We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Buffalo, Wyoming
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over the new years holiday. It was an amazing value. The room was very nice and clean. The walls are thick. We heard some noice but not alot. Pool area was great, especially with the two hot tubs. Central location to most activities. Staff very helpful. The breakfast was okay. They did well at keeping it stocked. It does end at 900 so there was a rush.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you with us again should you return to Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    190
    68
    15
    9
See reviews for
279
128
28
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Rooms were very nice. Sometimes HoJo's are not the best but this place was great friendly and clean and affordable. Its nice to stay somewhere that the room is worth the price. Breakfast was quick and easy and the rooms were easy to get to. Slept good even thought the place was pretty busy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank You for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I look forwaard to having you with us again should you find yourself in Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My wife and I found this Howard Johnson's to be one of the best value hotels we stayed at recently. The room quality was what we would expect from a much higher priced accommodation. They had a nice breakfast and the staff was helpful. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank You for your review. It's always great to hear that someone has enjoyed their time with us and that we not only met, but exceeded their expectations. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Overall good experience. Friendly staff, good rate, lots of breakfast options, close to attractions, quiet location. But, My 3-year old sometimes rolls off the bed. When I lifted the fitted sheet to put pillows under it, the mattress pad was very badly stained. After seeing this, I checked all of the beds. Of the 4 beds we had, 3 of them had bedding stains-comforters, sheets, bed runner and mattress pads were stained. While the front desk staff was helpful and apologetic and got us new bedding right away, hotels are required to toss stained bedding. Besides the bedding, The rest of the rooms and hotel were clean. Might stay here again, but will check all bedding from now on.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and received good customer service. I do apologize the bedding was not up to our usual standard. Now the the defeciency has been brought to my attention, I am happy to say that we just received a fresh linen order and all of our rooms have been refreshed. We look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were in Rapid City attending an event at the Convention Center and are very pleased that we chose to stay at the Howard Johnson. The hotel is very easy to find off of the Interstate and is located in a very friendly and quiet neighborhood. The staff were very attentive to our needs and seemed very pleased to have us as guests. While at the hotel a state high school athletic contest was being held across the as well as a hockey game which brought many families and young children. Despite the number of guests, it was a very quiet stay. The hotel does provide a complimentary breakfast which has a very nice selection of items and a large room to accommodate several guests. The room was very reasonably priced and we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank You for your review. Between the Rush hosckey, and school sporting events, it can get pretty busy. We love the excitement in the air these events bring with them! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful experience. We look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Address: 950 North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Wyndham, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.