We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2321 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Good value. Although we received an excellent room rate this property chose to not tell us about their resort fee. They have a pool with a slide so I don't consider this a resort. Nor am I impressed that when asking for a rate they didn't disclose this fact. The room appearance and condition was above the cost of the room as compared to other properties in Rapid City. But be honest with guests and tell them about the costs they will incur.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    128
    66
    35
    37
See reviews for
182
149
37
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Staples, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel was clean and neat, but more than that was the courteous helpfulness
of the reception desk. What a nice surprise to find such a warm and friendly place
when we were travelling. The next time we are in Rapid City, this is where we will
stay. There are great restaurants within one block.

Room Tip: "Hotel Coupons" book has discount coupons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I wrote a review of how our family trip started out terrible at the Fairfield Inn in Rapid City, SD, that we moved our reservations to the Country Inn and Suites. They were great. We originally were quoted a rate of $64 a night, and when we checked in the manager said he was going to give us the room for $54 instead, hearing all the troubles we had at the other hotel. The service was great. The hotel was clean. The breakfast was the average hotel hot breakfast, but was well maintained and there was something new every day. Fresh cookies all day and the kids love the waterslide. My husband and I love that they have two hot tubs so there is always plenty of room for everyone, even when they and busy.

The showers are not the best, and the heater was a little loud. But, the service truely made up for the little things that were lacking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 week for business and found to to be a perfect fit. The staff was great and plenty of amenities. While on business I look for a good business center, fitness center and breakfast. All of these are provided at this property.

TgiFridays is located right next door for great meals. They also have a fabulous happy hour.

I would say that this hotel is worth recommending to anyone traveling into the rapid city area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
I would like to Thank You for taking the time to write a review on our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. All of us at the Country Inn and Suites hope to see you if you return back to the Black Hills area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just spent the weekend in Rapid City watching my son play football for SDSMT and taking in the tourist sights in the area. The Country Inn was clean comfortable and the staff was very friendly. The breakfast was good and the bed was as cozy as any 5 Star hotel that I have stayed in!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Front desk people were polite; breakfast was varied but crowded; the room was average for this chain although there was much more bathroom fan noise (constant, non-switched) and heater noise than normal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shelby twp.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This motel has a very good breakfast that changes items daily and it has hot items. It has a swimming pool with a slide. The only bad thing is this motel charges resort fees onto your hotel price BUT it starts out low so by the time the resort fee is added it is about average anyways. We stayed 3 nights and only paid 64.00 a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RapCityCISMgt, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at the AmericInn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are thankful you will be telling others about our excellent accommodations and service. It is always our first priority to meet the needs of our guests and are very pleased that we succeeded that goal with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City

Address: 2321 N Lacrosse St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rapid City
#17 Family Hotel in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With our charming countryside decor and comfortable amenities, Country Inn & Suites provides a welcoming atmosphere to Black Hills travelers. We are located centrally between the Black Hills and the Badlands, just a short drive away from the historic Mount Rushmore National Memorial and the Crazy Horse Memorial. Our hotel features fantastic services and facilities, including an indoor swimming pool with 100-foot water slide, complimentary Internet access, a Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Carlson, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Rapid City
Country Inn Rapid City
Rapid City Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.