We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Jupiter, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Decent Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The area has expensive lodging because of Mount Rushmore (I'd presume) and this was expensive, but more economical than most. It's fairly well-maintained and the people at the front are very friendly and helpful. I wouldn't say there's anything luxurious, but it's clean and more than sufficient which is all it pretends to be. The continental breakfast is pretty good. It is dog-friendly, but for an additional $8/day if I remember right. You're about 30-40 minutes from Mt. Rushmore and within 5-10 minutes of a vibrant downtown Rapid City. The internet connection wasn't very good, if you're depending on that to do a lot of work you will have trouble. But overall, I enjoyed the hotel and the area and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Nupester,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. As you stated we don't pretend to be a luxury brand, after all we have "Value" right in our name. Rapid City and the Black Hills are a very popular tourist destination during the summer months and the increased demand tends to drive prices up. We try to maintain an affordable rate but still provide you with the value and customer service that you deserve.

I appreciate you bringing the Wi-Fi issue to my attention and have already moved to correct the problem.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    44
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
44
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The hotel is close to the highway, it has some restaurant around.
The area and the parking lot is safe
Staff is friendly
Rooms are small and relatively clean ( the carpet had a big stain .......)
The mattress is not the most comfortable....... But the beddings were clean.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Doloka,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the stain in the carpet. We are in the slow process of updating the flooring in many of our rooms. We have moved that room to the top of the priority list.

Thank you for the feedback.

Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Pleasant and value for money stay. If you're expecting an amazing hotel, then this is not the place for you; it's what you'd expect from small town USA. Service was good and breakfast was ok, had a decent selection. Overall good value for money.
Beware of room keys not working of you don't keep them in the pouch as they can be wiped by other credit cards and phones etc.
it's about a 15min drive from the airport and was fairly easy, despite this being the first time driving in USA. A gas station is net door.

Mount Rushmore is about a 25min easy drive from the hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear SarahU81,

Welcome to the U.S. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and truly hope you enjoy your entire visit to the United States.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The area for this time of the year is expensive! It's a lot of money for the value you get but it was a good deal for Rapid I suppose. The room was clean and good enough for a nights stay. Outdoor pool & hot tub was closed due to stormy weather but they looked nice had it been open.
The fridge and microwave were an added plus to the room. We would stay again if back in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Aaron E,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experience with fellow travelers.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived to discover one of our rooms had been given to another party. Four people ended up with one queen and two rollaways (which meant wall-to-wall beds) for two of our five nights - which meant an inconvenient mid- week move. The desk staff was not very helpful and certainly didn't care. The rollaways were our idea, not theirs. We were seriously annoyed as we had made these reservations six months ago. The wi-fi is so terrible we couldn't use it for more than fifteen minutes without being logged off the system. If you want to use anything other than your room, it requires a trip to the desk for a separate key - laundry, fitness room. The bathroom counter space is inadequate for more than one person, don't plan on being able to get multiple people out the door quickly. It's close to I-90, but so are other hotels. Stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: If you are unwise enough to stay here, request a room away from the smoking section. The staff tends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear T S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I really appreciate your feedback and sincerely apologize that your stay with us wasn't an extraordinary one.

After talking to my staff I can only apologize again and completely own this mistake. We screwed up and there is no excuse for that. The fact that the staff didn't seem to care is also inexcusable. I know we gave you a discount, but I understand that at that point the damage was done and there was very little we could do to make things right with you and your family.

If you ever find yourself in the area again, we would like the opportunity to make things right with you. Please call the hotel directly and ask to speak with Reeva, our general manager and we will do whatever we can to make things right with you.

Sincerely,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We were traveling with a pet. They have pet friendly rooms. The room was clean when we arrived and cleaned everyday. The towels were changed wether or not they were on the floor which was nice. The bathroom is smaller than average. The fixtures are newer there is a flat panel tv and fridge and microwave in each room. The employees were friendly and helpful. Overall it was a great stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear AdventurousAngieH,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We truly appreciate you sharing your opinions with other travelers.

Sincerely,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Check-in was fine. We found our room a little on the small side, especially the bathroom. The rooms could use updating. We kept the fan on all night to drown out the I90 noise. The pool looked nice but we didn't use it as it was raining & cold out. Breakfast was ample.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear penguinlady59,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry the rooms were not to your high standards. We are in the process of remodeling. Please check back with TripAdvisor for updated pictures as the remodel progresses.

Thanks You
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.