We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Comfort Inn in Rapid City...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Fairmont Blvd, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Antonio, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfy Comfort Inn in Rapid City...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2008

Flew in from San Antonio to visit my father and step-mother on a quick get-a-way sight seeing tour. I arrived on a Tuesday and departed Thursday evening. I asked for and received an early check-in. Overall, I would rate this an above average Comfort Inn & Suites establishment. The hotel is clean and the rooms are large with plenty of space. Clean beddings and clean bathrooms a big plus. (My father's room was a suite that was very clean and had extras; refridgerator, microwave and couch and chair with end table) You'll be greeted with smiley faces and be able to have your questions answered regarding the local community with no hassle at all. An indoor pool was available, but I did not wet my toes. Two free newspapers (USA Today and local Rapid City News) are available at the front desk every morning. The free breakfast was very enjoyable (including hot waffles and omlettes). A Ruby Tuesday's is located next door and within easy walking distance (about 1-minute). *I would recommend the bison burger with mushrooms and swiss cheese. I recently stayed at the Quality Inn (another Choice Hotel) near the interstate late last year in Rapid City and was extremely dissappointed with that stay. This is definately the hotel I will book for my return trip to Rapid City. The only negative I could come up with is that there are no fans in the bathrooms. Places I visited: Mount Rushmore National Memorial, Crazy Horse Memorial, city of Deadwood and a casino, Rapid City Mall, Mt. Rushmore Black Hills Gold jewelry making tour located next door to the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located on Mount Rushmore Drive, about 25 miles northeast of Mt. Rushmore. Cost: $67.49/night, two-night stay with taxes: $149.76

  • Liked — The hotel was clean and kept up. Linens and bathroom very clean.
  • Disliked — No bathroom fans.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    65
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
88
60
7
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2007

We stayed at the Comfort Suites for three nights in August. Overall the hotel was fine. We had several issues that were annoying but certainly wouldn't prevent us from staying there again - if we could stay on the third floor.
One - the internet in our room didn't work. This might seem trivial but we needed to log into work. Manager couldn't get his laptop to work either. They promised to have it fixed and later blamed our laptop.
Two - Also the people above us sounded like they were diving off the bed. We asked that someone have them stop and they told us they would be checking out the next day. The next group in was even louder. Ceilings are paper thin.
The room was clean and a nice size. Two queen size beds, a sitting room and a small fridge.
The pool area seemed to be brand new. Nice jacuzzi and sauna -both spotless.
Breakfast was fine if you liked waffles - only hot offering. Cold cereal, bread, etc. Ruby Tuesday in the parking lot was good for dinner after sightseeing all day - nice not having to get back in the car.
Sign in the lobby said "Voted best Customer Service for Comfort Suites in the country". Not bad but certainly not memorable.

  • Liked — Room was large and clean. nice pool
  • Disliked — Having to involve hotel staff in getting a problem fixed they weren't able to help with.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Car trip from Chicago to Boise w 2 children. Booked hotel based upon other reviewers and it lived up to its billing. This property was clean, efficient, and located on Hwy 16 direct to Mt Rushmore. With temperatures soaring in the 100s - the indoor pool was a big hit after a hot day of sightseeing. Breakfast was great with sufficient offerings for all. Stayed 2 nites based. Rooms had microwave and fridge. What more could you want? Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2007

This hotel has great reviews, and deserves them!

At check in the staff was extremely helpful. They encouraged us to leave our car in front while we got settled in. The staff even gave us a local map. We were on the third floor, but we had no problem getting there. The room was clean and comfortable, and spacious, too. The sink was outside the bathroom, so that gave us more space. The beds were firm to our liking, and there were no disturbing noises. Everything was wonderful, except when our keys stopped working and had to be reprogrammed. Also they have laundry machines, but can be a bit crowded in the evening.

The breakfast was wonderful, too. They had a great variety of foods, and even had waffle makers! It was all high quality and there was a nice combination of hot and cold items, like waffles, granola, cereal, etc. For dinner there is Ruby Tuesday on the lower part of the lot.

We would love to stay here again!

This hotel is actually on Rt. 16, and not all mapping services find the address correctly.

  • Liked — Great Breakfast!
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2007

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel in March.
Our experience was a good one.
The hotel and room were clean.
It was a good sized room w/ 2 queen beds, pillows were average, but the mattresses could be upgraded. Felt a little like being on a waterbed when your bedmate turned over.
The room also had a sofa sleeper, which we did not use. A decent sized kitchen area w/ fridge, microwave, and sink. Table with 2 chairs and an overstuffed chair near the beds.
No complaints in the bathroom other than there was no fan.
The elevator was indeed slow, and could possiby be an issue during high peak season.
The continental breakfast was fine, with a good selection.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, SD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

After considering several hotels during a state wrestling tournament, this is where we ended up and couldn't have been happier. Even thought the hotel was booked, all of our family (three rooms total) ended up next to each other. Additionally, the front staff knew which of our family was already there and informed us they had gone into town to run some errands. Talk about service.

The cookies were great after a long drive, the room was exceptionally clean and the breakfast was one of the best I've had at a hotel. The location to Ruby Tuesday was nice as no one was interested in traveling too far to eat after a long day at the arena.

My only complaint, and this is a very minor one, was the water in the pool was a little cool for my taste.

Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of entire property and service of the staff
  • Disliked — The pool was a little too cool
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

This is a very nice clean, which I'm very picky, and quiet motel. It has a decent size pool and a nice eating area. Also my husband liked the exercise room. We enjoyed the stay very much and would stay again.

  • Liked — It was quiet and clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 915 Fairmont Blvd, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#11 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Rapid City
Comfort Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.