We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rapid City

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Rapid City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Rapp St., Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #17 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Ashland City, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great place to stay. Friendly staff, clean hotel. As a Hilton Honors member it's what I've come to expect from Hampton Inn. The night desk clerk even went to the kitchen and got my son a glass of milk to go along with the complimentary cookies that are on the desk each evening. She certainly went above the call of duty.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    71
    36
    17
    13
See reviews for
101
63
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Staff was friendly and most helpful. I got in late and it was cold and rainy and staff gave me some snacks complimentary. Next day I had a meeting room that was terrific. The property is nice and well located near many restaurants and the I90 interstate. I ahve stay in a lot of Hampton Inns and they have been great. Love them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our room was awesome. It was our anniversary so we got a suite. Clean and very comfortable. Loved the fireplace and the whirlpool. The 2 seperate rooms with there own tvs. That was nice. We will be planning on staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a very nice property-- very easy parking, nice lobby, friendly staff, nice room, excellent breakfast.

When we arrived late at night for a week-long stay, we were met by a friendly front desk associate, who made us feel welcome, collected our credit card and other info, gave us the details on where we were, and bade us good night. We arrived upstairs and entered a large, comfortable room with a king-sized bed, couch, lots of room to move around-- a very large hotel room, nicely furnished with new furniture, nice smell and quiet. So far so good.

I get a call from the front desk-- "are you missing a bag?" Yep-- left my briefcase down in the lobby. Good catch, thanks! (Whew....)

The bed was comfortable, and having a king-sized bed made it easy for us both to spread out and sleep. My wife said it was a great bed-- I have cast-iron bones, but she's picky, so this was a good review from her. Oh-- and it was quiet at night. That's MY pet peeve-- good insulation in the walls and heavy doors to block sounds from the hallway.

Breakfast was great-- hot and cold choices, including eggs, sausage, french toast sticks, waffles, biscuits and gravy. No, not a four star hotel breakfast, but excellent choices and a large and comfortable breakfast area with plenty of seating so that families could spread out-- and we older folks could find a nice table as well.

The location is excellent, too-- with the other hotels and restaurants in Rapid City. The property is in a safe part of town, well lit, great parking and easy entrance and egress.

My wife said, "This was a good choice for a hotel." (From her, that's a RAVE review.)

Room Tip: Get the suite if you're going to stay for more than one night. It's definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed one night before leaving for home. Great place and convenient to many stores. Clean and the staff was very nice. I loved the coffee and breakfast in the morning as early as 6am. My granddaugher loved the pool with the slide. Comfortable beds and large and spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We checked in at downtown Rapid City refurbished very old hotel. They made us feel like 2nd class citizens. We checked out and went to the Hampton for three days and could not have had a better experience. Everything worked properly, the staff was wonderful and we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Just wish the beds were the more dreamy mattresses that I first experienced at the Hampton. Otherwise, the rest was all good. The fitness center was great and so was the Business Center. The cookies smelled fabulous and the complementary breakfast had a great selection.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Address: 1720 Rapp St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#13 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.