We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #22 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hibbing, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Okay hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I booked five nights at this hotel in June based on the good Trip Advisor reviews. It was an okay stay other than some confusion about moving our luggage from a temporary room on the first night to the room we would have for the next four nights. Per the instruction of the lady at the front desk when I checked in, I left our luggage in our room to be transferred to the new room, but when we returned to the hotel at 3 pm after hiking all morning, we discovered that housekeeping was not informed that they were to move our luggage, and the gentleman at the front desk was quite rude and arguementative. Once they determined what our new room number was, they had me move my luggage myself (even though someone pocketed the tip I had left on the suitcase).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Wheaties59,

We truly appreciate your feedback and taking the time to point out our shortcomings. I apologize for the confusion and lack of follow through by our staff regarding your luggage. As for the rudeness of the gentleman at the front desk, that is completely unacceptable and I believe we have taken the steps to permanently resolve that situation.

Again, I apologize for the less than exceptional experience you experienced while here and hope you will give us another try if your travels return you to the area.

Sincerely,

Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    45
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
44
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This hotel is right off the interstate and convenient to so many restaurants and attractions in the area. Room was quiet. Breakfast was adequate and the staff did a good job keeping plenty of food items available even with so many tour bus patrons staying there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Sandra S,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Your honest feedback is very helpful to future guests.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakemoor, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for ten days while visiting the Black Hills, and we both enjoyed our stay very much! The staff and management is friendly, and are also very accommodating. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again when we return to the Black Hills next year! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Dustin S,

We appreciate your feedback and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Black Hills.

We look forward to seeing you next year.

Happy Honeymoon,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The area has expensive lodging because of Mount Rushmore (I'd presume) and this was expensive, but more economical than most. It's fairly well-maintained and the people at the front are very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't say there's anything luxurious, but it's clean and more than sufficient which is all it pretends to be. The continental breakfast is pretty good. It is dog-friendly, but for an additional $8/day if I remember right. You're about 30-40 minutes from Mt. Rushmore and within 5-10 minutes of a vibrant downtown Rapid City. The internet connection wasn't very good, if you're depending on that to do a lot of work you will have trouble. But overall, I enjoyed the hotel and the area and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Nupester,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you stated we don't pretend to be a luxury brand, after all we have "Value" right in our name. Rapid City and the Black Hills are a very popular tourist destination during the summer months and the increased demand tends to drive prices up. We try to maintain an affordable rate but still provide you with the value and customer service that you deserve.

I appreciate you bringing the Wi-Fi issue to my attention and have already moved to correct the problem.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is close to the highway, it has some restaurant around.
The area and the parking lot is safe
Staff is friendly
Rooms are small and relatively clean ( the carpet had a big stain .......)
The mattress is not the most comfortable....... But the beddings were clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Doloka,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the stain in the carpet. We are in the slow process of updating the flooring in many of our rooms. We have moved that room to the top of the priority list.

Thank you for the feedback.

Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Pleasant and value for money stay. If you're expecting an amazing hotel, then this is not the place for you; it's what you'd expect from small town USA. Service was good and breakfast was ok, had a decent selection. Overall good value for money.
Beware of room keys not working of you don't keep them in the pouch as they can be wiped by other credit cards and phones etc.
it's about a 15min drive from the airport and was fairly easy, despite this being the first time driving in USA. A gas station is net door.

Mount Rushmore is about a 25min easy drive from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear SarahU81,

Welcome to the U.S. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly hope you enjoy your entire visit to the United States.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The area for this time of the year is expensive! It's a lot of money for the value you get but it was a good deal for Rapid I suppose. The room was clean and good enough for a nights stay. Outdoor pool & hot tub was closed due to stormy weather but they looked nice had it been open.
The fridge and microwave were an added plus to the room. We would stay again if back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Aaron E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with fellow travelers.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.