We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow--Couldn't have been better unless the train went away early morning--but no problem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
SUN CITY WEST
1 review
“Wow--Couldn't have been better unless the train went away early morning--but no problem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

From the outset to the end, everything close to perfect. BFST really good, and daily newspaper a plus. Room great and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank You. I'm pleased you enjoyed your Breakfast and your Newspaper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    214
    74
    18
    10
See reviews for
313
150
37
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
RAPID CITY
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I needed a couple of nights away from the kids and to celebrate our anniversary. We looked and looked online for a hotel that had a nice room, with a jacuzzi or hot tub in the room and we wanted room service. As time was running short, we chose the HJ hotel thinking the name would mean excellence. The room was ok and yes there was a hot tub in the room, but other than that, nothing fancy. There was no room service, no way to rent movies or pay per view and the bed was not comfortable. Our sheets even had a very obvious stain in the middle as did some of our towels. The lighting in the bathroom was poor and housekeeping woke us up on our last day at 9am when checkout isn't until noon! Guess we should have put the do not disturb sign out on the door. It was also very noisy as guests were getting ready and leaving in the morning, but I guess that can't really be avoided. Lastly, the location of the hotel leaves a great deal to be desired. We were very disappointed in our stay. I really thought HOJO would be more of an exquisite hotel, but it seemed very average to me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I'd like to start by saying "Happy Anniversary". We strive to not only meet, but surpass our guest expectations. I apologize we failed to do so with your visit. It is my sincere wish that you did enjoy your time away even if the room wasn't quite what you expected. Thank You for taking the time to share your experience, and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCKHAM
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

this hotel is in a quiet area and is very good to stay in always like to be away from the noise and not near a street. they try there best to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank You for your review. It is our belief that everyone who stays with us isn't our customer, but our "guest". We want you to feel at home and welcome. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, to see the local sights of custer national park, crazy horse etc, staff were friendly, our room was spacious , clean sheets, comfy bed etc, pool was nice and hot tub, gym was ok for cardio machines but no weights !! We asked to move the next day as we were next to the lifts as it was very noisey in our room, it was no problem for the staff and sorted, thank you, breakfast was good also, overall a nice hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I'm glad that we were able to accomodate your request and that you had a good stay. Thank You for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I had only one night in Rapid City, but after staying at this hotel I wished that I had booked more nights and just driven to my other Black Hills destinations. The room was spotless, and very large. I had a very comfortable bed, fridge, and microwave. There was a chair with ottoman and a comfy couch. The room was very quiet. Did I mention spotless? I was very comfortable there. It was an easy and quick drive to either the mall area or downtown. The continental breakfast was very good, I found the pool to be just fine. Very clean in these areas also. One of the best things about the stay was the staff. Every person that I encountered was very friendly and helpful. I will most certainly stay here again when in Rapid City. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to hear we not only met, but exceeded your expectations! We look forward to seeing you again when you are in Rapid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed here and found it to be a nice place to stay in rapid city. The location is convenient and the amenities are nice. the complimentary breakfast and even a nightly managers reception (free beer and snacks) make it a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I'd like to Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Have never stayed in a Howard Johnson's before so this was a pleasant surprise. The room was a nice size size, with a mini fridge and coffee maker. The free WiFi was not working and the front office staff were unable to help. Free continental breakfast was more than usual, included warm items.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle A, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. I apologize our internet was not functioning properly while you were with us. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay. We hope to see you again the next time you're in Rapid City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn & Suites

Address: 950 North Street, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#11 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson in Rapid City, South Dakota, constructed in 2002, is family-owned and features 97 oversized guest rooms including 32 suites and nearly 2,000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hotel Rapid City
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites
Howard Johnson Rapid City Sd
Howard Johnson Express Rapid City
Rapid City Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.