We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location,Clean Motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2321 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Rapid City
Miami
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Location,Clean Motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here one night recently and was very satisfied. Regular room with two queen beds was only $40. Room was a good size and clean. Beds very comfortable. Breakfast was above average, and real plates and silverware were used instead of styrofoam and plastic. Fresh cookies were a nice touch in the afternoon. Hotel is located right off of interstate, but was very quiet. It is also a pet friendly hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. We take great pride in our customer feedback. We are very lucky to have such a great location right of the interstate and also be so centrally located in the Black Hills. We hope to see you again if you return to the Rapid City area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    162
    90
    43
    40
See reviews for
251
185
41
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

we stayed here for 4 days and to be honest our stay was quite pleasant, the pool was very nice and well maintaianed but it was an indoor pool so not really a fan, the rooms were of fair size and were seemingly recently updated. overall this hotel was a reasonably priced hotel for the quality.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I've stayed at this motel 2 different times and both time was disappointed. The most recent stay we were on the 3rd floor and everytime someone flushed the toilet you could here the water running. It was a very loud noise when this happened. Also the motel charges what they call a resort fee which they don't tell you about when you are making reservations. The charge shows up on the bill when you check out. The resort fee was over $8.00. I will not be staying at this motel in the future as long as they are charging this fee which I got no benefit from. Beware of this motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for the review on our property. I would like to apologize for the confussion about the resort fee as it is a benefit that should have properly been explained to you at check in. The $7.95 charge does have a lot of value in the Black Hills area if you have some time to explore. Including discounts at local restaurants, waterparks and even some of the casinos. I hope that if you are back in the area you would give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
177 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel was clean and the staff was extremely helpful. The location was close to the highway, Rapid City's mall and other shopping. We were just a few miles from downtown and the SD School of Mines.

We stayed 3 nights and had to listen to dogs barking in the room next to us 2 of those nights. That was very disappointing! I asked for a pet-free room, but didn't realize we would be placed directly next door to them.

The room felt dark, damp and musty but appeared clean.

It was OK for a value motel.

Room Tip: Be very specific if you do not want to be near pet rooms. Many hotels keep pets on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The lobby is very cozy with a fireplace. Our room was over the pool and the smell of chlorine was over welling. Had to keep the window opened at night. This hotel is a good place to stay with kids as they have a big pool with a water slide. The breakfast buffet was good but items weren't replaced. So go to breakfast early!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor seemed nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is definitely dated. The "bones" are old but the rooms are updated. Bed was comfortable with a good shower. Updated decore. It was clean. Fridge in the room. We had a room over the pool so it really smelled like chlorine. There's no granite in the bathroom, etc but there is plenty of counter space with good water pressure and lighting. Nothing fancy but it was a bargain rate. And for that, you get your money's worth. But, again, don't expect anything fancy. Very convenient access from the interstate, and breakfast was decent. Friendly staff too. Biggest complaint- it's noisy (old walls/floors). When the room upstairs flushed their toilet (several times a night), it sounded like a fire hose in our room.

Room Tip: Request the 4th floor away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Wonderful place to stay when in Rapid City. The hotel staff is very friendly and courteous and always treated us with respect when speaking with them. The breakfast was very good. The kids seemed to have a great time on the pool slide and we enjoyed the spas. I would recommend this hotel without limitations. The fact that it is a pet friendly hotel was very important to us. Not many hotels in the Rapid City area are pet friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rapid City hotels
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Hotel & Convention Center Rapid City
2.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cambria Suites Rapid City
Cambria Suites Rapid City
#2 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Rapid City
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn I-90
Comfort Inn I-90
#10 of 53 in Rapid City
4.5 of 5 stars 366 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rapid City - Rushmore Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City

Address: 2321 North LaCrosse Street, Rapid City, SD 57702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#14 Romantic Hotel in Rapid City
#15 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our charming countryside decor and comfortable amenities, Country Inn & Suites provides a welcoming atmosphere to Black Hills travelers. We are located centrally between the Black Hills and the Badlands, just a short drive away from the historic Mount Rushmore National Memorial and the Crazy Horse Memorial. Our hotel features fantastic services and facilities, including an indoor swimming pool with 100-foot water slide, complimentary Internet access, a Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.