We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Rapid City on vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Fairmont Blvd, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Kansas City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Rapid City on vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

Our family of 4 including twin 14yr old girls extremely enjoyed our Mt Rushmore area vacation and the quality of our stay at this Comfort Inn (I can't vouch for the other C.I. in Rapid City) was part of that great vacation. The suite room was great, it was very clean (and we are picky), it was in a great location to start off from every morning, the breakfast was good, and the value for a "vacation destiny" city was very good. Also, Ruby Tuesday restaurant in next lot was great for a good meal to end the day. For anyone else making their 1st vacation to this area with family and teenagers, I will add this info: Before getting to RCity, the Badlands were an unbelievable sight to see (longer loop-drive than expected), Wall Drug was OK just to say you have been there, MT Rushmore & Crazy Horse were very interesting; the girls really loved Bear Country USA (although pricey), Reptile Gardens was OK, driving through the Black Hills just long enough to get to Blue Bell Lodge on outskirts of Custer Park was nice trip. The horse back riding we did at the Lodge was great! They treated us very well! Enjoy your vacation!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    65
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
86
58
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We visited this hotel for two nights on our way home. All Rapid City hotels are over-priced, but this one is way over-priced for what you get! Of all the hotels we stayed at during our trip, this was the most expensive, yet nothing made this one stand out. It apparently won the award for Comfort Inn of the Year a few years ago, but I don't know why.This is a nice hotel, but basic, nothing special. I was really expecting way more! We requested a fridge, but didn't get one. Our first room smelled like smoke, so I asked the housekeeper working down the hall to come in and see if she could smell it. Her response was, "I didn't clean it!" so I explained why I was asking her; I just wanted her opinion. I then called the front desk. What I didn't appreciate was we were told to bring everything back down to the front desk, so we had to haul all of our stuff back down to the lobby just to be handed a new set of keys and sent back up to a room two doors down. Why one of the clerks couldn't have just run the keys up to us, I don't know. Also, no one ever apologized for the inconvenience! The rooms seem a little small, but they are clean. The breakfast was fine. This hotel is just a basic stay that's way over-priced, but it is clean and easy to get to.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

I chose this hotel because it got an award for the hotel and I was disappointed. We arrived around midnight and the clerk informed me that she was about to give away our room. I already paid for the room yet she was going to give our room away.

Then I tried to get wifi guess what a big hotel like this had no wifi. They had Ethernet and the cord was so short that I would have to be stuck to a desk when I wanted to use my computer on my bed.

Breakfast area was large and it was very crowded both days. They only had one person replenhising food thus food choices were limited.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We had a great stay at this Comfort Inn. Very comfortable beds, clean rooms and a really great pool area. Very good breakfast & spacious breakfast area. Ruby Tuesdays in the parking lot delivered which was really handy as well. Definitely one of the nicest Comfort Inns we have stayed at.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaver dam, wi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

very clean, nice continenal breakfast and a attendent for breakfast bar, very quiet hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assiniboia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

By far the nicest Comfort Inn I've ever stayed at. Plus it is in probably the most convenient area if you are trying to access any of the area's major attractions (i.e. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Cosmos, Reptile Gardens, etc.). I would recommend this hotel to absolutely anyone!

  • Liked — Absolutely everything.
  • Disliked — There aren't more hotels like this one.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed here four nights and we found it to be a great place to stay. Very conveniently locatated to all of the Rapid City attractions. Very comfortable rooms and beds. Everything was kept clean and very organized. Free continental breakfast was very good. Nice pool and outdoor patio area and the hotel had plenty of parking. You will not find a nicer or more pleasant place to stay. Ruby Tuesday restraurant next doors had a fabulous salad bar and above average food.

  • Liked — Very clean and quiet
  • Disliked — Lots of clorine in the pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 915 Fairmont Blvd, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Rapid City
Comfort Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.