We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Philip, South Dakota, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently for a basketball tournament in Rapid City. The staff were pleasant and treated us very well. The room was pleasant, the beds were comfortable and their breakfast choices were wonderful. The only negative is that during the winter there isn't access to a pool due to the hotel only having an outdoor pool.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Hello Shannon J,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    31
    15
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
35
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Best Motel in the country. Staff is Excellent, Breadfast is fabulous, rooms are wonderful, Host is very very helpful. This is a motel you won't forget. Very easy to get to off I-90 and a straight shot to downtown Rapid City. Resturants adjacent to motel.

Your home away from home !

Room Tip: You owe yourself the pleasures of this Motel and its Staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Tom,

Thanks for taking time review our hotel. Your reviews and recommendations help us keep costs down. Thanks again, and we hope to see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atkinson, Nebraska
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

1/27/13 Just got home for staying to nights. First we go into the room and there is hair in the tub. First night the people across the hall partied noisy until after 2 a.m. next night same thing. I discussed calling the office with my husband, but were afraid they would use our room number when they confronted the party. When checking out told the front desk of the situation. The night guard was there also he claimed he did checks throughout the night. Poorest night checks I've heard of this went on for hours each night. Desk clerk wouldn't do anything about it more or less claimed I was lying to get a discount. You are close the interstate and can hear traffic all the time. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear 539vickie539,

I'm sorry you don't feel that we did everything to meet your needs. Both security and the night clerk do regular checks of the building all night every night. We take all comments very seriously and all complaints are dealt with immediately and anonymously when they are brought to our attention. Unfortunately we can’t offer you a complete refund when you wait two days to tell us there is a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were traveling through this area November 2012, when we started having truck problems and ended up having to put our truck in the shop for the night. The truck personal said they would take us to the Americas Best Value Inn which they recommended. We were a little leery at first not knowing anything about this what seemed to be a small motel but once we checked in and went into our room( #121) we were amazed. It was so nice and clean. Actually to us it was simple but beautiful. The king sized bed was comfortable, the bathroom vanity was spotless and beautiful and so was the bathroom. We loved it. Also, the breakfast was nice with a great variety of foods to choose from hot or cold. And last when we checked out, the clerk was very pleasant. As a matter of fact, everyone there was so nice and we were also pleased with the price. We will stay again and have already recommended this motel to our friends and family. Thank you, Denise G.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Denise G,

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to review our property. We pride ourselves in running a clean, friendly affordable hotel. Your review and your recommendations really help us keep our costs down and our hotel affordable.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here mid August 2012. The inn was great - not too far out of town and eateries and stores close by. The rooms and public areas were kept clean and smart - decoration was good. Breakfast was great - plenty of choice and served through to a reasonable time.Front desk lady was very helpful. All in all a great stay at a good rate. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to rate our hotel. We truly appreciate your kind words and hope you will come back and visit us again sometime.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed in many, many hotels. Most were very good but we have never been so impressed as to write a review. Of course the hotel is clean and comfortable with wonderful mattresses. The staff was friendly and concerned for our wellbeing. When we got home and realized we had left an expensive sweater behind, the staff found it and a pillow we had forgotten about and are shipping them to us. For the first time, our 'left behinds' were actually still there and it was quite a few days before we called. A great four days in South Dakota.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We strive to make each stay as pleasant, comfortable and affordable as possible. Your taking the time to rate and review our hotel helps make that goal possible. Word of mouth is the most reliable and affordable form of marketing. So, again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Do not waste time or money,
The perfect place here.I stay 6 nights here.

The price is the best
Front Desk:Perfect, professional and friendly
Breakfast: Excellent
Rooms: Clean as new.
Staffs of the breakfast room: They work endlessly keeping everything clean and full.
Laundry: Works with new machines
Room gymnastics; Wonderful
Staff of maintenance: Flawless
Internet: Very Very fast
Location: Perfect alongside the roads to tourist sites
with great restaurants that you go walking.

Cons; Unfortunately I had to leave, but will return for sure.

Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. Your kind words give us pride and help us keep our hotel clean, comfortable and affordable. I'm not sure what "room gymnastics" are, but I'm glad you enjoyed it :-). We look forward to serving your needs in the future.

Sincerely,
Eric S.
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Despegar.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.