We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #10 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Aberdeen, South Dakota
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Exceptional Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were in Rapid City attending an event at the Convention Center and are very pleased that we chose to stay at the Howard Johnson. The hotel is very easy to find off of the Interstate and is located in a very friendly and quiet neighborhood. The staff were very attentive to our needs and seemed very pleased to have us as guests. While at the hotel a state high school athletic contest was being held across the as well as a hockey game which brought many families and young children. Despite the number of guests, it was a very quiet stay. The hotel does provide a complimentary breakfast which has a very nice selection of items and a large room to accommodate several guests. The room was very reasonably priced and we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank You for your review. Between the Rush hosckey, and school sporting events, it can get pretty busy. We love the excitement in the air these events bring with them! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful experience. We look forward to having you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    163
    58
    13
    8
See reviews for
241
109
23
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
COLORADO SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Love this hotel. We have stayed several times to visit our daughter at School of Mines. They have a good rate for parents of students. Room was huge. Nice breakfast. There was a hockey team staying there that at 2 a.m. sat in the hallway talking like they were in a bar. Very rude but it did not happen again so that's fine.
Our whole extended family is renting several rooms in May when our daughter graduates.
Great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank You. We look forward to having you back with us in May for graduation. What an exciting time! We don't have loud guest very often, but if you do, make sure to let our desk staff know and we'll take care of it right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Read the other reviews. This place seemed good, so we tried it.
First HoJo I went to in my life. My wife and daughter enjoyed it.

It was inexpensive, the staff was very friendly. We the pool and spa were nice enough.
The breakfast was OK.. not great but OK.

We go to see the sights, not stay in the hotel. But we enjoyed our stay here, we enjoyed Rapid City and the staff helped in that. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank You. There is so much to see and do here in the Black Hills. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and that we were able to ba a part of that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Address: 950 North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#9 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#9 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.