We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Statues of the Presidents!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City of Presidents Walking Tour

City of Presidents Walking Tour
361 Main St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 30 Activities in Rapid City
Attraction details
Silver Spring
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Statues of the Presidents!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My teenage daughter, my elderly mother and I thoroughly enjoyed walking the 12 blocks around Rapid City to look at the statues of all the Presidents. It was fun guessing who they were and trying to remember something associated with each one. The city is rather small but is on it's way to revitalization.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Whole Family Enjoyed- Don't forget the scavenger hunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The statues of Presidents are located on the corners of various blocks (each has their own corner). Therefore viewing everyone is time consuming but well worth it. Make sure to stop at the City of Presidents Walking Tour visitor center first- you can pick up a map and scavenger hunt (FREE presidential soda when complete... YUM!) We didn't pick up our scavenger hunt until we accidentally walked past the visitor center (about 20-some Presidents in) so we had to retrace our steps to find some of the answers. The Scavenger Hunt was a lot of fun for the kids, looking for small details on the statues. It was entertaining to pose with the Presidents. The visitor center is open late so this attraction can be viewed in the evening as well as the daytime.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Historic Attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

While walking around downtown Rapid City, make to sure stop and take pictures of the Presidential statues. Each one has a unique pose that fits their Presidency, and you can buy a book that explains why. The only downside is that some photo ops are better than others. For instance, John Adams is on the town square, while FDR is in front of a furniture store, but worst of all is George W. Bush's statue in front of Hardee's.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“So much fun to pose with for pictures!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We spent a couple hours walking around and posing with every president! (Will have to go back when the finish Obama!) Lots of fun! Liked that some have benches, children, etc. Will make a fun page in our family album. Stopped at a couple shops along the way.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie Vilage, KS
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“GREAT attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you're anywhere near Rapid City, please stop downtown to see the Presidents. Each street corner has bronze statues of the Presidents, and you can find a map to each president online or I think there was a tourist center nearby. Great to see life size bronze statues of history along with plaques under each one describing their part in history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City of Presidents Walking Tour also viewed

 

Been to City of Presidents Walking Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City of Presidents Walking Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.