop, away from the main highway, so was quiet at night. Spectacular view of the Rapid City lights at night and sunrise in the morning (we were there the weekend the time changed, but the sunrise would be worth experiencing even without the extra hour of sleep). Also liked that our car was parked right outside our door.

Great service, too. The light outside our door was out, and Jay (the owner) was there immediately to fix it. Security latch didn't work....fixed. Refrigerator not cooling.....replaced the next day while we were out exploring. Requested more coffee packs for the morning.....delivered in 5 minutes.

Two caveats. We didn't realize that breakfast is not included in the off season, but I can't really complain about that because of the low rate. And there are numerous breakfast options just a short ride away. Don't know if it is true of the shower heads in all the rooms, but in our two rooms, they were positioned very low, and I don't think they could be adjusted. Not a problem for a short person like me, but my son said it was a bit awkward for him. Just a minor inconvenience, given that the water was hot and the pressure was fine.

Can't end this review without confirming what other reviewers have said....this place is CLEAN, comfortable, and ideally located for visiting Mt. Rushmore and exploring the Black Hills. Would highly recommend Big Sky Lodge as a great budget option (keep in mind that it's not the Hilton, but you're not paying Hilton prices) and would stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The room? Very clean. The price? Unbelievable rate I got during the low peak season. The bed is comfy and pillows are of the right firmness and softness. Awesome stay through and through. I will return if I ever visit Mount Rushmore again.

The bathroom is great, hot water, adequate room. Except that the bathroom door was a bit wonky and couldn't lock but that shouldn't bother most people who don't normally check into one hotel room with a stranger.

The service is adequate. Free wifi. Great view from a hill top that overlooks a twinkling Rapid City at night. Very pretty.

Microwave, coffee maker, fridge, and closet are provided.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very clean , professional staff and owners. Great view on east side. Nice hot tub and picnic area. Guest laundry , maps and travel information in the office . Comfortable beds and pillows. Refer, micro, and coffee maker in each room . Park at your door . Close to town , restaurants and attractions ie . Mount Rushmore , Wind Cave , Jewel Cave , Devils Tower and more . My friends and I really liked this place and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The owners Jay and Alicia, were extremely hospitable....This place was everything that we were hoping for and more.....
I swear....This place is a gem....!
Our whole week at big sky lodge was nothing short of perfect.
Each morning the breakfast with the hostess Elaine was very nice.
The views of the area from the grounds is awsome.
I could go on and on about this place.....
Do yourself a favor and Stay here when in the area. You will be glad you did......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Big Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Lodge

Address: 4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Rapid City
#3 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#17 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Big Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Hotel Rapid City
Big Sky Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sky Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.