We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable overnight stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Panama City, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable overnight stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were traveling through this area November 2012, when we started having truck problems and ended up having to put our truck in the shop for the night. The truck personal said they would take us to the Americas Best Value Inn which they recommended. We were a little leery at first not knowing anything about this what seemed to be a small motel but once we checked in and went into our room( #121) we were amazed. It was so nice and clean. Actually to us it was simple but beautiful. The king sized bed was comfortable, the bathroom vanity was spotless and beautiful and so was the bathroom. We loved it. Also, the breakfast was nice with a great variety of foods to choose from hot or cold. And last when we checked out, the clerk was very pleasant. As a matter of fact, everyone there was so nice and we were also pleased with the price. We will stay again and have already recommended this motel to our friends and family. Thank you, Denise G.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Denise G,

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to review our property. We pride ourselves in running a clean, friendly affordable hotel. Your review and your recommendations really help us keep our costs down and our hotel affordable.

We look forward to seeing you and your friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    44
    21
    4
    4
See reviews for
43
44
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here mid August 2012. The inn was great - not too far out of town and eateries and stores close by. The rooms and public areas were kept clean and smart - decoration was good. Breakfast was great - plenty of choice and served through to a reasonable time.Front desk lady was very helpful. All in all a great stay at a good rate. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time to rate our hotel. We truly appreciate your kind words and hope you will come back and visit us again sometime.

Thank You,
Eric Seljeskog
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have stayed in many, many hotels. Most were very good but we have never been so impressed as to write a review. Of course the hotel is clean and comfortable with wonderful mattresses. The staff was friendly and concerned for our wellbeing. When we got home and realized we had left an expensive sweater behind, the staff found it and a pillow we had forgotten about and are shipping them to us. For the first time, our 'left behinds' were actually still there and it was quite a few days before we called. A great four days in South Dakota.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We strive to make each stay as pleasant, comfortable and affordable as possible. Your taking the time to rate and review our hotel helps make that goal possible. Word of mouth is the most reliable and affordable form of marketing. So, again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Do not waste time or money,
The perfect place here.I stay 6 nights here.

The price is the best
Front Desk:Perfect, professional and friendly
Breakfast: Excellent
Rooms: Clean as new.
Staffs of the breakfast room: They work endlessly keeping everything clean and full.
Laundry: Works with new machines
Room gymnastics; Wonderful
Staff of maintenance: Flawless
Internet: Very Very fast
Location: Perfect alongside the roads to tourist sites
with great restaurants that you go walking.

Cons; Unfortunately I had to leave, but will return for sure.

Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. Your kind words give us pride and help us keep our hotel clean, comfortable and affordable. I'm not sure what "room gymnastics" are, but I'm glad you enjoyed it :-). We look forward to serving your needs in the future.

Sincerely,
Eric S.
Owner/Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veendam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We ended up in a hotel in Rapid City by accident, because of a rental car problem, but we could not have found a better place. Friendly atmosphere, extremely helpfull staff, very flexible when they learned of our problems.

Great room, very clean.

The breakfast, included in the room price, was beyond excellent.

Our next stay here wll not be accidental, but quite on purpose!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Gerrit P,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am sorry we had to meet under such unfortunate circumstances. But we do look forward to serving you again in a far more pleasant situation.

Remember, when life gives you lemons... Stop by, we'll help you make lemonade :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed there on Sept 17th. To do some sightseeing. It was such a nice stay, we stayed the 18th too instead of moving on. The room were clean, very comfortable. Quiet, the continental breakfast was one of the best We had ever had. More selections and 2 very polite women keeping everything stocked.
We plan on making the trip again to see family and trust us, we will be staying there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

What we liked most of all was the reasonable price.
2nd best thing was that it was relatively quiet. Even though we had a room facing the interstate.
the windows were new and the traffic noise was low. We also heard next to nothing from other parts of the hotel. quiet is a rare commodity even in much fancier hotels.
We had originally booked at the HI Express and cancelled because of the noise complaints posted on TA, plus the ABVI was $50 a night cheaper

the room was ok. the bed comfy and we appreciated having a fridge microwave in the room.
Flat screen tv with good selection of channels.

The breakfast was ok. There were two hot choices. make your own hot waffles and the sausage gravy with biscuits. the rest was standard fair: fruit,cereal, juice, coffee.

Now for the not so likeables.
There was no closet per say, just a rickety upright freestanding wardrobe.
The decor on one of the walls was a little odd, Purplish colored painted stucco. (1980's style) We had a first floor room overlooking the front parking and interstate. the windows had basic window locks on them and there were cars parked 6 feet away. granted it would involve crawling through the hedges but still discomforting. plus there was no safe in the room. But there was no mention of any crime issues from other reviews, so we let it go
the sink was immediately aside the entry door when you enter the room. it is also directly outside the bathroom door and the door swung out which meant any one standing at the sink had to get out of the way for another to get into the bathroom. Most hotels have a bathroom door that swings in.

Room Tip: Neighborhood and directional stuff: Mt Rushmore is 30 minutes via Hwy 16 The airport is 20-30 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric S, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear atlbeme,

I really appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel. Your kind words not only help us keep costs down, but they are a real benefit for fellow travelers to Rapid City and the Black Hills. Probably the number one comment we see is about the noise (or lack there of). I assume that is because most people see the highway so close and figure it's going to be noisy, but the building is all concrete and brick and was really built right.

It's funny you should mention the decor. There are only a couple of rooms with that (or similar) paint. When we took over this hotel back in December, the first thing my wife said to me was 'we need to paint and re-carpet those three rooms'. Well, now that the busy season is over, that's one of the first things on the to-do list. We'll also be looking at replacing some of the older dressers and armoires. I hadn't considered the swing of the bathroom door before. Thanks for the comment, and I'll look into that too.

As for security: we have safe deposit boxes located at the front desk available for no additional charge (someone should have mentioned that at check-in - I'll have talk with the front desk staff about that). For some reason people like to be able to lock the windows open a little bit, hence the adjustable thumb screw locks. And finally, we have 24 hour security patrols. So rest assured, security is a priority for us too.

Thanks again for your comments, and may all your travels be safe and happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 620 Howard St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Rapid City, located on the eastern slopes of the world famous Black Hills in western South Dakota. Our Rapid City hotel is close to a variety of scenic outdoor landscapes and attractions such as Journey Museum, Reptile Gardens, Haines Ave Casino, and Dinosaur Park. We are also near National American University, South Dakota State University, and Oglala Lakota College. Famous local attractions include Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse Mountain Memorial, Mammoth Site, Black Hills National Forest, and Spearfish Canyon. Taco John's, IHOP Restaurant, and Hardee's Restaurant are only a few of the restaurants located within half a mile of our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.