We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downtown Rapid City

Downtown Rapid City
Rapid City, SD 57701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 27 Attractions in Rapid City
Type: Neighborhoods, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Escape for the weekend to Downtown Rapid City and experience numerous art galleries, fashionable boutiques, a variety of fine cuisine, the City of President statues and great entertainment from music to theatre and various events. Explore the fountains at Main Street Square, a place to make fun-filled memories for the whole family. With plenty of hotel rooms, over 70 shops and 33 restaurants, head Downtown, year round.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Charming and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

While we didn't go to a lot of shops, where we did go was fun! There are a lot of local products here...my favorite was the jewelry my husband bought me from the Mercantile. Nice coffee shops and some great looking restaurants. There was a festival of lights one night and that was fun to go to with my neices...great family town.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    225
    49
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, SD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Main St Square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Downtown Rapid City is a destination in its self. The shops, the statues, the fantastic resturants, the music, art alley. I could go on and on.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Worth walking around!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Downtown Rapid City is definitely worth walking around. There is great history to this town and many restaurants and small businesses that are well worth seeing. I recommend Firehouse Brewing, Zoom Soda and Candy and Cranky Jeffs Bicycle Shop.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lots of stuff to do.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

There were lots of little shops and activities. We loved Art Alley right beside the Alexander Johnson hotel. We spent more time walking through looking at the art than we did at Rushmore.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Christmas in a little city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My girlfriends and I went shopping a few weeks before Christmas and it was fun. It was snowing (no wind) and with the decorations it was definitely a white christmas. You have to be careful though to make sure you don't slip on ice when crossing the streets. The shops tended to be boutiques which allowed for some great finds. We had fun!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downtown Rapid City also viewed

 

Been to Downtown Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downtown Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.