We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good inexpensive stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2321 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Redcliff
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A good inexpensive stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed here while visiting Mount Rushmore. I was happy about our stay here. The only complaint that I had was that our room was right above the pool and that the heat and humidity from it made our room a little uncomfortable (and made it smell like chlorine). Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The hotel has a good complimentary breakfast, free internet, and free parking. If you're looking to do some budget travelling in this area, this is a good hotel to stay at. The hotel staff was helpful and when I had questions about nearby attractions, they either answered my question or researched the answer for me. There is also a business centre if you want to use the internet but don't have a laptop with you.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    101
    54
    25
    34
See reviews for
141
130
34
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Our family of four stayed at this hotel for two nights during a visit to the Black Hills area. It is conveniently located right off the main highway with restaurants and gas nearby. There is a TGI Fridays in the adjoining parking lot. I booked our rooms 4 months in advance online. Requested a room with 2 queen beds, as we are a family of four. Upon our arrival, we were given a room. As we entered, we found it only offered a king bed. Returned to the desk and was told that was all they had. All other rooms were occupied for the night. Kids would have to sleep on pullout sofa in the room. Was highly disappointed and showed the desk clerk my confirmation showing 2 queen beds. She advised that these requests must be phoned into the hotel directly. My request did not come through on the internet reservation. They did accommodate us by reducing our nightly rate by $30 and switching our room for the second night. Still frustrating! Nevertheless, it was a very clean hotel. It was quiet. Offered a nice breakfast. Nothing fancy, but it sufficed. Just call the hotel directly with any specific room requests prior to arrival.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsbluff, NE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

We got a great deal online for this hotel...stay 3 nights and the third night is free. So, that's what we did. The front desk help was amazingly friendly and they alwas had at least two people out there to help. The rooms were spacious with some extra amenities like a fridge and microwave. The beds were very soft and comfortable as were the pillows. The bathrooms were spacious and you didn't feel like you were locked in a tiny closet somewhere. The swimming pool is using some sort of salt solution rather than a chlorine solution, so that was a bit odd. The 100 foot waterslide was a total hit with our 5 year old daughter. The free breakfast was beefed up beyond the normal cereal and stale donut selection with waffles, biscuits and gravy, eggs and sausage links. The only drawback to our whole experience was that many mornings there was no place to sit for breakfast because they don't have a large enouch space to accomodate their guests.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in May, and would not stay again during our week stay in South Dakota. After reading the reviews, we decided to stay here, even though the price was a bit higher than many other hotels in the nearby area. Everything was just average for the price we paid. We were expecting nicer rooms, and a better breakfast, mostly that the hotel would live up to its #1 rating.
We splurged on the hot tub suite. After a long drive to the area, we were really looking forward to this. But it was a joke! The switch that allows you to turn up the power of the jets was glued down. You could not adjust the pressure, and it was set to the very lowest setting. This was actually like sitting in a regular old bath tub. (I could have held my head under water and blew bubbles faster!) Management informed me the hot tubs are supposed to be this way, I am guessing to keep noise down? Either way not worth the extra $40 a night! The room itself was small, the beds were uncomfortable, and the place was quite noisy. We were glad to move on to the next hotel in our itinerary.

On the positive side, the staff was very helpful in answering our questions about tourist attractions in the area, and recommendations. The location is good for Rapid City, and easy to find from the interstate. There is a TGI Friday's right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

New Hotel, reception staff helpful and pleasant. Paid cash and got reciept and didnt ask for credit card. Room very spacious, 2 queen beds, large Tv and free WIFI access. Bathroom big and very clean.
Very near to lots of eating places and near highway access.
Got offer of 2 meals for 1 at TGI Fridays next to hotel.
HAs nice lobby and fire with pool fitness and good free breakfast. Overall excellent value Would stay again

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

Nice hotel and convenient to shopping and restaurants. We were just passing through and only needed to spend a night & had a good night's rest. Comfortable beds, pet friendly and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadoka, South Dakota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

The rooms aren't real big but worked ok. Not much room to hang clothes up if staying for awhile. It was fairly clean I'm picky about cleaniness so it could have been cleaner for my taste. Other than that is was fine.

  • Liked — The lobby decor
  • Disliked — the desk clerk
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City

Address: 2321 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our charming countryside decor and comfortable amenities, Country Inn & Suites provides a welcoming atmosphere to Black Hills travelers. We are located centrally between the Black Hills and the Badlands, just a short drive away from the historic Mount Rushmore National Memorial and the Crazy Horse Memorial. Our hotel features fantastic services and facilities, including an indoor swimming pool with 100-foot water slide, complimentary Internet access, a Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Carlson, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.