We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Great Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy "U" Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rapid City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lazy "U" Motel
Save Saved
You added Lazy "U" Motel to your Saves list
2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and Great Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

This motel was a great find! Right off of Mount Rushmore Rd in Rapid City, it was a very convenient stay for us. We wanted a cheap place that was close to Mount Rushmore, and this place exceeded our expectations. Not only was the motel very clean and comfortable, the owners were very pleasant to work with. I would definitely stay at the Lazy U Motel again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lecanto, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The Lazy U Motel in Rapid City, SD. is a bikers dream. Verlyn and his wife cater to bikers, especially the week of the Sturgis Bike Rally. He has a pressure washer by the front office to clean the grime off your bike after riding across country. Each room has clean towels specifically to use on the bike. Verlyn's knowledge of local roads is second to none. During the Sturgis Rally he throws a free BBQ for the guests. The rooms are very clean, and comfortable. The location is close to food, and gas. Most of the other guests we spoke to are returning guests. Some had been coming back to the Lazy U for 10 years! We will definitely go back! FYI, there is no pool here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is an owner-operated hotel located on the south side of Rapid City, right on the road to Mt. Rushmore. The rooms are not enclosed and parking is available right outside the room. There was no pool, as far as we could tell. Breakfast, which consisted of doughnuts and coffee, was included in the very reasonable price. We spent the night here during a cross-country move with our 2 small dogs. If you go in August, be prepared to encounter heavy biker traffic for the Sturgis rally. There are chain restaurants & fast food in the immediate area of the hotel, as well as local gift stores (see photo).

The upsides:
Hotel staff (owners, I think) were incredibly friendly and welcoming to us and our dogs. Fellow travelers--mostly bikers in for the rally--were also very friendly. The rooms featured TVs, small eating area, microwave, and fridge. The beds were reasonably comfortable. The bathrooms appeared to have been re-done somewhat recently. Water pressure was good and there was lots of hot water. According to my spouse, the doughnuts were delicious but we both agreed the coffee left something to be desired (for those to whom this really matters, there is a Starbucks down the block). The location, a bit off the highway, is extremely convenient for visiting Mt. Rushmore.

The downsides: The furnishings were slightly dated (though very clean). The walls are thin and we could hear the TV/conversation from the occupants of the room next to ours very early in the morning. There is no person who sits at the desk past 9 or 10PM. The wifi requires a password, which no one mentioned, that was located inside the phone book in drawers.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel for its location, comfortable rooms, and amenities in-room, despite the thin walls and bad coffee.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This motel is older, but very neat and clean. Owners live on site and are always available.
The motel is on Mount Rushmore Ave. which is the road that will take you to Highway 16 and all the wonderful attractions in the Black Hills. Close to restaurants, grocery store.
The room we stayed in had 1 king bed, a table, chairs, microwave and fridge. The bathroom is small, but workable. No pool, etc. but that is not something I need. You can tell the owners take pride in their motel and work hard to make it comfortable for their guests. I visit the Rapid City area about once a year and will use this motel again. I have tried many other motels that were newer and paid a lot more for a room and I can honestly say I enjoyed my stay at Lazy U as much if not better.

Room Tip: They have larger rooms, as I saw many familes staying in the 2 bedroom units
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANKATO
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

First, this should be listed under motels, not bed and breakfasts--do not quite know how tripadvisor mislabeled this. That said, this is a great "mom and pop" motel. It is very clean, the owners are very friendly and helpful, and it has a great location on Mt. Rushmore Road. It does not have a pool or grassy area, but we had no need of them. It does offer coffee and donuts in the morning, has wifi and tv, and is located adjacent to a Perkins and within a block of a McDonalds and near other restaurants. Parking is right in front of your room door, making unpacking very easy. There is a fridge in the room, also. And, besides being clean, the beds are very comfortable. Great prices--maybe the lowest in Rapid City--our group of 3 paid 70, incl. tax and sr. discount.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the same wing as the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy "U" Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy "U" Motel

Address: 2215 Mt. Rushmore Road, Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Rapid City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Rapid City
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lazy U Motel is one of the last Mom and Pop motels, family owned and operated. We have 25 rooms we keep in immaculate condition. Each room has a frig and microwave, cable tv, tub and shower. The doors are metal and secure. No pool, so enjoy a quiet one-level motel with parking in front of your room. Free WiFi, no charge on local calls, guest laundry and in walking distance to several restaurants. MC/Dis/Visa. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy "U" Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.