We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mattress sucked!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West to your Saves list
Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7900 Stagestop Road, Rapid City, SD 57718 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
A TripAdvisor Member
“mattress sucked!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at this hotel because it was just a couple miles from my niece's house, which is where we were celebrating christmas. The room was clean, with the exception of a sticky substance on the arm of the recliner. The towels have a weird smell to them, almost like a deep fat fryer. We did not sleep well at all for a couple reasons. One, their were kids running up & down the hall at 1 am, and we could hear our neighbor's conversations. Worst of all was the mattress, it was hard as a rock, causing lower back & hip pain for both of us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Front Office Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for finding time to write about your stay with us. Judging by your fairly high marks for our value, location, room, cleanliness, and service it seems as though your overall experience at our hotel was enjoyable. As you mentioned there were a few issues and those are what concern us the most. The towels should never smell the way you described them. I will speak to our laundry staff to assure that never happens again. The noise made from nearby guests is also unfortunate to hear about especially because they occurred that late at night. I apologize that you found our mattresses less than comfortable. They are firm, but should never cause pain. I will find out which room you stayed in and check the bed myself to assure that it is up to our high standards. I can only assume you did not contact our staff about these issues because I can assure you that had you we would have done everything in our power to make your stay a perfect one. Thanks again for your review and we would love to see you back to give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    52
    23
    11
    6
See reviews for
89
35
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great hotel - the staff was more than helpful, courteous, friendly and assisted in making the stay very pleasant.
The business suite was set up for a small group- large table with 7chairs and a white wall to use for the presentations.
The location is not in Rapid City- a ways from the main roads- but there is a grocery store across the street and a couple places to eat.

Room Tip: I rented the business suite to do training of a small group. It worked great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for your wonderful review Jan! As you discovered we are located at a much more peaceful exit then what is offered along the busy Rapid City interstate exits. Across the road from us is a full-service (small town) grocery store, a Pizza Hut and a bank. Within a two mile radius are three restaurants. We offer most of the conveniences of the big town, but without all of the crazy traffic and noise. I'm happy you utilized our business suite and that it exceeded your expectations. Thanks again for taking time out of your day to let us and everyone else know how well we did during your stay in the beautiful Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BLACK HAWK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

First let me say the staff was great! Now, that is the loudest room I have ever been in! There. Must be zero insulation as we heard everything above, below, and beside us. Also, very tiny bathroom, and very small breakfast. Definitely spend your money somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
David, I'm sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our property. We strive to provide a great overall experience for all of our guests and I'm sorry we didn't deliver on what so many other guests agree is what sets us apart from other hotels. The one thing I was happy to read was that you were impressed with our staff. We occasionally receive complaints about noisy guests and if we are made aware of such facts we always address the issue and resolve the complaint. Did you talk to our staff about the noise during your stay or at check-out at all? If so we would have done everything we could to make it better for you. We were not busy during that week so we would have moved you to a different room if necessary. You stayed three nights by taking advantage of our current, "stay 3 nights, save 20 percent" promotion, but you suffered from noise the whole time? If that was the case it never should have happened. While our bathrooms are not large, they certainly have never been called tiny. Our breakfast room is only at full capacity when we have a full house, and offers so many choices that have always pleased most everyone. Once again I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and I hope you will give us a second chance to prove that our facility is worthy of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

With this hotel you get free (though I found spotty and inconsistent) Wi-Fi, a nice breakfast in the morning, and friendly front desk staff, as well as access to a bar with $2.50 beers and something they call the "Ramada Mart". There were a lot of parties going on, so my stay -- overlooking the lobby -- was a little louder than I would have liked. Plus, if I recall, there are a couple of lacking niceties such as a refrigerator and microwave. The fan in the bathroom was lacking. Laundry is inexpensive -- $1.00 per washer/dryer load, which is pretty nice. This was a solid stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for your great review and helpful comments. We like to think of our hotel as "pretty solid" as well. We cater to a wide clientele and yet always maintain a family friendly atmosphere. Our "Cape Lounge and Casino" offers a cozy and relaxing place to unwind with friends and family. The Ramada Mart offers a good variety of food and anything else you could possibly need during your visit; all at reasonable prices. While our regular rooms do not offer fridges and microwaves, for a litte extra our spacious suites do. Because of suggestions like yours our owner is considering putting fridges and microwaves in all of our rooms. Once again we appreciate the feedback and would be happy to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Great hotel for business. Staff is friendly and accomadating. Breafast is great. Only complaint is they should have cream cheese at breakfast- pretty minor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time out of your day to write such a great review. We really appreciate our guests traveling on business and try to accomodate them in every way possible. As you probably noticed we offer free wi-fi and if you didn't bring your laptop or other Internet accessible device we have two guest computers to use in our lobby for your convenience. I'm glad you enjoyed our extensive hot breakfast, but I do apologize that we ran out of cream cheese. We will work on maintaining inventory so that doesn't happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My daughter and I were passing through on our motorcycles and stayed here for 5 nights. The rooms are clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly, and it is close to all the things we needed to see and do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZEB E, Manager at Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks for taking time out of your day to let everyone know how much you enjoyed your lengthy visit to our Ramada. I'm very glad that during your stay you always experienced the best that we have to offer, including clean rooms, friendly staff, and central location. We can't wait to see you again on your future trips to the Black Hills.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West

Address: 7900 Stagestop Road, Rapid City, SD 57718 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Rapid City West Hotel Rapid City
Ramada Black Hawk
Black Hawk Ramada
Ramada Hotel Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Summerset/Rapid City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.