We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Rapid City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Rapp St., Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Ashland City, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean hotel. As a Hilton Honors member it's what I've come to expect from Hampton Inn. The night desk clerk even went to the kitchen and got my son a glass of milk to go along with the complimentary cookies that are on the desk each evening. She certainly went above the call of duty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    88
    40
    24
    15
See reviews for
131
79
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Staff was friendly and most helpful. I got in late and it was cold and rainy and staff gave me some snacks complimentary. Next day I had a meeting room that was terrific. The property is nice and well located near many restaurants and the I90 interstate. I ahve stay in a lot of Hampton Inns and they have been great. Love them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our room was awesome. It was our anniversary so we got a suite. Clean and very comfortable. Loved the fireplace and the whirlpool. The 2 seperate rooms with there own tvs. That was nice. We will be planning on staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a very nice property-- very easy parking, nice lobby, friendly staff, nice room, excellent breakfast.

When we arrived late at night for a week-long stay, we were met by a friendly front desk associate, who made us feel welcome, collected our credit card and other info, gave us the details on where we were, and bade us good night. We arrived upstairs and entered a large, comfortable room with a king-sized bed, couch, lots of room to move around-- a very large hotel room, nicely furnished with new furniture, nice smell and quiet. So far so good.

I get a call from the front desk-- "are you missing a bag?" Yep-- left my briefcase down in the lobby. Good catch, thanks! (Whew....)

The bed was comfortable, and having a king-sized bed made it easy for us both to spread out and sleep. My wife said it was a great bed-- I have cast-iron bones, but she's picky, so this was a good review from her. Oh-- and it was quiet at night. That's MY pet peeve-- good insulation in the walls and heavy doors to block sounds from the hallway.

Breakfast was great-- hot and cold choices, including eggs, sausage, french toast sticks, waffles, biscuits and gravy. No, not a four star hotel breakfast, but excellent choices and a large and comfortable breakfast area with plenty of seating so that families could spread out-- and we older folks could find a nice table as well.

The location is excellent, too-- with the other hotels and restaurants in Rapid City. The property is in a safe part of town, well lit, great parking and easy entrance and egress.

My wife said, "This was a good choice for a hotel." (From her, that's a RAVE review.)

Room Tip: Get the suite if you're going to stay for more than one night. It's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed one night before leaving for home. Great place and convenient to many stores. Clean and the staff was very nice. I loved the coffee and breakfast in the morning as early as 6am. My granddaugher loved the pool with the slide. Comfortable beds and large and spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We checked in at downtown Rapid City refurbished very old hotel. They made us feel like 2nd class citizens. We checked out and went to the Hampton for three days and could not have had a better experience. Everything worked properly, the staff was wonderful and we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just wish the beds were the more dreamy mattresses that I first experienced at the Hampton. Otherwise, the rest was all good. The fitness center was great and so was the Business Center. The cookies smelled fabulous and the complementary breakfast had a great selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.2 mi away
Cambria Suites Rapid City
Cambria Suites Rapid City
#1 of 52 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
Hilton Garden Inn Rapid City
#8 of 52 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 52 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Address: 1720 Rapp St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#16 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.