We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for a low-key stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy "U" Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy "U" Motel
2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great option for a low-key stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were traveling between the Black Hills Area and North Dakota and needed a place to stay for a day to "get civilized" after camping for 6 nights. Cindy and her husband welcomed us and our small dog to the Lazy "U" where we took showers in a small but clean bathroom, did laundry, stored our food in a mini-fridge and recovered from our journeys so far. The motel is situated on not on a particularly scenic spot in Rapid City, but it did the trick - lots of restaurants, a Starbucks and a Safeway nearby. The rate was quite reasonable, the owners and staff super friendly, and we got a great night's sleep. So think about supporting small independent motels when you travel. Thanks Lazy "U."

Room Tip: The motel is in a small and cozy "L" shape - can't really go wrong with a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The owners, Verlyn and Cindy, are very friendly and helpful. His advice on the roads to explore in the Black Hills was right on. The rooms were clean and neat, and we had everything we needed.

The hotel looks very dated from the road. It was built in 1957, and looks it, but the owners do a good job of keeping it upgraded, maintained, and very clean, and we were pleased with our stay.

Very good price, also. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocahontas, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our family stayed here 5 nights and were extremely pleased! The husband/wife owners were there every day and were very helpful giving suggestions where to eat. The location of the motel was perfect for heading out on our sightseeing adventures and the rooms were very very clean and quiet. The beds were comfortable and the donuts delicious! Cindy (owner) found out our youngest daughter (8) shares her love for rocks. She was wonderful to talk to our daughter, show her the rocks in the display cases and even gave her a few. Our daughter is still talking about it! Cindy told us about a great place to hunt rocks and agates which lead to a fun family day full of memories.
The hotel is DEFINATELY worth the price and we would absolutely stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The Rapid City Information Center suggested the Lazy "U" along with a couple of others when we stopped to find affordable rooms for a 4-night stay in Rapid City. The call was made right from the RCIC and with good directions, we had ourselves some rooms. Verylyn and Cindy are a fount of information about the area with good advice on motorcycle rides. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The shower was my first best internationally! Three decent restaurants are very close by. Even though the location is near the street, it is quiet and feels very secure. The laundry facility was very reasonable. I would definitely stay here again!

We take motorcycle vacations and look for economical, clean rooms. If they have a continental/hot breakfast, great but since we're usually only there for one night, we just like CLEAN! The Lazy "U" was clean and had coffee and donuts in the morning but the real plus was the overall friendliness of the whole staff!

Room Tip: If you haven't already gotten rooms in the city that you arrive in, find the local information c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The husband/wife owners are the best: welcoming, attentive, fine advice. Four 70+yo stayed 3 nights. Rooms: clean with just enough space. Beds firm and comfortable. Lighting excellent for reading in bed. TV flat-screen with remote and cable. Wifi. Rates: half those of major chains.
Our stay was not crowded; vacant rooms buffered neighbor-noise. If full, the place could easily be noisy. We could hear noise in rooms next to us. We would stay at the Lazy U again. The hosptiable owners, the overall cleanliness, and the excellent rates are inviting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This motel was a great find! Right off of Mount Rushmore Rd in Rapid City, it was a very convenient stay for us. We wanted a cheap place that was close to Mount Rushmore, and this place exceeded our expectations. Not only was the motel very clean and comfortable, the owners were very pleasant to work with. I would definitely stay at the Lazy U Motel again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Lazy U Motel in Rapid City, SD. is a bikers dream. Verlyn and his wife cater to bikers, especially the week of the Sturgis Bike Rally. He has a pressure washer by the front office to clean the grime off your bike after riding across country. Each room has clean towels specifically to use on the bike. Verlyn's knowledge of local roads is second to none. During the Sturgis Rally he throws a free BBQ for the guests. The rooms are very clean, and comfortable. The location is close to food, and gas. Most of the other guests we spoke to are returning guests. Some had been coming back to the Lazy U for 10 years! We will definitely go back! FYI, there is no pool here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy "U" Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy "U" Motel

Address: 2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 hotels in Rapid City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy U Motel is one of the last Mom and Pop motels, family owned and operated. We have 25 rooms we keep in immaculate condition. Each room has a frig and microwave, cable tv, tub and shower. The doors are metal and secure. No pool, so enjoy a quiet one-level motel with parking in front of your room. Free WiFi, no charge on local calls, guest laundry and in walking distance to several restaurants. MC/Dis/Visa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy "U" Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lazy "U" Motel to your Saves list