We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Texas Roadhouse

Texas Roadhouse
2106 North Maple Ave, Rapid City, SD 57701
605-341-2901
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 214 Restaurants in Rapid City
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not quite there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I like the food, the servers and the menu. There is something not quite there about this restaurant. I asked for extra broccoli and was told it was pre-portioned. The bread and peanuts were abundant but I can't eat them on my plan. It is a fun environment, the food is good and hot, but the options are minimal. I like personalization and don't react well to no extra broccoli (especially since I don't eat the peanuts and bread and butter-which cost a lot more!)

The servers do a dance to country music which is fun. The wait is usually really long and you can throw back a few expensive drinks while waiting. You can't reserve a table, so you have to go early to get in quickly (who wants to eat at 4:00 on Saturday night?).

If you want a lot of food - this is your place. You get all the bread and peanuts you want. The portions are decent. Service can be tricky, depending on where your table is at. If you are in a hurry - don't go here!

Happy Trails!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    43
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Anywhere,USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Friendly staff.

Ribs are awesome. Chilli is very good.

Sides are huge. Price is very good also. Everything was great.

Only complaint is that they need to open earlier in the day.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

When we arrived we were greeted by very friendly hosts, they had a table for us right away, as we did the "call ahead seating arrangement" when we were taking to the table I believe the hosts failed to realize that I was nine months pregnant and not going to fit into there smallest two person booth, I tried it and the host noticed my discomfort and decided to ignore it and head back to the host stand, she then came back with silverware and I politely asked her about waiting for another table or larger booth, she told me I would have to talked to my server about that. I asked her if she could ask the host running the board if we could get put back on the waiting list. She said yes. Waiting for a response or a server we got nothing, I could no longer bare having my stomach smooched so my husband and I went to the host stand, we were ignored completely and not put back on the list. After talking to the host running the board she called a manager and they immediately got a wait time for us. In the mean time we went into the lounge / bar for my husband to have a beer. We were greeted with amazing hospitality once we sat down at the bar top and service was impeccable just for ordering a beer and tea, we decided to eat at the bar to let Jared take care of us, he was simply amazing and extremely attentive to everyone around the bar and making servers drinks as well.

Walking in I was not very impressed, being that we come on a regular basis, as this is our favorite restaurant. But once again, we left very happy, and full with great quality food! Thank you Jared and team!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south dakota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Seriously Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We landed back in Rapid City from Dallas. Hungry and tired, we ordered the catfish to go from our cell phone as the airplane taxied to the gate bridge. We picked our meal up our meal about 30 minutes later and it was awesome as always. We can not say enough about the food here. The service is usually pretty good also. As long as they keep turning out good food we will keep coming back. Oh and the prices can not be beat.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agar, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Food was amazing as always, staff was very nice and constantly made sure we had everything we needed. I love that they have the slings for car seats!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas Roadhouse also viewed

 

Been to Texas Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.