We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wilda's Reveiw” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    206
    70
    16
    9
See reviews for
294
136
30
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
COLORADO SPRINGS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Love this hotel. We have stayed several times to visit our daughter at School of Mines. They have a good rate for parents of students. Room was huge. Nice breakfast. There was a hockey team staying there that at 2 a.m. sat in the hallway talking like they were in a bar. Very rude but it did not happen again so that's fine.
Our whole extended family is renting several rooms in May when our daughter graduates.
Great time!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank You. We look forward to having you back with us in May for graduation. What an exciting time! We don't have loud guest very often, but if you do, make sure to let our desk staff know and we'll take care of it right away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Read the other reviews. This place seemed good, so we tried it.
First HoJo I went to in my life. My wife and daughter enjoyed it.

It was inexpensive, the staff was very friendly. We the pool and spa were nice enough.
The breakfast was OK.. not great but OK.

We go to see the sights, not stay in the hotel. But we enjoyed our stay here, we enjoyed Rapid City and the staff helped in that. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank You. There is so much to see and do here in the Black Hills. I'm glad you enjoyed your time here and that we were able to ba a part of that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PIERRE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is in a quiet location. The room was spaciious with a king sized bed. I had a great night's sleep. The bathroom was a bit small with the sink on the outside of the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank You. I'm glad you slept well. The shower/ stool section of the bathrooms are a bit small. However, the Vanity area is spacious. All of our standard rooms are layed out this way. Our Presidential and Royalty suites do have larger bathrooms with the vanity area inside them. If you prefer this option, just let us know when making your reservation. We hope to hve you with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Address: 950 North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#11 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.