We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I would have read reviews first...disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderhead Falls

Thunderhead Falls
10940 W. Hwy 44, Rapid City, SD 57702
605-343-0081
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 35 attractions in Rapid City
Type: Waterfalls
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Part of an old mine, the falls encompass eight cubic feet of water spewing vertically for more than 30 feet.
Olalla Wa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wish I would have read reviews first...disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

You can't even see the whole waterfall! We had to pay in cash too, so we had to go back to town to get cash then come back and for a disappointing partial waterfall.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    6
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Was expecting something completely different with the way they market this attraction. Needless to say, it was pretty cool to see a waterfall inside a mountain, it was not worth the $8 USD each!
You don't even get to see the whole falls, you maybe get to see a 8 foot opening of where the water is falling.
Don't recommend this as one of your first choices!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, South Dakota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Big Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

As many other folks have said, save your $7.50 a person. You walk thru a dug out cave to see the lower 20 feet of a waterfall. Doesn't even make a good picture. The waterfall outside is worth the visit and there's no cost to look at it. The drive back thru the canyon is nice. Fortunately we had VIP passes that got us free admission. I'd have really been upset if we had to pay and I feel sorry for those who do. With the money they make from unsuspecting visitors they could at least repaint the signs inside the cave.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It is un beleivable that they charge you to enter this site”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Paying was not the problem ... we glading donate for the viewing, but at $7.50/adult and $3.50/child ... it's not worth the 5 minute walk. You walk along a mine shaft which goes through the middle of the mountain. At the end, there is a waterfall ... sort of. You expect to see a 600 foot waterfall, but in reallity, all you see is the bottom 20 feet of the fall which is flowing between the mountains. You cannot see up to where it is coming from. Nice story, but even the kids advsied that this was a waste of time and money.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SD
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Don't bother. Rip off.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

There is really not much to see at the site. The waterfall is nothing great. Don't waste your time or money. With all the Black Hills has to offer, go do something more wonderful!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunderhead Falls also viewed

 

Been to Thunderhead Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderhead Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.