We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iffy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Storybook Island

Storybook Island
1301 Sheridan Lake Rd, Rapid City, SD 57702
605 342 6357
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 35 Attractions in Rapid City
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks
Attraction Details
Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Iffy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Kinda scary in an alice in wonderland way. Otherwise it would make a good place for small children to burn off some energy. mostly its just a path with concrete replicas of storybook characters.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    59
    12
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tap into your inner child”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have visited Storybook Island since I was a pre-schooler! And that was a LONG time ago. When I feel the need to recapture the sense of joy and wonderment of a child, a trip to Storybook Island does the trick! It's not just for kids and families with small children. Admission is free (by donation) and you're sure to leave with a smile on your face and oodles of giggles under your belt!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, Wyoming
2 reviews
“christmas wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went to storybook island when it was decorated for christmas. It was beautiful. Kids loved riding on the train.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agar, South Dakota, United States
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful lights at Christmas time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We walked through to check out the lights and take the little ones to see Santa and it was absolutely amazing! It was very beautiful and the kids loved it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Paradise for children. Safe playground equipment based on nursery rhyme and story book themes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This has been around since 1959, and was a favorite place to visit for my siblings and I. I also enjoyed taking my children there during the '80's and '90's. There is so much to see and do in the Black Hills; our vacations were so busy, and this provided a great diversion for the kids. They could play in a safe environment, and we could relax in the shade of the wonderful trees. Someday, I'd like to get my grand kids up there!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Storybook Island also viewed

 

Been to Storybook Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Storybook Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.