We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rapid City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Rapid City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Rapp St., Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

I stayed at his Hampton Inn, with my wife and 9-year-old son, on our way through South Dakota, and after visiting the Mt. Rushmore area. I found this hotel to be clean, centrally located, and the staff friendly.

It features a nice (but small) indoor swimming pool, with a water slide. (Wireless internet access did not work by the pool. I usually like to bring my laptop to the pool while my son swims.)

The motel was quite busy, as our stay was a Saturday night in the tourist-popular Rapid City area, but it remained relatively quiet.

Numerous restaurants are located nearby.

I recommend this location, and would gladly stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, water slide
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    81
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
115
75
21
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We stayed at the Rapid Hampton from August 12th to August 17th, 2008. We had a 2 queen room for my hubby, myself, and two kids (6 and 4).

The room had a comfy lounge chair, a work desk, and small convenience console that held the microwave and refrigerator. The refrigerator was a little larger than "square dorm size" - the top hit to close to my knees - so it held leftovers, lots of water and sodas, with ease. Since we were here for 5 days, this was a nice bonus and money-saving feature.

For the beds, 5, they were extremely comfortable. We had just come from a 5 star hotel in Colorado Springs and this bed was just as comfy. Just the right hardness and softness (my hubby and I like one or the other, so the perfect mix made us pleased). We have stayed in many Hampton Inns over the years, including several in the last couple of months, and this was one of the best Hampton beds.

Breakfast was 3-4+ for "continental plus," depending on the day as it changed about 1/3 of the hot/bakery menu on a rotational basis, I think. I think our 5th morning was the same as our first, so maybe it fully rotates every 4 days?? The biscuits were VERY fresh and good 4 of 5 mornings. They had a fresh fruit mixture, assorted bagels, and cereals daily. And they almost always had de-caf, caff, and robust caf coffee fresh.

Internet connection was 3-4+ . Wireless stable mainly in the lobby, according to my hubby. Connected was very good except for one 4 hour period where it was totally down due to construction nearby the hotel. We were here 5 days, so overall, not bad at all.

Service was 4. Hubby had better response in the mornings ;). Cleaning staff was better than average.

Indoor Heated Pool was a huge hit - 4.5 rating. Warm, clean, large, not-too-crowded, and FUN! Slide was an extra bonus to my 4-yr-old son ;) Easy access and near the vending/ice machines/stairs, for those who want to watch/grab a drink while watching. ;) My father-in-law really liked the pool (and hotel) - he's lived in Rapid for a long while (15+ years) and was impressed with the hotel on the inside and it's ammenities.

Bathroom was a 3 - Generally very good and would have been a 4, but they needed a little grout on their tiles as 2-3 had loose grout along a whole strip that slightly angled-up on the step if you stepped onto them the right angle...easily fixable, but should be fixed before this winter, imho ;)

Carpet - very good condition

Noise - excellent insulation, excluding Friday night where we heard the floor above us for about 30-45 minutes around 10-11 pm. Otherwise, very little to NO noise outside the room.

Cleanliness - very good to excellent, but the one draw back is the grout in the tile in the bathroom - not a cleaning staff issue ;)

Location - Nearby several hotels, all looked clean/well-kept on the outside, across the highway within 1-2 block radius is OutBStkHse (very good! here), *the* major mall in Rapid, and Minervas - an upscale, top-rated restuarant in Rapid. Also close to Borders (with coffee shop), Targe*, BBuy, and a few other nice to have w/i 5 block radius places. *bucks, 3 of them, within 1/2-2 mile radius for the tourist who can wake up to good, robust coffee, but wants a cup on the go ;) Morning staff of Hampton gave hubby directions to closest 2 without destination point ;) said 3rd available, but we didn't need that one :)

happy travels,
Anjee

  • Liked — clean, friendly, and convenient
  • Disliked — internet and hotel overall size
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Hotel had a great staff, all were friendly. Room was OK but we backed onto some sort of noisy lane and near freeway. Ask for a room facing the front if you can. Pool was OK and had a waterslide, excercise room was pretty small.

Breakfast was okay overall but two days in a row the "hot breakfast" was sausage gravy and biscuits. Maybe if you are from the south this is breakfast but where I come from gravy is a side dish and a great way to start your day by clogging arteries. If this was a corporate Hampton Inn breakfast directive...shame on you Hilton!

I know it was peak summer season but I expected a bit more for almost $200 bucks a nite. Probably one of the better choices I could see looking around Rapid City though. The Country Inn down the street also looked nice and new.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — access and location (sort of a rougher area to the south)
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyser, WV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

The staff at this hotel were wonderful. We read reviews on Tripadvisor and most of them were correct. I am a Hilton HHonors member and usually stay at Hilton locations. This was an extended stay for vacaction and the staff became like family. Every morning Barbara was there in the dining room making sure everyone was taken care, seeing if anyone needed anything, or even taking your plates to the trash when you were done. The desk staff were helpful everyday with suggestions for what we had planned that day to sight see and offered the best routes to get there and little things along the way that we might enjoy. I would highly recommend staying here on your vacation or business travel to Rapid City!

  • Liked — Close to shopping for neccdessities
  • Disliked — small parking lot shared with another hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

We just stayed at the Hapton in Deadwood and were looking forward to a good stay at the Hampton in Rapid City...so what went wrong...the hottub was tepid at best and one of the jets was shooting cold water, the funiture was ripped in several places and we recently found 3 hairs in the bath-tub, the bed is lumpy and not nearly as comfortable as the one in Deadwood leading us to believe that not all chain hotels are owned and operated equally. I wouldn't advise staying here but if there's anywhere else in Rapid City that has an opening book with them!

  • Liked — room is spacious
  • Disliked — Finding hairs in the tub and the run down furniture
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2008

Hampton Inn is near I-90 so is easy on/off. Unfortunately, there is considerable road construction, so was difficult to get into. But, it held up to the Hampton Inn chain's usual high quality standards. Room was clean and neat. We had a nice, large room, which was great, as we had large luggage for our 2 1/2 week vacation. We stayed 3 nights. The room was always ready upon our return from the day's activities. Breakfast was ample, and my daughter LOVED the big slide in the pool.

  • Liked — large clean room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

stayed here for my visit to mount rushmore. it's about 30 min drive to mount rushmore which is ok. it has rushmore mall next to it, plenty of chain restaurants near it also. so 5-star for convinience. staffs are very friendly and helpful.

we have 3 ppl so we got a 2 queen room. room is in decent size, nice decor, beds are comfy. showers is a little weak though.

free hot breakfast! free wifi! can't beat that! if i go rapid city again i'd stay again for sure.

*note* i was planning to stay at the holiday inn in keystone coz it's closer to rushmore, but glad i didn't. since april is still considered low-season, nothing was opened in keystone, it's like a ghost town there.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Address: 1720 Rapp St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.