We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
“Restful, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

When I got stuck in Rapid City during one of the Black Hills crazy winter weather, I was fortunate to find Americas Best Value Inn had a room available and ready for me. You won't find friendlier staff! The room was clean and modern with all the qualities needed for a restful night sleep. Best of all was the price! I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Jessica F,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I will pass your kind words on to our staff. They do try hard, and it's good to know people still appreciate it. We hope you'll come visit us again when weather is a little nicer.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog

P.S.
Reeva says "Go Big Red!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    44
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
44
13
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I really love this hotel for the price. It's by no means a luxury hotel, but it's clean, comfortable and a very handy location right off the interstate and close to several good restaurants. but the biggest reason I like this hotel is the staff. They are extremely friendly and know my name when I walk in the door and always accomodate my special requests, such as an extra pillow, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Rick O.

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We find that just because we are not a "5 Star" hotel doesn't mean we can't provide 5 Star service. I will pass your kind words on to our staff. It is great to know that their efforts don't go unnoticed.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, WY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here one night of the three nights I was in the area and I must say next time I will stay here before I stay at the other place I stayed the last two nights in Rapid City. Internet was good speed and overall room was comfortable, I will say the mattress was to soft but that is just personal preference. If you are traveling and want a clean room for a good price be sure to take a look here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Spookemook,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Next time you visit our hotel please let us know that you would prefer a firmer mattress and we will try to do whatever we can to meet your needs.

Safe Travels,
Eric Seljekog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliance, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our family has stayed here for the past 4 years during the Black Hills Stock Show and Rodeo. We LOVE it!! The staff is very friendly and helpful. We love the breakfast choices they offer. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. Best of all it is very reasonably priced!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi Alicia L,

Thank you for staying with us. We strive to make every guest experience a special one. Your feedback and recommendations help us keep costs low and your stay affordable.

We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future. If there is ever anything we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable, please don't hesitate to ask.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently for a basketball tournament in Rapid City. The staff were pleasant and treated us very well. The room was pleasant, the beds were comfortable and their breakfast choices were wonderful. The only negative is that during the winter there isn't access to a pool due to the hotel only having an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Shannon J,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Best Motel in the country. Staff is Excellent, Breadfast is fabulous, rooms are wonderful, Host is very very helpful. This is a motel you won't forget. Very easy to get to off I-90 and a straight shot to downtown Rapid City. Resturants adjacent to motel.

Your home away from home !

Room Tip: You owe yourself the pleasures of this Motel and its Staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Tom,

Thanks for taking time review our hotel. Your reviews and recommendations help us keep costs down. Thanks again, and we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, Nebraska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

1/27/13 Just got home for staying to nights. First we go into the room and there is hair in the tub. First night the people across the hall partied noisy until after 2 a.m. next night same thing. I discussed calling the office with my husband, but were afraid they would use our room number when they confronted the party. When checking out told the front desk of the situation. The night guard was there also he claimed he did checks throughout the night. Poorest night checks I've heard of this went on for hours each night. Desk clerk wouldn't do anything about it more or less claimed I was lying to get a discount. You are close the interstate and can hear traffic all the time. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear 539vickie539,

I'm sorry you don't feel that we did everything to meet your needs. Both security and the night clerk do regular checks of the building all night every night. We take all comments very seriously and all complaints are dealt with immediately and anonymously when they are brought to our attention. Unfortunately we can’t offer you a complete refund when you wait two days to tell us there is a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.