We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Super 8 Instead!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City to your Saves list
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1632 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Hawley, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay at the Super 8 Instead!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The quality of the hotel is going downhill fast! The sheets wouldn't stay on the bed, appliances in the room didn't work, we had old, used soap in our room and had to request new soap. We wanted a hot-tub suite, and they gave us a room in which the hot-tub motoer was broken. We have stayed at other AmericInns and been 100% satisfied, but this one was terrible! We could have just as well stayed at the Super 8 for $69.95 a night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInn L, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and bringing these issues to our attention. Please accept our sincere apologies for your less than satisfactory experience with us. We will be addressing these issues with our maintenance staff in order to better serve our guests in the future. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    84
    44
    40
    59
See reviews for
167
101
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel was fine as far as cleanliness and comfort are concerned. However, every sign outside featured a digital '$79 per night' announcement. We paid in excess of twice that amount. Apparently, the rate on the sign was for a week, expressed as a 'per night' rate. I found this terribly deceptive and told them as much. My comments were cheerfully ignored.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in a family suite which is a nice room when traveling with a family. The room is very large but during our stay only received housekeeping services for 1 out of the 5 days. Horrible as we ran out of toilet paper, Kleenex, and towels. Called front desk after first day of not getting housekeeping and it happened again the next day. Tried to talk with the general manager and he never returned call after numerous attempts call to tell him about the situation. Many stains on carpet and walls and ceiling along with chipped paint in numerous areas. Towels that we did have had stains on them. Hot tub was cold water one night and scalding hot the next.

Room Tip: Not recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInn L, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. We sincerely apologize for the conditions that you encountered during your stay and we assure you that we will be looking into all of the issues and concerns that you have brought to our attention. We appreciate your honest feedback and we hope to have another opportunity to better serve you in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed there over 4th of July and we were surprised about how nice the hotel was after reading some of the reviews. The price was a little high since it was a holiday but it was definitely worth it. Front desk girls (Marlena and Ashley I believe) were very helpful and polite, room was big and the beds were so soft!! Breakfast was great too! I don't see why some reviews here were so bad! I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Booked online and was a little apprehensive about what the room would be like because the room that I booked was one king with a jacuzzi in the room for $71.00. What a deal. The room was great. The breakfast was very good. Have no complaints. I definitely will stay again if I ever make it back to Rapid City.

Room Tip: Don't know what the other rooms are like but I liked 321.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We got a family suite by booking online the morning before we showed up. Tip: The teaser rate on the sign out front requires that you book weeks in advance-- don't try to show up and get that rate! The front desk guys were great. The pool was really small and crowded. The family suite was enormous and more than made up for the other shortcomings. We stayed only 1 night, not sure how I would feel if we had stayed longer.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

These rooms are filthy and incredibly overpriced. Stained sheets, we moved to another room which was just as gross as the first. ended up sleeping in the sleeping bags we had in the car. not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmericInn L, Manager at AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for bringing your recent experience at AmericInn Lodge & Suites to our attention. Our staff works hard to provide a comfortable, quality stay for all of our guests and we sincerely apologize for the unsatisfactory experience that you encountered during your stay. We appreciate that you brought these issues to our attention and we will continue to fine tune our hotel in order to improve our service for our future guests. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City

Address: 1632 Rapp St, Rapid City, SD 57701
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located off I-90 (Exit 59) in Rapid City, South Dakota. While staying at the AmericInn Rapid City hotel, make time to explore the area, including a visit to the incredible Mount Rushmore, the equally inspiring Crazy Horse Monument, Wind Cave National Park, Custer State park, South Dakota casinos and the stunning Black Hills National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, AmericInn Hotels, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Lodge & Suites Rapid City Hotel Rapid City
Americinn Lodge And Suites Rapid City
Americinn Hotel Rapid City
Americinn Rapid City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rapid City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.