We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Rushmore Tours

Mount Rushmore Tours
2255 Fort Hays Drive, Rapid City, SD 57709
(888) 343-3113
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mt Rushmore & the Black Hills 9 Hour Sightseeing Tour, with two meals and music show! Leave the driving to us and join the most popular sightseeing tour package in the Black Hills. Tours available from mid May through mid October.
Butler, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We signed up for the tour which was absolutely worth ever penny. Visited Mt Rushmore, the Needles Highway, Crazy Horse, Custer State park, Sylvan Lake. We couldn't have asked for a better bus driver (tour guide) Dan was just the greatest, so knowledgeable, helpful, we saw so much more than if we would have struck out on our own. Then returned for the chuck wagon show, the food was ok, but the entertainment was superb! Excellent musicians and a great show! Would definetly do it again. My husband has difficulty walking and they were very accomadating.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    11
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romeo, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best tour ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I read the mixed reviews before we went. I disagree with all negative comments made. The breakfast was great. I had fluffy pancakes and sausage. The dinner was great and so well organized. The driver was informative and took all the curves, hills and tunnels like the pro he is. I never would want to drive in those hills or go in the narrow tunnels. There was a lot to see with Mt. Rushmore, Black Hills, Crazy Horse and the others mentioned in other reviews. The show after dinner was great too. This is a must see for any age traveler and well worth the price.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful tour of Mt Rushmore and Black Hills”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were very well pleased with our tour. There was alot to see which included Mt Rushmore, Black Hills, Custer State Park, Needles Highway, Crazy Horse and much more. Our driver/guide was very knowledgeable and made our tour a wonderful experience. The morning started off at the tour offices which featured the rebuilt pieces of the Fort Hayes set from the movie Dances with Wolves which was filmed in South Dakota. We were truly amazed at the number of films that have been filmed in South Dakota including several we never would have though of (Armeggedon for one). Our guide (unfortunately I can't recall his name) made the tour very enjoyable and provided several laughs including the 'student driver' sign he taped to the front window while navigating the tight turns of the Needles Highway. We even saw several passing drivers laughing as well. It was truly amazing how those buses can fit through the narrow tunnels - this also prompted many watches from other vehicles passing by near the tunnels. Great tour!!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakota Dunes, South Dakota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome bus tour - wasted hours at Ft. Hays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We arrived at Ft. Hays at 7:20 a.m. to get our tickets for the breakfast that we knew started at 7:30. The terrible breakfast of tasteless pancakes, very greasy and tasteless sausage,and hard biscuits with horrible gravy. We should have eaten at the hotel before we came. We did not know the bus did not leave until 9. Only a couple of the shops were open before we ended up boarding the bus at 9:30 a.m. The knife maker was there but not the brick maker or the tin plate maker. The other couple in our group also wanted to make a brick and plate. We were hoping we could do this when we returned from the tour. We had a fabulous tour with Jerry. He was an excellent guide, but more importantly, an excellent driver on those narrow roads with very steep drop offs!! When we returned to Ft. Hays, we had an hour before dinner. We tried to get a plate and brick made but unfortunately, the brick maker never showed that day and the plate maker had to go help get dinner ready. We were so disappoionted. The terrible dinner was followed by a most delightful musical show. We felt we were being pushed into buying these picture books. Since this company owns the buses and Ft. Hays, they did not need to push their bus drivers to sell their picture books as well. Enough already. I think they would be better to put a bit more money into decent meals, and their bottom line would increase. Go enjoy the tour and musical performers, but know you might be disappointed by the food and Ft. Hays.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Ft Hays Mount Rushmore all day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

This tour started with breakfast at the Ft Hays location in Rapid City, SD. Following breakfast we boarded a bus with a driver tour director. During the day we covered Mount Rushmore, Custer State Park and Crazy Horse Monument all within the Black Hills.

The driver/guide (Jerry) was outstanding and showed us all a fun time We had lunch at the Custer Lodge and finished the day with dinner at the Ft Hays Chuckwagon

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Rushmore Tours also viewed

 

Been to Mount Rushmore Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Rushmore Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.