We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a bad place to stay in overall.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City

Save Saved
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2321 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #23 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not a bad place to stay in overall.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel was located not far from the interstate in Rapid city and had plenty of restaurants and gas stations nearby. The parking was rather small and had insufficient spaces available. I was very friendly welcomed at the hotel and received an upgraded room with my reservation. The room was great nad I enjoyed a very good night's sleep. The breakfast was okay yet poorly maintained where two present employees where more interested in their coffee and newspaper then in attending and maintaining the breakfast area. The hotel was budgetfriendly,luckely far away from mass tourism and not a bad place to stay in overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review or hotel. We are thrilled to here that your enjoyed your stay at the property. I would like to assure you that I will be discussing the comments you expressed with our kitchen staff. We believe our location is a nice asset to the hotel, being located just off of Interstate 90 it makes for easy access to all of the tourist spots in the area. We hope to see you again if you return to the Black Hills area. Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    116
    61
    33
    36
See reviews for
168
141
35
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The room with 1 king bed was quite spacious. Plenty of room for all our luggage and still room to stretch out. The bathroom was also generously sized with good lighting -- and a large vanity area. The room & bath were very clean.

Breakfast had all the usual -- cereal, yogurt, breakfast breads, make-your-own waffles, juices, fruit and then each morning there were either biscuits & gravy, different sausages, herbed red potatoes, or small cheese omelets or scrambled eggs. There was someone there every AM that we were there making sure everything was working and refilling anything that ran out. Breakfast room was big enough to sit at least ten tables.

Enclosed pool area looked inviting and water slide entertaining -- just didn't have enough nerve to try it!

Only drawback was the 2nd AM we left room late. I told the clerk at the front desk to let housekeeping know so they could clean. We came back to an unmade bed - ugh!! Manager was very helpful and made it up to us. Otherwise the entire staff was efficient & friendly. Oh, and they give you a card with various savings for while you are there.

Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor and never really heard any noise at all and the hotel was packed -- sound proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to here that you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologize for the late housekeeping you received during one of your days. I understand when you get back from a long day of activities you would like to just settle in for the night. Thank you for making me aware of the situation so we can strive to be better in the future. We hope if you return to the Rapid City area you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pros: Good Location, Clean
Cons: “Charged for discount card”; no exhaust fan in bathroom
-The hotel is convenient (right off I90) stayed here for one night.
- Room was clean
- Bathroom- shower, toilet and sink were clean. Shampoo and soaps provided. No exhaust fan in bathroom.
** Discount Card** Similar experience (as other reviewers) with the charge for the discount card on bill. The line on the bill shows “Destination Marketing & Reward”. We probably would not have even noticed this on the bill as it is mixed in with the other “9” line items for ‘taxes’ (i.e. $20+ in taxes).
Discussed the charge for the discount card with the desk clerk who indicated this charge was “…for the discount card we were ‘given’ at check-in...”
Note: During check-in no mention was made to us by the desk clerk of any charge for the ‘complimentary’ discount card (discount card included discounts for area restaurants i.e. TGIF etc..).
Subsequent to bringing this to the attention of the hotel management (and after several discussions with the front desk) - the amount was credited back to our account by the hotel.

Thanks to the other reviewers on alerting us to the charge for the discount card.

Room Tip: Would verify the AC unit (another couple we were with had problems with the AC not working - 3rd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay. I am sorry you had issues with the discount card. This should have been explained to you at check in to build the value in the card. It has multiple discounts including 15% off at TGIFridays, 2 free Watiki Indoor Waterpark passes and free access into Vertex Sky bar located at the rough top of the downtown Alex Johnson Hotel overlooking the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Friendly service, extremely comfortable beds, modern decor, and excellent breakfast, plus free airport shuttle.
Beware of getting a room next to the elevator; the elevator is extremely noisy and breathes like some wild beast; we had to request a room change, which was cheerfully accommodated. Good maps available in the lobby. The Grayline tour picked us up at the hotel, and the free shuttle took us to a rental car. What could be better? Nice view of parts of Rapid City from the hotel, and a big old harvest moon hanging like a pumpkin in the sky.

Room Tip: Beware the elevator. Like the Ides of March and the frumious bandersnatch, this elevator is a noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We try to stay at Country Inn & Suites when we travel as they are reasonable, clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed 2 nights because we spent an entire day visiting Mt. Rushmore and other areas in the Black Hills. Used the opportunity to do laundry. Always happy when self serve laundry service is available although the pantry's detergent and fabric softener were overpriced. The hotel was convenient to several shops and restaurants. Probably a South Dakota problem that numerous taxes were added to our bill which was pretty insane.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Even though we were there for only six hours, it was a nice stop. We had traveled all day and was needing to travel fast and hard the next day. We checked in at 1:00 am and check out at 8:am the next day. But the bed was so comfortable, I felt as though I had a long nights sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My experience was similar to previous reviewers. Upon check out, I realized there was an $8 per day charge for “Rewards”. The front desk told me it was something I signed for upon check-in. They said it was in the fine print. What a joke, no one during check-in mentioned it or even promoted the discount card. While they did remove the charge, it is my opinion they do this just to pad the bill and rip people off. I am sure quite a few people see it buried aside taxes and just pay it without question. Be warned of this!

As to the hotel facilities, they are ok but nothing special. The breakfast buffet is a 6 on a scale of 10. Just good enough to keeping you from wanting to pay for breakfast at Denny’s across the street but not good enough to look forward to every morning. Fee coffee is available all day. We stayed 4 nights and breakfast was slightly different every day which helped. Also, the TGIF adjacent to the property was handy for dinner and drinks at TGIF bar. This is a convenient location to see the Black Hill sights such as: Badland, Custer State Park and Deadwood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City

Address: 2321 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our charming countryside decor and comfortable amenities, Country Inn & Suites provides a welcoming atmosphere to Black Hills travelers. We are located centrally between the Black Hills and the Badlands, just a short drive away from the historic Mount Rushmore National Memorial and the Crazy Horse Memorial. Our hotel features fantastic services and facilities, including an indoor swimming pool with 100-foot water slide, complimentary Internet access, a Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.