We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Owned” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy "U" Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy "U" Motel
Save
You added Lazy "U" Motel to your Saves list
2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Certificate of Excellence
Alliance, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Owned”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Family-owned is always my first choice for hotels, restaurants, whatever. You can't beat the personal service and dedication of people who are personally vested in the success of their business.

If you're looking for a modest but extremely clean and well-maintained place to lay your head, this is it. I've stayed in dozens of hotels and motels, some pretty dive-y, some supposedly upscale. Of all of them, this is among my favorite places to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
26
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The staff was amazingly helpful! The rooms were clean and pretty.
Can not say how much the staff helped with directions and advice as to the best places to see and eat. They were wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctor, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This little motel was great! The owners were exremly helpful wih directions. Rooms were clean with plenty of HOT water for showers. Great locaion in downtown Rapid City, will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANKATO
Level Contributor
125 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Our family stayed here 2 years ago, so this was a return visit for us. This time, our group had 6 people, all adults. We had a room with 3 queens, which, with the senior rate, was only 89. plus tax. The beds were very comfortable, the bathroom very clean, the bedspreads nice, and the tv/fridge worked fine. The room was quiet even though the motel is located on busy Mt. Rushmore Road. As I reviewed previously, the location is great--near many restaurants and close to downtown, but yet on the convenient road to Keystone. The proprietors are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winner, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

As I'm writing this review we are staying at the motel. Just checked in for the 2nd night so that we could go to the Central States Fair. My sister and I stayed in the motel at the end of May and I liked it so much that I decided to stay here again. When my sister and I stayed in May she, as a prior maid in a motel, looked for those little things. Couldn't find anything wrong at all. Now my daughter and I are staying here and we really like staying here. Very quiet. Love the pillow top mattresses and the new attractive carpeting. What we really noticed are that the shower head is up far enough that you don't have to scrunch down to get the top of your head wet which is a pet peeve of mine. Loved the Wi-fi and the flat screen TV. Price is great as well. I would recommend this motel to anyone traveling in this area. Loved visiting with the owners. They are great down to earth ppl who care about you.

Room Tip: Stayed in back rooms. Easy in and easy out. I like that each parking spot is marked for your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wycombe, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Nice clean motel where you felt they genuinely cared about making your stay pleasant. Rates are reasonable and within 16 minutes to the airport. We stayed in a room under a second floor so you can hear MINOR foot traffic. If this is a concern just ask for a room in the one story portion but I would not hesitate in staying in that room again - it was very minor, ended very early, and no where near as bothersome as you may find in some higher end hotels. Motel is on a busy road but the room was very quite in fact our room was next to the office and I cannot recall hearing any foot traffic or talking. Nice family restaurant next door. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great little hotel, with easy access to Mt. Rushmore area attractions, as well as the interstate to take you to further off locations.

Motel was quiet and clean, with a comfortable bed and a great shower. Wi-fi worked fine. Owners were friendly and helpful about the general area. We didn't spend too much time here, but we would definitely stay again if we ever come back to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lazy "U" Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy "U" Motel

Address: 2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy U Motel is one of the last Mom and Pop motels, family owned and operated. We have 25 rooms we keep in immaculate condition. Each room has a frig and microwave, cable tv, tub and shower. The doors are metal and secure. No pool, so enjoy a quiet one-level motel with parking in front of your room. Free WiFi, no charge on local calls, guest laundry and in walking distance to several restaurants. MC/Dis/Visa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy "U" Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.