We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Rapid City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Rapid City to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Rapp St., Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grinnell, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

stayed at this hotel for a full week while working in town had very good service clean rooms every night and the breakfast every morning was excellent and there are restaurants and lounges within walking distance would like to take my family there sometime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay at the Hampton. We are all very happy that you were pleased with your stay and look forward to hosting your family for a visit in the future. Thank you again and have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    81
    38
    20
    13
See reviews for
115
75
21
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

An excellent hotel, Hampton Inn is very clean, reliable with excellent service and amenities. We enjoyed our stay in Rapid City. We stay at Hampton Inn in various parts of the country and all have been very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for leaving your kind review about your recent stay. We all appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was very disappointed at this particular Hampton. Poor housekeeping and much less value than other Hampton Inn locations. Breakfast good. Small indoor water slide is nice, also has a large well- maintained hot tub. Save your money and stay at another hotel in Rapid City.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback about your recent stay. We apologize that you had housekeeping issues and we would have loved the opportunity to correct this issue while you were at the property so we could ensure you left happy and satisfied. Have a nice summer and thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This Hampton was perfect for our stop over to visit Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse, Deadwood, Lead etc. Everything was nice, neat, clean. The staff upon arrival was very nice and accommodating. Everything was good. OK now here is my downside.....this is a Hilton property....this is a very busy location for tourists...now this facility knows that they are in their peak tourist season and every morning this huge crowd of people are going to come into the dining area to be fed for breakfast. So why is it that there is only one young man trying to man the breakfast area alone? I wish that this property would go visit the Hampton property in bemidji, MN. Bemidji Hampton could show these other Hamptons how breakfast should be handled. So back to Rapid City Hampton... They have this poor young man, alone trying to clean up spilt milk, dumped over cereal, and refilling empty containers where bread, eggs, yogurt should be. Now not to mention that the families with children are not helpful at all. Many people should not have children period but is a whole different review and I would bet that many of the whiners and complainers on TripAdvisor are these same people who complain about a hair in the bathroom while their children are destroying the dining area. So Hampton - you advertise and promote yourselves to have wonderful family facilities, then gear up to have these large amounts of families and children so that your other guest can enjoy their visit as well

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and review of the Hampton Inn. Our property sure can be busy when we are full in the summer time, especially during breakfast! We do actually have 2 employees working the breakfast area (sometimes 3) 1 employee cooking in the kitchen and 1 employee stocking and cleaning the breakfast area. What you experienced was a morning RUSH. Our wonderful little children guests can make a morning breakfast area seem twice as busy but we love to see them enjoying their vacation and time with their family and that's what's important. Thanks so much again for your feedback, hope you have yourself a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our stay at the Hampton Inn was excellent. We had a poor experience for one night of our 3 night stay in Rapid City at another hotel. We can to the Hampton Inn and our time was greatly improved. Staff were very helpful, breakfast was great and the kids loved the pool. We have learned our lesson and will be staying at the Hampton Inn on future trips.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Ron C

Its always wonderful to hear that we were able to make a good impression on you and your family during your recent stay at the Hampton. Thank you very much for the kind review and we all hope to see you again soon! Enjoy your summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

picked this hotel based on the stars it was given and its reputation of quality. deeply disappointed, no bath soap, no answer from housekeeping even the next day, hair on duvet cover and hair in soap shelf in shower. AC did not work, carpet old and dirty and room dark and musty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Anita S

Thank you for leaving feedback regarding your recent stay. I apologize your room was not up to standards and will use your review as a training guide. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and please don't hesitate to let hotel staffing and or management know when you have an issue with your room. It is not only our job but our hope to bring you the best possible while you are the hotel, before you leave unhappy. Have a great summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halfway, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Staff is Rude,(Sarcasm should not be part of the check in process) Rooms could be cleaner, breakfast is below average. Never greeted as a Diamond Member. Refrigerator froze my medication (yes, I turned the temp. down before putting my meds in there) Did I mention that the staff is rude?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randi S, General Manager at Hampton Inn Rapid City, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Sheila E B

Thank you for leaving your feedback about your recent stay. So sorry to hear now that you experienced so many problems with your fridge and room. If myself or my wonderful staff would have known you were experiencing issues we would have been more than happy to correct the problem any way possible. Thank you again for your feedback, we will certainly look into these problems you encountered. Have a nice summer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Rapid City

Address: 1720 Rapp St., Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#12 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#18 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Rapid City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.