We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““The perfect place to stay in Rapid City "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Sky Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Big Sky Lodge to your Saves list
Big Sky Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Collierville, Tennessee
1 review
““The perfect place to stay in Rapid City "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The owners Jay and Alicia, were extremely hospitable....This place was everything that we were hoping for and more.....
I swear....This place is a gem....!
Our whole week at big sky lodge was nothing short of perfect.
Each morning the breakfast with the hostess Elaine was very nice.
The views of the area from the grounds is awsome.
I could go on and on about this place.....
Do yourself a favor and Stay here when in the area. You will be glad you did......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    121
    39
    12
    2
See reviews for
157
179
24
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Concord, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Big Sky Lodge is a hidden gem in Rapid City.

I went on-line to find a motel in the Mount Rushmore area and found excellent reviews for this low price, family owned (Jay & Alicia Culbertson) motel.

When I tried to book the Big Sky Lodge for three days in November 2012, the booking site (not sure if it was Hotel.com or a similar site) said that there were no rooms available for my selected dates. I decided to call the Big Sky Lodge, Jay the owner said he had rooms available. When I checked in, I was one of three or four people staying here in the off-season.

My room is not deluxe, but is very clean with two queen size beds, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, free internet service, a CRT television, and very nice people (not in my room). They have free breakfast during the normal season, but not during the off season. A small price to pay for this $40 per night gem.

I am glad that I called, rather than just booking another motel on the internet.

Room Tip: I stayed on the east side (view side), either side is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnes
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This place is great. Nice clean rooms. Nate at the desk was very friendly. Beautiful views of the city from this Motel. One of the nicest budget Motels I have seen. Price was very reasonable. I will stay here vereytime I am in Rapid City area.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the Motel. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Big Sky Lodge for four nights in October. The motel was spotlessly clean and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The motel sits high on a hill with an outstanding view of Rapid City. The high speed Internet was fast and connected easily. There is so much to do in the Rapid City area, I would definitely recommend a trip there!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I booked this hotel based on reviews from other Trip Advisor members and was happy I did! Our room was small but clean and I felt totally comfortable and safe. The location was perfect as we went sight-seeing every day. The breakfast was good - bagels, donuts, sweet rolls, english muffins, juice, coffee and some fruit. It was weird getting ice for our room out of the main freezer in the office but that was a minor thing. The young lady working the breakfast room was a kick - she was very friendly and made suggestions for where to go and what to see in the area. She was surprised that we had already done some of them the day of our arrival (Spearfish Canyon, Spearfish Falls, Roughlock Falls). The property has a beautiful view of Rapid City. I took a walk one morning and saw beautiful homes in the area. We enjoyed a beautiful sunrise the day we left. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWTON
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Picked this motel from the reviews I read on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The view from the location on top of a big hill is lovely both night and day. We stayed during off season and the breakfast was not available but plenty of great restaurants down the hill a short drive. Peaceful and quiet. Only two other guests. Staff very nice and helpful. It's not fancy but clean and homey. Will definitely stay here if go back to Rapid City.

Room Tip: The back rooms have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Most motels near Mt. Rushmore are very expensive so the Big Sky was a wonderful find. The rooms are old and small but very clean and the beds comfortable. We arrived after dark and left early the next morning but the place does have a spectacular view and if you are staying a few days enjoy the hot tub, grill and picnic tables. The breakfast was very good and the staff friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If arriving after dark the place can be difficult to find plus the maps we had were not very helpful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
5.9 mi away
Cambria Suites Rapid City
Cambria Suites Rapid City
#2 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
5.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
5.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn I-90
Comfort Inn I-90
#10 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
3.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
#8 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
6.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Sky Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Sky Lodge

Address: 4080 Tower Rd, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#7 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Sky Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Big Sky Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sky Hotel Rapid City
Big Sky Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Sky Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.