We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West

Save Saved
You added Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7900 Stagestop Road, Rapid City, SD 57718 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here in early November (sorry for the late review) after we road-tripped from Milwaukee for a few days to take in the sights. The hotel is a few miles west on I-90 from downtown Rapid City, so if you're looking for something more centrally located, this is not for you. As for us, we kind of enjoy the quiet time, so we didn't mind a little extra driving, not to mention the main attractions have great signage and were very easy to find (didn't have to turn on the TomTom to find Mt Rushmore, Crazy Horse, etc.) The room itself was nice and clean. We had a big comfortable king bed. Only complaint about the room is there was no fridge, but we had a huge balcony that we kept our cooler out on, and with the chilly November nights, it kept everything nice and cold during our stay!

The breakfast bar was better than expected. Sure the eggs are a bit rubbery and the biscuits were a little dry from cooking all morning, but it was a step up from the normal continental breakfast these types of hotels usually offer, so I was happy!

The con: The pool... The water was ICE cold and almost unbarable to swim in for any extended time period. That was a bummer since a pool is usually a major ammentity we look for when searching hotels. It did have a nice hot tub that was enough to at least keep me satisfied!

Overall, your expectations have to be realistic. If you're expecting a luxruious 5-star kinda deal, then choose one of the pricier joints in the city.

Recommendation: Check out Elk Creek Steakhouse just a few minutes drive west of the hotel. Great steak and reasonable prices! They have the main restaraunt in a completely different part of the building from the bar area. So it's perfect for families, or to catch a few drinks and watch a game!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Front Office Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for taking some time out of your day to write a detailed and thorough review. As you discovered there is nothing quite like the natural refrigerator in November from the balcony outside your room! At this time only our suites offer fridges, but I'm happy you were able to "make do". On the other hand our pool should not be that cold! Generally we are very good at regulating the pool temperature with automatic gauges so more than likely we did a water change possibly just before you used it. I'm sorry it wasn't as enjoyable as the rest of your stay was. Most guests agree that our breakfast is a "step up" from the rest and I'm glad you agree. If you consider the attractions in Deadwood (Northern Hills) and Mt. Rushmore (Keystone), we are a very central location for a complete Black Hills vacation. Once again thanks for your review and we would love to see you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    46
    22
    11
    5
See reviews for
79
33
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because it was just a couple miles from my niece's house, which is where we were celebrating christmas. The room was clean, with the exception of a sticky substance on the arm of the recliner. The towels have a weird smell to them, almost like a deep fat fryer. We did not sleep well at all for a couple reasons. One, their were kids running up & down the hall at 1 am, and we could hear our neighbor's conversations. Worst of all was the mattress, it was hard as a rock, causing lower back & hip pain for both of us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Front Office Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for finding time to write about your stay with us. Judging by your fairly high marks for our value, location, room, cleanliness, and service it seems as though your overall experience at our hotel was enjoyable. As you mentioned there were a few issues and those are what concern us the most. The towels should never smell the way you described them. I will speak to our laundry staff to assure that never happens again. The noise made from nearby guests is also unfortunate to hear about especially because they occurred that late at night. I apologize that you found our mattresses less than comfortable. They are firm, but should never cause pain. I will find out which room you stayed in and check the bed myself to assure that it is up to our high standards. I can only assume you did not contact our staff about these issues because I can assure you that had you we would have done everything in our power to make your stay a perfect one. Thanks again for your review and we would love to see you back to give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great hotel - the staff was more than helpful, courteous, friendly and assisted in making the stay very pleasant.
The business suite was set up for a small group- large table with 7chairs and a white wall to use for the presentations.
The location is not in Rapid City- a ways from the main roads- but there is a grocery store across the street and a couple places to eat.

Room Tip: I rented the business suite to do training of a small group. It worked great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review Jan! As you discovered we are located at a much more peaceful exit then what is offered along the busy Rapid City interstate exits. Across the road from us is a full-service (small town) grocery store, a Pizza Hut and a bank. Within a two mile radius are three restaurants. We offer most of the conveniences of the big town, but without all of the crazy traffic and noise. I'm happy you utilized our business suite and that it exceeded your expectations. Thanks again for taking time out of your day to let us and everyone else know how well we did during your stay in the beautiful Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACK HAWK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

First let me say the staff was great! Now, that is the loudest room I have ever been in! There. Must be zero insulation as we heard everything above, below, and beside us. Also, very tiny bathroom, and very small breakfast. Definitely spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
David, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our property. We strive to provide a great overall experience for all of our guests and I'm sorry we didn't deliver on what so many other guests agree is what sets us apart from other hotels. The one thing I was happy to read was that you were impressed with our staff. We occasionally receive complaints about noisy guests and if we are made aware of such facts we always address the issue and resolve the complaint. Did you talk to our staff about the noise during your stay or at check-out at all? If so we would have done everything we could to make it better for you. We were not busy during that week so we would have moved you to a different room if necessary. You stayed three nights by taking advantage of our current, "stay 3 nights, save 20 percent" promotion, but you suffered from noise the whole time? If that was the case it never should have happened. While our bathrooms are not large, they certainly have never been called tiny. Our breakfast room is only at full capacity when we have a full house, and offers so many choices that have always pleased most everyone. Once again I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and I hope you will give us a second chance to prove that our facility is worthy of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

With this hotel you get free (though I found spotty and inconsistent) Wi-Fi, a nice breakfast in the morning, and friendly front desk staff, as well as access to a bar with $2.50 beers and something they call the "Ramada Mart". There were a lot of parties going on, so my stay -- overlooking the lobby -- was a little louder than I would have liked. Plus, if I recall, there are a couple of lacking niceties such as a refrigerator and microwave. The fan in the bathroom was lacking. Laundry is inexpensive -- $1.00 per washer/dryer load, which is pretty nice. This was a solid stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your great review and helpful comments. We like to think of our hotel as "pretty solid" as well. We cater to a wide clientele and yet always maintain a family friendly atmosphere. Our "Cape Lounge and Casino" offers a cozy and relaxing place to unwind with friends and family. The Ramada Mart offers a good variety of food and anything else you could possibly need during your visit; all at reasonable prices. While our regular rooms do not offer fridges and microwaves, for a litte extra our spacious suites do. Because of suggestions like yours our owner is considering putting fridges and microwaves in all of our rooms. Once again we appreciate the feedback and would be happy to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel for business. Staff is friendly and accomadating. Breafast is great. Only complaint is they should have cream cheese at breakfast- pretty minor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time out of your day to write such a great review. We really appreciate our guests traveling on business and try to accomodate them in every way possible. As you probably noticed we offer free wi-fi and if you didn't bring your laptop or other Internet accessible device we have two guest computers to use in our lobby for your convenience. I'm glad you enjoyed our extensive hot breakfast, but I do apologize that we ran out of cream cheese. We will work on maintaining inventory so that doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West

Address: 7900 Stagestop Road, Rapid City, SD 57718 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Rapid City
#20 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Rapid City West Hotel Rapid City
Ramada Black Hawk
Black Hawk Ramada
Ramada Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.